We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not up to Doubletree's normal standards - it is a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed here with a friend this past weekend, and as soon as I checked into the hotel, the first thing i texted to my buddy who hadn't gotten to the hotel yet is, my god, this isn't a doubletree, it's a motel 6 with Doubletree furniture! now don't get me wrong, this hotel is perfectly fine, but it's not a Doubletree. It's a traditional motel building, complete with old Soviet era-style concrete motel balconies with the parking along the side of the building. the sliding glass balcony doors are also old and hard to work, and they don't block out much of the outside sounds. there was some street work going on across the street, and it was very loud in the room, even with the balcony door closed. the bathrooms are also really small and are clearly motel style bathrooms. but that being said, they fixed up the front lobby of the hotel nicely, and they have the nice Doubletree furniture in the rooms, so the rest of the rooms are nice. The beds are actually great and very comfortable. and everything is clean, and the people working at the hotel are really nice and helpful too. the location is okay. it's near the NC State campus and is a little less than a mile away from downtown Raleigh. there are a few bars and restaurants a very short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeebaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I chose to spend extra for an "upgrade" at this hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was adequate. The lighting in the bathroom was poor and even though my upgrade included a balcony, there were no chairs on the balcony so it was pretty useless. The door to my room was difficult to open even after the key card turned green. My room was not ready at the 3 PM checkin, however the staff was apologetic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

We’re sorry we didn't provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation is corrected. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel has recently undergone renovations that have brought it up to snuff, but only average snuff. Plenty of free parking, clean rooms and common areas, but you just can't upgrade the insulation between hallways and rooms. It is a pretty noisy hotel. The front desk was very friendly. The bed was a 'memory foam' type bed, not my favorite, but nor by any means uncomfortable. They breakfast wasn't included but looked like a nice spread. I didn't search for an exercise room, as the hotel is adjacent to the North Carolina State Campus so it was very easy to access for a nice run. I ate dinner at a great little noodle bar across the street. The next morning I enjoyed my walk back to the room after stopping at the Harris Teeter and Starbucks for breakfast after my run about a half a mile up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beach_Run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

We’re sorry that we didn't provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways and thin walls. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

One-night stay on May 3rd for a convention. There are 4 or 5 steep stairs to reach the conference rooms and to move boxes to them was very inconvenient. For older attendees, the steps were a real challenge. My room was 65 degrees, and when I called the front desk, I was told that the heating system will not work until the outside temperature is 58 degrees or below. The desk sent up a small heater, and during the night, the heating system did work. Beds were excellent; food was good; staff is top notch. OK for physically able; OK depending the weather. Does the a/c work?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The North Carolina Senior Tar Heel Legislature held it's 20th anniversary celebration at this hotel and the support from the hotel staff, the facility and the food was nothing short of excellent. The staff decorated our room with a patriotic theme that included alternating red, white and blue table cloths, floating candles and beautiful seat covers. The PA system provided was excellent. The culinary staff out did themselves with the assortment of hor d'oeurves and the carving station. Everything was ready on time and the party for 197 attendees went off without a flaw. The hotel staff was magnificent from the very first time we met right through the end of the event and even following up with us upon completion to insure we had been satisfied. Kudos to all!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The outside of this hotel is old and it looks like apartments. However, the inside is beautiful and has had some obvious upgrades. The elevators are way to small for the amount of traffic in the hotel. It only holds four people comfortably, five people if you squeeze in. The room itself was small but very clean and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was small with no exhaust fan. We each received a warm chocolate chip cookie when we arrived which was a nice touch. The staff was very friendly. There is no coffee pot in the room and no continental breakfast on the house; it was $10 for a very average looking breakfast. Considering the price of the room, I would expect more than what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I do not recommemd this hotel. It appears to be an old converted section 8 apartment building. The furnishings are very old and the overall condition of the hotel is horrible. To top off the stay we were awoken in the middle of the night by numerous parties going on in the room next door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#19 of 87 in Raleigh
200 reviews
4.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Crabtree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
3.8 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: £92 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing