We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Good service. Good bang for your buck.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pisgah Fish Camp

Pisgah Fish Camp
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Young Harris, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service. Good bang for your buck.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Fish camp was far from an exclusive, fine dining establishment. When we travel, we seek out eateries where the locals may eat. The Fish Camp had that kind of feel to it.
We were seated immediately and out waitress, Debbie, arrived with water and our silverware. We missed the buffet, which was fine, because we were not there for the buffet. We wanted to order off the menu.
Because of other reviews, i had to try the fried onion rings, which were good...crisp, but next time I will ask to hold the salt. And they don't reheat very well in the motel microwave. :)
Next we ordered the dinner plate with two choices fish and we selected catfish and calabash shrimp. The plate was loaded with 3 good size pieces of catfish, a large pile of
calabash shrimp. french fries, hush puppies, and coleslaw.
The catfish was lightly fried, as was the shrimp. These are not large shrimp....think fried salad shrimp.But very good eating. This was a huge plate and we had to ask for a take out box.

Were we satisfied? Very. Will we return again? Yes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    22
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fish camp to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

A local fish camp worth a stop--come at lunch to try the buffet. Get a side order of calabash shrimp which is excellent

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank slwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Well, we didn't actually stay to eat the food, but here's our run down. Went in with a party of 8. Got seated. Took forever to take our drink order (place was not crowded). OK, wait, wait, wait, wait... and while we were waiting, we wandered over to the buffet, which looked quite unappetizing.
Wait some more, wait some more.
OK, maybe it was 10 or 15 mintues, we were done. Walked out, went elsewhere.
I think once upon a time this place was better, but it's not worth going to lately.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank possumweaverville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I don't regret going but I'm not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

So I don't regret going but it's not on the "got to go back" list. It was all just mediocre and average. We had the lunch buffet ($7 and change). It was small and only featured one meat but you could add a meat for under $2. The flounder and shrimp (we added on) were perfectly breaded and light and crisp. By far the highlight of the meal. The other sides (mostly "down home" style) were good but nothing spectacular and the hush puppies were down right gross. Kids 6 and under were free. The decor / atmospher was dull but everything was clean and the service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jdehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
462 reviews
408 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Good Food, Small Portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant many times over the years. The food is good but I was disappointed in a recent visit concerning the serving size and the service. I got to the restaurant around 3:00 pm and the restaurant was nearly empty. My waitress came right over and took my order. Took a while for my food to show up, but I still hadn't received my tea. I appeared to be her only customer, but she seemed to be completely distracted. Once my food showed up, it was good but mostly french fries and a tiny portion of fish. I'll probably eat there again, but I hope they work on these issues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lbouknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pisgah Fish Camp also viewed

Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
 
Pisgah Forest, North Carolina Mountains
Brevard, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing