We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charm, southern hospitality, great food....did i say golf?”
Review of Pine Crest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Crest Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“charm, southern hospitality, great food....did i say golf?”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

have been here many times. if you want a 5-star room, go down the street and pay 4 times as much. if your on a budget, and want a "golfers atmosphere", come here. home many hotels are you gonna stay in that were once onwned by donald ross and bob barrett?

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 285yarddrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
34
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Despite its great location, we ended up finding the Pine Crest Inn really overrated. The one bright spot in our stay was the food. The dinner was really well prepared and inventive. However, everything else-- our corner room with a shower that wouldn't work, the seeming constant irritability of staff on the phone and at the front desk, the general condition of the hotel-- does not meet the standard of a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plpRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erie, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2008

The locals always know their area best and the locals turn out every night in mass to eat and drink at the PineCrest Inn. The bar is always busy with locals and visitors laughing and exchanging information mostly about golf. The huge Southern porch is a treat. The food is excellent, although there is more than you could eat at the four course servings. The rooms are huge. The staff is the best part, Linda Tufts, Sea Dog, Bridget, Amy Hoffman, Carl, Scotty, Brenda, and of course the proprietors, Peter and Susan Barrett, are willing to meet your every need in a friendly down-home Southern way. They are great for planning your golf at the more than 50 courses. I have taken a group to Pinehurst twice a year for the past ten years. I belong to the Country Club of North Carolina, own 5 homes, and am a retired doctor. I have traveled to more than 68 countries. If you like people and like to laugh, this is your place.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingdocpci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte , NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Went with 12 other members of my country club and looking forward to the excellent restaurant and bar. We rented the "frat style house" across the street which is also their property. The entire place has charm but in a run-down sort of way. After a long day of golf and junk food grabbed at the turn we were looking forward to a great meal. The food was above average but the two hour wait both nights ruined any desire to return. Pretty obvious that everyone else was being fed around us but for some unexplain reason we were left waiting for over two hours both nights - maybe due to being in a larger group. I would suggest other places to stay and maybe visit this location for an afternoon cocktail out on the porch. By the way I emailed their site asking some to contact me before writing this and received no response. Been on Myrtle Beach golf junkets before and treated poorly, but did not expect to be burned and churned at the Pine Crest.

  • Liked — Food and charm
  • Disliked — Service was the worst 2 hour wait for food each night
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gofast28012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

If you like character this place is for you. If you like new, sterile hotels - don't bother. Rooms were nice and well kept. Front porch is a delight. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richm0nder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We chose this inn as a place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversery and we couldn't have made a better choice. From the friendly and involved staff to the comfortablble accomodations, everything was close to perfect.

We were also seeking a fine dining experience to acompany our stay and the restaurant attached to the inn certainly lived up to its ratings. Listed in Wine Spectator's reports on exceptional cellars, they did indeed meet that standard. Their new sommelier, April Wilson, is knowledgable and talented; her pairing suggestions were spot on! Be sure to ask about wines not yest included on the list, as they keep adding and cataloging the cellar.

Be prepared for a wonderful breakfast and lovely little notes like cookies in the foyer and port or sherry in the evening. Of course ice tea is available for your cookies! This is the south.

All in all a great experience.

  • Liked — wonderful privacy.
  • Disliked — Alittle hard to find.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steelblue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2008

Wow where do I begin?

Probably the best thing about the hotel is its location less than a block from the irresistably charming Pinehurst Village. Other than that it is difficult to find much positive to say about our stay (two nights).

At check-in we walked into the hotel lobby which adjoins the bar area and were enveloped with thick cigarette smoke. The Pinecrest is the only hotel property in Pinhurst Village that allows smoking inside it's building. The hotel clerk on duty was surly and sarcastic (as noted by another reviewer) during check-in - - a theme that prevailed for both days.

Our room (requested and received a corner) was tired to say the least. Dirty carpet, shoddy towels, limp pillows and a TV that had to be at least thirty years old.

Dinner in the hotel restaurant (we were on the meal plan) was OK. Wife had filet and I had lamb chops. Both were bland and two of my chops had to be returned for more cooking (asked for medium and got rare). The cigarette smoke wafting in from the lobby bar was disgusting.

Breakfast was respectable but nothing special which was fine. At least we didn't have to contend with any of the happy hour smoke.

When we returned from a day of looking at real estate we were welcomed yet again by flumes of cocktail hour smoke. We opted to skip dinner in the restaurant and went out instead.

We checked out a day early and went to the Carolina Hotel (Part of the Pinehurst resort) for our last night as we couldn't take it anymore.

I travel extensively on business and have so for over 25 years averaging 60-70 hotel stays per year. This ranked amongst the worst hotel experiences we have ever had.

Sorry but not exagerrating. Avoid the Pinecrest unless you are a smoker.

  • Liked — location to Pinehurst Village
  • Disliked — Smoking policy, shoddy conditions, price, mediocre food, surly staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandhillsEpicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
80 reviews
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
145 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
83 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Crest Inn

Property: Pine Crest Inn
Address: 50 Dogwood Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9316
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Pine Crest Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing