We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pine Crest Inn
Nearby Hotels
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines(Pinehurst)(Great Value!)
US$108
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Pinehurst)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magnolia Inn(Pinehurst)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
33
27
15
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
27
15
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Pine Crest Inn has been closed for the past few weeks for a total remodel. It reopens tomorrow, February 5, at 6:30 AM for breakfast. The rooms have all been repainted, new furniture and mattresses in the rooms, all areas have been refurbished in anticipation of the men's and women's US Opens this summer. This spring should be a great time to visit the "home of golf" as tens of thousands of dollars are being spent all over town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Pine Crest Inn and had a mixed stay. When we booked we knew that it was 100 years old and expected the usual things that come with 100 year old hotels. We also knew that it was directly in the middle of downtown Pinehurst and just a couple of short blocks to the Belle of the town the Carolina so we thought that it would be nice. Here is what we encountered.
Pros:
1) Great, friendly staff. Helpful, kind, polite and overly accommodating to the best of their ability.
2) Very good comfort food (which is included in your room price). Large portions (actually too large!) tasty and flavorful.
3) Historic! In it's day I can imagine that this was the place to see and be seen.
Cons: (our room)
1) The Pine Crest is old, I get that, but there is no excuse for old and dirty! Our sheets and the bed coverletts were stained .... the pillows were yellow from years of use and lumpy. The sheets were so thin that you could see the yellow, sweat stained pillows thru the sheets. The linens has Black Sharpie Marker PCI on each towel ..... seriously?
2) the very old wall paper was coming off the wall in spots, outlets were coming off the wall and the push button light switches were detaching.
3) Instead of the decorating looking like vintage and nostaligic it looked like a hodge-podge of bad 70's garage sale items. Nothing matched. We didnt even dream about sitting in the stained Lazy Boy recliner. The Green Screen 1980's Zenith TV put my husband into a fit of hysterics. And .... this still might have been ok except that it was DIRTY. There were pop stains on the wall, the carpet was flithy and the chairs had obvious stains,

We were relocated the second night to a more up to date room, but it too needed a deep cleaning.

The Pine Crest Inn is in serious need of three things .... a handy man to just fix some of the obvious things, a cleaning person who understand that old and dirty are two different things and a decorator who will recommend upgraded, matching linens, replacing stained mattresses and pillows and some style.

We will not be staying here again. Was not a good value for what we paid and we would only recommend this place if it gets cleaned and upgraded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bordenbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in we were treated to a great weekend. We were immediately upgraded to a nice room on the third floor.Everyone was very nice and accommodating. Afternoon cocktails on the front porch were awesome. We really enjoyed the meals that were offered as part of our stay. Look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gafowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineCrestPinehurst, General Manager at Pine Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for the great review. We hope you continue to come and enjoy the Pine Crest Inn some more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Celebrating it's 100th birthday this year, this inn still has so much of the charm it must have had back then. We were only there for an overnight...but the dinner was really good (I had their shrimp and grits...in a RED sauce for the first time!) - and the service couldn't have been better! (Thank you, Amanda!) "Weekend Linda" @ the front desk wasn't all that personable, but every other member of the staff I interacted with was absolutely welcoming and friendly. Our room had a newer bath - very nice - and the whole atmosphere of the place was VERY relaxing! Would definitely go back - but would shoot for one of the cooler months!

Room Tip: ...try to get a room with EAST facing windows if you're going in August!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A romantic 50th birthday getaway for a long weekend of golf. The Inn has an interesting history (make sure to see the Inn cat) and is a two minute walk from the historic PInehurst Inn, downtown and the small shopping district. Don't expect a Hilton atmosphere here - the rooms are air-conditioned but the halls are not (and I think that's great). Rooms range from small (for golfers who really just want a clean comfortable room) to larger spaces. We had a third-floor corner room - very large, comfortable, with windows on three sides for a lovely view. Clean and basic comforts, but don't look for a coffeemaker or hair dryer. However, a substantial sit-down breakfast is included in the room cost (wander downstairs when you get up for a coffee to go, and take it back upstairs), and your room cost also includes a wonderful four-course dinner in the Inn's dining room. From prime rib to fresh fish to their famous 22-oz. pork chop, and all come with soup, salad, entree with sides, and dessert. After dinner, stop in the bar - which is the best value in Pinehurst for a drink - and chat with the locals and other guests in a really friendly atmosphere. The service at the Inn was top-notch, with the desk staff giving us recommendations for things to do, making our tee times at local courses, etc. For a romantic getaway, this was terrific. I'd also recommend for friends who want to do golf outings (many rooms have two beds, so you can share the expense), or for family reunions (they also have separate buildings nearby for larger groups), wedding parties, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you plan to spend time socializing (like having a group in for a drink before dinner). Ask the desk about the room configuration when you call for reservations.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegalBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews