We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Pinehurst”
Review of Pine Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Retro Pinehurst”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Charming in an old homey way, Pinecrest Inn welcomes with a non freeway hotel feeling the minute you walk in. 3 floors, no elevator. Real keys for the door. Friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner included. Cozy bar and chipping game in the reception. Rockers on the front porch.
Dinner was excellent. We walked around the corner to the town center where an evening concert was playing. Our golf round at Pine Needles was arranged by the front desk.
Too bad we can only stay one night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchman413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This establishment has been in business for over 100 years, and it suited best for golf vacations. Building is old, but very nostalgic. Lots of history here and they have some of the best rates for any golf trip. The food here is phenomenal and you dont have to drive anywhere while staying. The outdoor porch and bar scene is nice. Weekends are busy with a lot of locals coming in as well. This is a great alternative to the main resort if you are looking for a golf vacation on a smaller scale.

Room Tip: Book a corner room is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECU1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Okay, before I start, I should explain that I've never stayed here and probably won't since we live locally. Having said that, read the other reviews for info on the rooms. However, I will write this review based on the bar and restaurant.

We were volunteering for the US Open last week and ran into a lot of golfing greats: Peter Jacobson, Ben Crenshaw, John Feinstein and others all ate and hung out at the Pine Crest. The inn is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. It was purchased three years after it was built by Donald Ross and he owned it until his death in 1948. If you're lucky, you may get to meet him, well, rather his doppelgänger, dressed in tweed suit and plus fours.

Most of the greats have visited here. Sit at the bar and let the bartender regale you with stories. Or sit on the expansive quintessentially Southern porch and enjoy a drink. Weekends there is usually music. You will find locals blending seamlessly with hotel guests.

As for the restaurant, food is great and more should take advantage of the breakfast (called brunch, but cooked to order and served at the table). It is ample and inexpensive. Also, at dinner, I loved the shrimp and grits.

Don't come to Pinehurst without scheduling a visit to the Pine Crest. You would miss an essential part of the ambience without it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineCrestPinehurst, General Manager at Pine Crest Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write this . We appreciate our local business and we are glad that you come here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Makes me think of some of the ole inns in Ireland and England. Very simple, not elegant but completely unpretentious . Great old bar, with a great location. They let you chip golf balls In the old fireplace in the lobby while drinking scotch right in the middle of the lobby. Plus they got one of the best porches in the state. The local staff is funny and helpful when u need it. Nothing at all over the top. If u are looking at being pampered and 5 star staff go to The Carolina, if u like being left alone and with funny and friendly staff with a lively fun historic and beautiful hotel that has no reason to change go to Pinecrest Inn. Bars great, food is good, and clientele from all over the world are hilarious. Great Inn and worth the trip back in time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineCrestPinehurst, General Manager at Pine Crest Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2016
We love hearing all these great experiences and we thank you for sharing yours. Glad you had a great time and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Pine Crest Inn has been one of my favorite stops in Pinehurst for the last decade. The improvements they have made are nice. But the best part of the Pine Crest has always been the blend of locals mixing with out of town golfers, chipping into the hole in the lobby and a drink on the patio is what made this place special year after year. Last week I noticed fewer locals, the chipping hole was put away and it appeared to be a little more "stuffy" than previous years. Pinehurst already has plenty of "stuffy" and what made the Pine Crest special was the relaxed atmosphere and fun we always had there.
The Pine Crest is still an enjoyable stop and a great place to spend the night; just appeared to me that it's changing.

Room Tip: The telephone cottage is the best room in the house! Just don't book it during my annual golf e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretGuestObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The Pine Crest Inn was recommended to us by someone from Pinehurst who understood that they had recently remodeled in preparation for this spring US Open. I don't know what it was like before, but what ever remodeling they did was minimal. Our room was a disaster. The carpet was stained, the bathroom old, the blinds dusty, and the decor dated. The door to the adjoining room didn't lock or even latch! It was just closed with a chain. If we had had nosy neighbors, they could have opened their door and peeked right in! Also, we had two light bulbs that were burnt out in the lamps and a TV which was placed in such a way that you had to lie sideways or sit on the side of the bed to watch it. Also, we fell asleep to the sound of the fairly loud band that was playing downstairs in the bar. All in all not a great stay.

I did complain about the above issues and was given a discount, which I appreciated. I felt like the staff in the inn was surprised that I had complaints about the room - as if they didn't realize what poor condition their place is really in. One would get a better room at a Hampton Inn or some such chain.

The only reason that I've given this place three stars instead of two is that the food was pretty good. We had a good dinner and buffet breakfast that was included in the room rate. Service was pleasant and efficient. It's also a good location right in the middle of town. Eat here, perhaps, but stay someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Brit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

The Pine Crest Inn has been closed for the past few weeks for a total remodel. It reopens tomorrow, February 5, at 6:30 AM for breakfast. The rooms have all been repainted, new furniture and mattresses in the rooms, all areas have been refurbished in anticipation of the men's and women's US Opens this summer. This spring should be a great time to visit the "home of golf" as tens of thousands of dollars are being spent all over town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
144 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Crest Inn

Property: Pine Crest Inn
Address: 50 Dogwood Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9316
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Pine Crest Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing