We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a hug”
Review of The Small B&B Cafe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Small B&B Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is adorable and friendly. My husband, boxer and I stayed 2 nights in the woodshed in order to be situated close to Jordan Lake near Chapel Hill. Dave and Lisa were wonderful hosts and the room was spotless and cozy. My only regret was that we had no time to eat at the cafe since we were committed to family events. We stopped in for coffee in the morning and the smells were glorious. The locals seemed to enjoy the cafe, as well, because it started filling up early.
This place is great for a quiet get away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Owner at The Small B&B Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

What a sweet review. You guys were great and your dog very well behaved. Wish you could have eaten with us, but we'll get you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Rooms are clean, comfortable and unique. The hosts, Lisa and Dave, are about as nice as you could ask for. I had technology issues with my silicon-based frustration inducing devices and they were very helpful providing workarounds, even though I was not in the best of moods from trying to get them (the electronics) to work. Food is also very good. If you stay there, you will get a taste of the area and feel at home. No negatives!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltizarGracian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Owner at The Small B&B Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

You kept trying to tell us you were in a bad mood, but I never felt it. You were great to have around and pretty darn easy going. Hope we see you again if you take another woodworking class.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I came to the Small B&B looking for refuge. I was fleeing from the not -so-far away or shabby-land of Chapel Hill...I was in desperate need of some quiet and quaint space to relax, chill out and catch up on some much needed sleep (insert: mother of a toddler). Lisa and Dave were awesome; kind and super easy-going hosts..."yes-people" if you will. I had a lovely time and the accommodations were interesting, unique, comfortable and clean. The Cafe is super yummy and fresh. I would highly recommend staying at The Small B&B. Perfect destination for a break from your own reality....no matter where you hail from.

Room Tip: I stayed in the woodshed. It was great....super cool and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Owner at The Small B&B Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

It's nice that we're getting so many people "hiding away" for the weekend from close by. We would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

You will really enjoy staying here as the owners truly care about making your stay comfortable and they are very accommodating. My son and I stayed in the "cottage" which will sleep 4 with a large living room area. The rooms are super quiet as each is a separate building on the grounds of a unique cafe sitting on the edge of downtown Pittsboro. The cafe breakfast, which is included with the room of course, is superb and since it is a restaurant open to the public, B&B guests get to select whatever they want from the wonderful restaurant. Homemade kitsch, fluffy lemon ricotta pancakes or the best ever homemade corned beef hash and eggs are but a few of the delights to choose from on the breakfast front. The owners are friendly and helpful and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying a stay at their B&B. The owners only opened the B&B in late 2012 so word is only now getting out but with only 3 guest accommodations this place will be in demand!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Owner at The Small B&B Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

You guys were great guests. Loved that you provided us with insight and suggestions. Makes our job easier. Really hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We found the Small B&B while looking for a one-night getaway not far from home. The B&B has three accommodations, and we stayed in the Woodshed, a room and bath in an architect-designed tin building. Very comfortable and cool, despite a warm weekend. Beautiful woodwork on the wall and doors inside; nice porch for enjoying a glass of wine. Owners made great recommendations for dining and more around town. Happened to be there on a "First Sunday" when downtown Pittsboro opens businesses and street vendors come in. Breakfast is in the cafe, which was really excellent. We shared lemon ricotta pancakes (almost like crepes) and eggs with local sausage and toast. Easy walking distance of Pittsboro's historic downtown.

Room Tip: Really liked the Woodshed. There is another larger accommodation that is ADA compliant and includes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P, Owner at The Small B&B Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We appreciate and enjoy having new people discover us. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsboro
14.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,375 reviews
15.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Siler City
16.3 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
24.2 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
16.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Small B&B Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small B&B Cafe

Address: 219 East St, Pittsboro, NC 27312-8637
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range: £57 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small B&B Cafe is pet and child friendly with 3 detached units offering complete privacy. The decor is decidedly different from other B&B's with a mix of modern, eclectic, and repurposed items. There are various outsider art pieces scattered within the cafe and the grounds along with gardens and hammocks to relax. We offer a farm-to-table breakfast and a sustainable environment for those looking for a different twist from the usual. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing