We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Older but clean”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Wireless internet connection was sporadic - the worst I've experienced at a Holiday Inn Express.
The first floor has doors to the parking lot which compounds the noise. There was a lot of slamming doors from people going to the pool or to smoke.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are old - hooks in bathroom falling off. Fairly clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    31
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
27
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My wife and I stop in Plymouth at least twice a year. Generally on our way to the beach. The Holiday Inn Express is a perfect location when traveling to the Outer Banks. Its about 2 hours from the beach, so we stop for a rest, and continue our trip in the morning.The staff is very friendly.They always offer us a snack at check in. We enjoy sitting on the balcony they have overlooking the pool. We always bring our dog and this hotel is non smoking and pet friendly. The grounds of the hotel are great for walking the dog. There is even a pond on sight.
Great service,Great location, and a wonderful breakfast .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpicot1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The staff at this hotel is excellant. They make you feel like you are a guest in their home. It's a very clean hotel.
The breakfast was wonderful. They served it to me early because of my business meeting.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roserose9365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I found ants and mouse droppings in room, and once i even had a baby tick on my arm. Very dirty/dusty hotel. Pillows are absoluetly awful. My feet stuck to bathroom floor. Spider webs in lamps. Towels are hard, yellow and shredded.

Single woman given room with adjoining room. Does not make a girl feel safe. Then had front desk man open my room at midnight. Thank god for security bar. Said he was checking the room to see if occupied, doesnt the phone work?

Only good thing...pancakes free in the morning, if you dont mind looking at mouse trap on ledge behind machine

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mechg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

From the first night we stayed I found curly hairs in the face clothes and towels in my hotel room. there was also a dryed up face cloth on the shower railing. The 2nd floor is the smoking floor but it reeked of cigarettes and my sheets smelled like smoke. they were not fresh at all. Not to mention My family and I traveled all the way to Plymouth, NC from Boston, MA for my Uncles funeral. The night before we leave to head back to Boston I felt somethign on my leg and I jumped up and drew the sheets back and sure enough there was a HUGH ROACH in the bed with us! I had a heart attack! Long story short the person on duty notified the manager and she said that she'll talk to me when she gets in @ 830am. Lets all be mindful that this incident happended at 3 in the morning. We took our things and waited in the looby. No where to go. NO taxis. I WANNA GO HOME!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank b0st0n123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I love this hotel and we stay here every August during a church convention in Plymouth. This hotel is a blessing b/c we used to have to stay at Port-o-Plymouth Inn (gross). The staff is very friendly, and the rooms are clean. There is a Bojangles right in the same block, and there are restaurants further up the road. I love the breakfast bar and the service. The front desk workers are very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdcoffey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Everything about the hotel room was great. Only complaint is that the hot part of breakfast was not ready at the start time. There are no other chain motels around so I was a bit worried that there was no incentive for the motel to be clean, nice, good staff, etc but was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue in reho K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plymouth
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Edenton
Hampton Inn Edenton
#1 of 2 in Edenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
17.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#3 of 6 in Williamston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
17.3 mi away
Days Inn Williamston
Days Inn Williamston
#4 of 6 in Williamston
2.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 840 US Highway 64 W, Plymouth, NC 27962-8852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Plymouth Hotel is conveniently located within 1 mile of the Roanoke River on Hwy 64 West. We are able to accommodate many travelers who enjoy a variety of outdoor adventures! Historic Plymouth boasts many Nationally Recognized points of interest to Civil War enthusiasts. For those of you with an appetite for seafood, just a few miles drive can deliver you to a large variety of fresh shellfish and other delicacies. The outdoor ventures available in the area include boating, fishing, hunting, and also we have local bird watching trails available in the area. We have a variety of restaurants all within a mile that include Mexican, Italian, Seafood and Good Country Home Cookin. Bojangles is adjacent to our hotel. Nearby cities include Greenville & Elizabeth City. We are a pet friendly Hotel! Hotel features include free wireless internet, free local calls, Express Start complimentary hot food breakfast bar with many choices to choose from, such as cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, hot biscuits and of course our world famous best tasting cinnamon rolls. We have wireless internet set up for guests use in our office center as well as a fitness center and outdoor swimming pool. We decorate our public areas in celebration of all the Holidays throughout the year! Cookies and candy are always available to our guests to satisfy their sweet tooth. Visit Plymouth, NC and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing