We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for older teens”
Review of Sliding Rock

Sliding Rock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterfall slide, sending 11,000 gallons of water down a huge rock each minute.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun for older teens”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

free, beautiful, wear old shorts and t shirts, rocks sharp and could tear bathing suits, life guard on duty, slippery slide into ice cold waters, hold onto rope and walk back up. safer for larger kids

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    151
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature's water park! FRIGID water!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Wear denim shorts so that you don't rip your swimsuit. The water is not cool, not cold, it is frigid!! On a hot day, it is more than refreshing, it will invigorate you! Water shoes are a good idea so you don't slip climbing up, we saw many people take spills that just looked painful. They have lifeguards but once they leave, it is as I imagine as it once was, families out exploring and having "unsupervised" fun. Bathrooms and changing rooms are provided as well. Old time locals say the place has become "too civilized" what with the guide bar, the lifeguards, bathrooms, etc. I don't mind a little safety and convenience though.
A definite must see / participate experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CVKEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun even in the off season...beautiful”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Visiting Sliding Rock in December and while it was not warm enough by any stretch to ride down the rock, it was still very beautiful area to see and take a little walk to. There are several little places along the way to pull off and walk to the rushing waters. Lots of photo opportunities.
Lovely area to take a day trip from the Greenville area. Will definitely go back in the summer to check out the real slide on the rock....in the water this time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4business2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must do”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a must do for all out-of-towners. A once in a lifetime experience that is worth it.

The water was very cold, but the plus of going later in the summer (after Labor day) is that there are far less people.

The fee is $1 to enter the area, but you can slide as much as you want. They have bathrooms for changing right at the location, so it is very convenient.

While we were there, there were several kids that were having a blast. A kid-friendly adventure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Working on my "list."”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I visited Brevard, NC, last weekend (September 29, 2013) to attend the college football game. I'd planned to make the trip down Sliding Rock, since I didn't do it last year. What a rush! Yes, the water was cold. I knew that going in, but I went down three times. There were about 10 people there, but nobody else went in. The first trip down was over the rock with shallow, slow moving water. My hair didn't even get wet, so I knew that I'd have to hit repeat. The next two trips I went down the faster side and it was much more fun! At 59 years old, I hope to encourage my younger friends to join me next time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sliding Rock also viewed

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sliding Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing