We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fearrington House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed at the Fearrington House Inn so many times I have lost count. The word “exquisite” falls short of how outrageously awesome this place because it so magnificently engages all of the senses. Your visit here will be etched forever in your mind to the point you will be begging for more, more, more!

Rooms: Over all my stays, I think I have stayed in at least half of their rooms. They are always lavish! And when I say lavish I mean there isn’t any little thing that they have not thought of in your room. The bed and the bedding are so plush that you will sink right in and within minutes you will be off to sleepy-land taking a restorative afternoon nap. They have apples in a bowl and bottles of water for a midday snack when you wake up. The rooms also have all sorts of little extras like wifi, ipod stations, robes, flat screen TVs, etc. And the room will always smell luscious because of the fresh flowers just cut from the gardens outside. After dinner you will come back to your room and your bed will be turned down for you. But the best part is that you will have port and homemade truffles waiting for you as well!

Bathrooms: The bathrooms are exceptional. They provide Molton-Brown products which are simply amazing. The bathrooms are always expansive. You will have a heated towel rack so when you get out of the tub / shower you can wrap yourself up in a warm oversized towel. This is my version of heaven – smelling oh so good and feeling warmly embraced!

Breakfast: For breakfast they will hand you a menu filled with every single delicious breakfast item you were dreaming of the night before. However, trust me, you will still be so full from dinner that it will be hard to think about breakfast. So, put the menu aside and tell the waiter what you would like. Instead of rolling their eyes, they will smile broadly at you, and most likely laugh out of sheer delight. And you will get exactly what your stomach can hold. Everything will be scrumptious. EVERYTHING! And by the way, the bread basket alone could fill you up!

Common Areas: (sitting areas inside / outside) There are two common rooms, the Sun Room and the Garden House, which you can go and sit in. In the early morning they will put out coffee / tea in the Sun Room. And the coffee is strong, piping hot, and vibrant! (Yes, just like I like it!) The grounds feel very spacious and you will never feel crowded. There is always a place for you to go sit and be by yourself or to go sit a spell with others.

Things to do at the B&B: You can walk around the property and view the gardens, walk and see the Belties (the cows they are famous for), or take one of the bikes for a spin around the residential area. You can also walk to the wide variety of interesting shops on the property. A few years back they opened up a spa on the property. While I have never been there, I am sure it is something you should add to your list of things to do. Here is the Web site: http://www.fearrington.com/spa/

Extra Amenities: (packages?, afternoon tea / wine & cheese, concierge service) Every afternoon you are invited to the afternoon tea in the restaurant. You will be presented with a beautiful assortment of tea sandwiches and scones. The lemon curd is pure heaven. Trust me, nothing will be left over. When you return to your room after dinner you will have homemade truffles and port waiting for you. This is not the trip to do any calorie counting!! If you buy one of their package deals, you may get a gift certificate that you can use at one of their shops. This is a great excuse to browse the many small shops that have an incredible assortment of things to buy.

Attitudes of the Inn Keepers: Everyone is exceptionally delightful. They are there to make your trip the most memorable one you have ever taken in your lifetime (I seriously mean that!). They try to think of things ahead of your needs which I found simply astounding.

Cleanliness: As you can imagine, the place is pristine whether you are inside your room, walking the sidewalks, or looking at the gardens.

Surrounding environment: (smoking / non-smoking, closeness to other guests) You will always feel like you have all the space in the world to stretch out and be by yourself or to join in the fun with others around. The environment around you is quite eclectic in that you can be in farmland, in a bookstore, or in a posh dining room within minutes.

Proximity to things to do: There is so much to do right there at the property that one will find it difficult to leave. But the Fearrington House Inn is close enough to the Triangle area which has so much to offer from museums to Broadway plays.

Restaurants: There are two restaurants available. The Granary has a lower price point and is available for lunch and dinner. However, if you are there you really MUST go to the Fearrington House Restaurant. The price point is high (around $100 / pp) but your taste buds will never forget every single morsel you put in your mouth. The service is almost always impeccable (one night I had a waiter who was rather snobbish) and they can be depended upon to help you make the most delicious choices. With the exception of the one waiter, all of the staff is quite personable too and will engage with you to make sure your evening is staying on a light note. You will typically hear laughter coming from the tables when the waitstaff is near.

So, go!! You can thank me when you get back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Charming elegance, luxury, relaxation.. delicious .. all wonderful. Luis at front desk very, very helpful!!! The turn-down service a great touch...small carafe of port, chocolates and slippers! The staff is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A-Spa-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On a trip down the east coast we decided to go out of our way a bit to try this Inn for one evening since it has such a good reputation. The laid back luxury of the Inn did not disappoint. The Inn is situated in the Village of Fearrington a quaint village built around a former farm which anchors the larger Fearrington community. The Inn rooms are spread out in buildings around the beautifully landscaped village. Although this is not a low price choice, it was packed with value. We booked a mid- week break package that included a "high tea", a credit for dinner at one of the two restaurants on property and a cooked breakfast. The lovely tea included both savory and sweet treats on a 3 level tower and a very nice choice of teas. We had dinner in the casual restaurant, the Granary. The food was very well prepared, well priced and attractively served. There was a good wine by the glass list and they offered a two glass sized carafe at a very reasonable price. We are foodies and my husband said it was the best hanger steak he has ever had. The cooked to order breakfast was also very good. It started with fresh squeezed juices and a choice of breads, including biscuits, and their own jams. Our breakfasts were outstanding and the portions were very generous. When we arrived we were informed that we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was beautiful and very comfortable with an enormous bathroom. At turndown they brought a small decanter of port, chocolate truffles and arranged slippers at our bedside. When we checked out they offered us chilled bottles of water for our trip. All of these details added up to a luxurious but still laid back stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are in two story buildings but there are no elevators so ask for a ground floor room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were there for a wedding and had a great time. Nice lunch in the Granary. Delicious Southern breakfasts and tea in the main house. Large comfortable rooms with free wifi, very comfortable beds and nice ambiance. Nice outside beer garden with music, and The Goat, a nice espresso and snack shop. Great place for a wedding in the converted barn. Just south of Chapel Hill, north of Ft Bragg, and an hour north of Pinehurst. Friendly and efficient staff. A very nice weekend in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful elegant and charming. A great experience. A perfect getaway. Breakfast was delicious. A wonderful place. Easy going ambiance. Avoid Mondays as restaurant is closed. Low key relaxation in tasteful setting.

Room Tip: Up grade to grand suite if you can its fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped at Fearrington Inn on the way back from a family vacation (40 people in 5 houses). We loved the quiet elegance of the property. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite on arrival. It was tastefully decorated with a soft, comfortable bed and a large bath...that included a jacuzzi. The turn-down service was a great touch...a small carafe of port, chocolates and slippers! The staff made us feel welcome and relaxed. We would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woznime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently spent three nights and we were impressed with the quality of the whole village. I was surprised to find a village instead of just a hotel. It is beautifully planned out and great for walks. Our room was very comfortable and furnished with some antiques but the design and fabrics were exceptional. A large bathroom. We were upgraded to a suite with a living room with TV there as well as the bedroom. Right off a charming courtyard. There are two rooms off the courtyard for guests, one the Sun Room and the other with fireplace that we enjoyed. We ate The Granary two nights and we were pleased with menu and service. Tea each afternoon is a must as the tower of goodies was hard to pass up. Our dinner in the main house was a highlight! Fabulous menu and very innovative. And don't miss the biscuits at breakfast!
Loved it! Also fun to visit the Duke campus, gardens and Nasher Museum. And UNC in Chapel Hill.
Reminded us somewhat of Blackberry Farm as both are meticulous.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsboro
18.5 mi away
The Umstead Hotel and Spa
7.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,402 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
7.8 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
669 reviews
15.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fearrington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fearrington House Inn

Address: 2000 Fearrington Village Ctr, 240 Market Street, Pittsboro, NC 27312-8502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range: £290 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fearrington House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fearrington House Inn is a Relais & Chateaux property located just south of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Set amidst extensive gardens and rolling pastures, this 32 room inn features individually decorated rooms and suites as well as award-winning service. Guests also enjoy relaxing treatments at the Spa at Fearrington and browsing our stores including Dovecote and Haven, both home and gift shops, and McIntyre's Books, one of the South's most celebrated independent bookstores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Fearrington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fearrington House Hotel Pittsboro
Fearrington House Pittsboro
Fearrington Inn Pittsboro Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing