We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Climb!”
Review of Looking Glass Rock

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A geological formation that is made of pure quartz and has been a sacred site of the native Cherokee Nation.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth the Climb!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wow! This is the a breathtaking summit that should not be missed if hiking in WNC. We decided to take our traditional New Year's Day hike and chose Looking Glass Rock. The ascent is sometimes very steep and rocky, but well worth it. There are plenty of places to stop and rest if needed. When we finally turned that last corner we were greeted with a 360 degree view of our beautiful mountains. Be very cautious if you decide to walk on the granite - it can be slippery and drops off very suddenly. Looking forward to a spring hike when the Rhododendron are in full bloom.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank justpeachy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    14
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Recently hiked with hubby and daughter, young adult. The website states moderately difficult. By New England standards it is a fairly easy hike. Lots of switchbacks for at least the first half. After that step areas with roots or rocks, but not difficult. Lots of families and dogs on the trail on our visit.
It is approximately 6.4 miles round trip with an elevation gain of approximately 1700 feet. The views are spectacular. It is fun to watch the people coming off the trail onto the ledge. Whoa, where is the drop off! Not to worry - lots of room. Easy trail to find, lots or parking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinIslanddreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

awesome hike. the climb is gradual enough that it isn't exhausting and the views from the rock of the mountains around you are breathtaking!! definitely recommended as a top hike in the area!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the effort”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

2000 switch backs, a few stream crossings, and dozens of "we must be at the top by now, statements" and you will reach your reward. When you come out of the woods onto the bald rocks that stretch for 30-yards before falling off a 400-foot cliff, you will thank yourself for doing this hike. The views are awesome, so bring your lunch so you can bask in the sun, soak up the scenery and rest your weary legs.

The trail head is well marked and there is almost enough parking (we parked on the grass). The trail itself is easy to follow, and there are many rock out croppings that you can rest on along the way. While not technically not part of the Blue Ridge Parkway, you can see the parkway (way in the distance) from the top and look across the Blue Ridge mountains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I'm in decent shape, and this is a tough hike.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

It's fun, but just be warned! I suppose if you're not in a hurry it's not so bad. My wife and I got to the top in around an hour and a half, I think. The last quarter mile or so kicked our behinds—I thought I was on a stairmaster. To be honest, the view at the top was just OK (it was overcast)—a little underwhelming. A little dangerous, too, at the summit. You really have to watch your footing. We accidentally knocked over a bottle of water we had sitting next to us and watched it roll down over and then off the rock face into oblivion.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank estaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Looking Glass Rock also viewed

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Looking Glass Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing