We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Castlepollard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlepollard
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Won't be back.”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Food was ok, service poor not pleaseant staff. Found the "manager" "owner" unhelpful "not a business man" Rather loud in bar with television. Not suitable for a Sunday family get together. Worst hotel I was in a long time. On entering the hotel it put me off straight away. Will never make a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    23
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

checked in on Saturday 15th march, check-in was painless and quick.Went up to room which was spotless and very comfortable. Had lunch in the hotel which was lovely. Went for a walk around the town and back to the hotel to watch the rugby. The Guinness was beautiful and very good value. Had the stake dinner that night which was to die for. The breakfast on Sunday was just massive. Russell and all his crew are just top class, will definitely be back.
Food........ top class.
Drink........excellent.
Hotel and room.........spotless.
Value........... Unbeatable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annon781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We recently stayed 5 nights at The Castlepollard Hotel as part of a family celebration. I can honestly say that Russell and the staff are just fantastic. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble at any time of the day. The Hotel was selected because we were organising a birthday. party and the facilities available are just perfect. A large banqueting room with a seperate bar and food. From a few simple emails Russell had come up with a menu, music, cake, balloons the works. The room was beautifully decorated and the service on the night was second to none. The hotel has undergone a refurbishment and the rooms are of a superior standard. Beautifully decorated and equiped they really area snip at the price. In comparison to England they are excellent value for money. The food is superb, from breakfast through to dinner it is good honest fayre, all home cooked and plentiful. No scrimping on portions here. The reputation is building and is evident in the number of locals booking functions, popping in for lunch and dinner. I rarely praise to this level, but when you feel home from home and the proprietor is like a friend rather than a businessman than it is warranted. My thanks to Russell for making it such a wonderful party and stay over the five days. Also, a special mention to Fay who always seemed to be on shift but never stopped smiling throughout. p.s - the chips are to die for!

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a good standard. The suite and family rooms 101 & 102 overlook the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeanandJakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We came to stay for a family party at the hotel, and had a wonderful time. Russell and his team couldn't do enough to ensure we had a fabulous time. The hotel is being refurbed and the completed rooms are beautiful with antique furniture & comfortable beds. I would expect to pay over £300 for a room of that quality in London, so it's also great value. I would also recommend the food which was home cooked and delicious, particularly the chips! I would recommend this hotel for a wonderful holiday in a beautiful area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had a really lovely experience at this hotel last weekend!! Staff are super friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere in the bar area. Room was nice and clean and got to check in early. The food was fabulous, hearty home cooked food....the desserts are to die for!!Would definitely stay again, great value, Will hopefully make it back again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleville, Co cork. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here due to a friend who only knew "Castlepollard Area" -Well what a let-down after all the great reviews i read. Arrived around 6pm and room was not made up yet? Russell had the key to our room 117 but key did not work so used key 115 and this made us wonder which key 115 was using as people were also in that room who just were so noisy all night long and banging on our wall etc. Room was terrible and smelt musty, view was of a concrete rooftop would never stay here again!! Have to say food was good and downstairs bar etc looked so nice it was a shame about the poor state of our room . We thought that at breakfast they would have on display, cereals, juice etc but NO you had to ask if you wanted any from the menu... what a shambles!!!! Hotel looks lovely if in for a drink or a bite to eat but rooms another matter!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank marynavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

As it's our local we haven't stayed in the hotel, but we have dropped in many times for a drink or a bite to eat. We have always loved it here as the staff are really friendly and there is a lovely atmosphere, but with the new management the place has really come alive! With a fantastic new menu the Hotel Castlepollard is now the place to go for a lovely meal on a Saturday evening!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlepollard
5.3 mi away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
7 reviews
10.9 mi away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
608 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Bloomfield House Hotel, Leisure Club & Spa
12.7 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
216 reviews
13.9 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castlepollard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castlepollard

Property: Hotel Castlepollard
Address: The Square, Castlepollard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Castlepollard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castlepollard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castlepollard 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castlepollard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing