We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Comfort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic Comfort”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I recently returned from three nights at the Holly Inn, part of the beautiful Pinehurst resort property. I enjoy the quirks of old, classic hotels, if they are kept in good condition and are still comfortable. The Holly Inn certainly fits that description, and you are reminded of their extensive history on just about every wall. We stayed on the third floor, and the room was spacious, quiet, and very comfortable with a lovely king sized bed. We had lunch in the bar when we arrived on Mother's Day, but never got around to trying their primary dining room, the 1895 Grill. The lunch in the bar was very good, and I thought reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet, however, I thought a bit over the top at $25 per person. I checked it out and it looked quite ordinary. The staff was uniformly gracious and helpful. In short, we really enjoyed our short stay with the folks at the Holly Inn and would love to visit them again sometime.

Room Tip: Room 301 was very quiet; I had requested a quiet room due to a review I saw here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank presleyTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    28
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
22
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The Holly is the in-town version of the Carolina. The hotel offers the same great service of the Carolina but is in town which is a nice treat. We were put on the bottom floor so our window was very tiny but we appreciated the dark room on a vacation. Putting on makeup and getting dressed was not as great in the dark so brighter lighting/higher floor/larger window would've been appreciated for those activities. The pool doesn't open until Memorial Day (since it's not heated) so we walked/took the shuttle to the Carolina's heated pool. Parking is easy and free. We stayed next to a room with a baby so we were woken up by the screaming child but other than that, the rooms were quiet.

Room Tip: At the Holly, ask for a room on levels 2+ or on level 1 facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crobbtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARYVILLE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Service at Pinehurst Resort is Always Excellent, Needless to say The Holly Inn is Part of that Service.
The Hotel reminds you of going back to yesterdays Hotels or a trip to Europe. Quaint with plenty of atomosphere. Being a guest at Pinehurst opens up a relaxing Vacation. Golf, Pools,
Tennis,Horseback riding etc. The Holly has a nice restaurant and food and sevice are very good. Staff will cater to your needs. You can walk to the Village ,across the Street. Shopping are eating in the village is excellent , though limited. Ben Gives 5 Stars

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Upon arrival, I was greeted by the friendly front desk staff. The feel of the Holly Inn is that you have traveled back to a simpler time where the accommodations are timelessly classic and quality service is important. The room was clean, nicely decorated, and the beds were comfortable. The addition of modern amenities like an extensive cable TV lineup and WiFi added to our comfort at the Holly Inn. I would certainly stay here again. I highly recommend the Holly Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

So glad we chose The Holly over the Carolina at Pinehurst. If you like more modern lodging options, this probably isn't the place for you. We enjoyed this quiet place with good dining and bar options. Everything at Pinehurst is expensive, so choose the place that looks to fit your style. The Holly is the original (old) hotel at the resort, but the rooms are good size and everything is within walking distance. Shuttle is also very convenient. I do however recommend that you have breakfast at The Carolina. Great buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheniamnotinaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We held our Winter Meeting at the Holly Inn. The meeting staff gave us excellent service above and beyond all expectations. The facilities are vintage/historic and maintained well. The music room was the perfect place for our sessions. I would highly recommend Pinehurst and The Holly Inn for a small conference. The only issue I had personally was that the spa was not available for use after our sessions ended and the Tavern was too crowded for us to have lunch before the meeting started. These were not issues that affected the meeting, however, which went extremely well due to the hard work of the banquet/meeting staff.

Room Tip: I would request a room facing the back of the building at the Holly Inn to avoid the noise (however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

First off, the hotel is beautiful, no doubt. You also pay for the up-keep of such an old place. You pay by ways of the Tavern - a BLT (hearty) was $11, a burger was $14 and breakfast was $31 for the buffet!! - - AND NONE OF THE STAFF WILL DIRECT YOU ELSEWHERE to a more $$ friendly fare.

THERE ARE NO FOOD VENDING MACHINES IN THE HOTEL FOR LATE NIGHT SNACKS, and no nearby restaurants that are open late after a meeting. They do have $7.00 sodas in room and a jar of cashews for $14 - should you require some sustenance late night.

no one prepared us for the lack of food.

other than $$ - the grounds are beautiful and compliment the area...but in my honest opinion, not worth the trouble for that kind of $$.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv_2_Travel687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
78 reviews
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
138 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
125 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 155 Cherokee Rd, Pinehurst, NC 28374-9269
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holly is one of the hotels of Pinehurst Resort, located in the center of the charming Village of Pinehurst. Built in 1895, The Holly was Pinehurst's first hotel. Every detail has been attended to inside and on the spacious grounds. Decorating the walls and floors are a series of natural botanical prints and images reminiscent of times gone by. You'll see the fine touches in every nook from the jewel-toned Tiffany lamps to the reading selection in the library to the comfort of a rocking chair in your guest room. It's no wonder the Holly is a Four-Diamond hotel. The 1895 Grille is the Four-Diamond restaurant inside the Holly. There's also the charming Tavern which offers indoor seating and outdoor dining seasonally. Free resort shuttles will transport you across the resort so there is easy access to golf, spa and all amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Holly Inn - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing