We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and delicious!”

The Fearrington House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fearrington House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$95 - US$115
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Way
Description: The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House, a member of Relais & Chateaux, have welcomed guests for thirty years. It’s here that Executive Chef Colin Bedford continues a commitment to exceptional regional cuisine.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely and delicious!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Our party of six visited last Friday. The service was exceptional. We chose the four course menu. How fun. I chose the carrot soup to begin. It was served around different bites of food in center of bowl. Each bite had different flavors and textures. I loved it. My next course was lamb which went so well with the Oregon Pinot Noir we had brought. They let you bring wine for a 35.00 charge if they don't have the wine on their menu. Followed by a lovely salmon entree. Dessert was a chocolate soufflé. My last bit of pinot complimented the soufflé as well. What a delightful experience. I highly recommend this restaurant and everyone in our group would too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    34
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Culinary Art”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Truly a gastronomical and visual event. The Fearrington property is absolutely gorgeous and a great place for a walk before dinner. This walk will prepare you for one of the best culinary events of all time. The menu is one of the most creative you will see; the presentation of every dish is a culinary work of art. The service is impeccable and we were a table of 10...every dish delivered at the same time. Each person absolutely cleaned their plate....nothing left! Delicious, beyond comparison.

The event will cost you so be prepared. However, this is an event and events are worth itl

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small Surprise Birthday dinner for my Wife”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had planned a surprise Birthday dinner for my wife that inclued 10 guests at the Fearrington House. They were very accommodating of all my requests to include; specially printed menus to mark the occasion, decanting the magnums of wine several hours before our arrival time etc.
The service, food and atmosphere was flawless!
The menu here is always something to explore and enjoy the creative talents of Chef Colin Bedford, not to mention the talents of Oenophile / Sommelier Max!
Thanks to server Kevin and all who made this special occasion memorable!
Cheers,
AG

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHG_777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will not be returning”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although we live only a few miles from the Fearrington House Restaurant, we finally gave up trying to get a decent meal there. On our last visit, the prevailing odor as we walked in the front door was mildew. It was really quite strong and I almost left at that point. But we stayed and the dining room was less offensive. While the food was not actually bad, it wasn't terribly good either and for $400 for two people, I expect better. It simply is a place best avoided.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodie542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Do not go on a busy Saturday Night”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were a party of 7 celebrating our mother(-in-law)'s birthday. Unfortunately, there were two weddings going on at the same time. While they were not in the dining room, they may have made service very slow for such an upscale place. There were long waits as the evening wore on with the dessert course more than half an hour after the previous course and after husband complained. To the good: We had an excellent wine recommended by the sommelier that went well with all courses on the 3 and 4 course tasting menu and met our request for a dry Riesling with just a touch of sweetness. There were several very good courses from a menu of many choices including the torchon of foie gras, the "wooly pig" (boar) and the chocolate souffle. Be sure to get some of the garnishes and sauces with each bite as they added even more layers of flavor. When we did complain about the wait (it was more than just the last course), the dessert cost was removed from our bill and we were offered some additional dessert. Portions were small and beautifully plated but even with 3 courses, there was enough food to satisfy. The 3 and 4 course menu for $89 or $99 per person is fair for what was served and the wine price ($60) was fair for the excellent quality of the wine. This restaurant has been around for a long time and while the food offered was up-to-date and very good, I would not have expected service issues even on a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tvmovielover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fearrington House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fearrington House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing