We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree, Raleigh NC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location, room was very well done, excellent parking and bar area was very nice and welcoming. Unfortunately, we did not have hot water the next morning. I was disappointed and honestly expected more from a Doubletee hotel. However, the hotel front desk manager was very attentive to my concerns and we were able to find a solution to my problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ryland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Ryland,

Sounds like the hotel had a lot to offer; location, nice room, parking, and a great looking lobby and bar. As you can see from some of the more resent reviews we hit a bad patch concerning our hot water situation. Items have been addressed but I was glad our Front Office Manager was able to find a good solution. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have read where people say the walls are thin...well they are not, people are loud and slamming doors. Our first night was super quiet, next night we had a rather loud group next door, but the place is clean, the cookies are delicious, and the staff is very nice. I would recommend and would stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Joshua,

Nice to see that you would return as well as recommend the hotel. Come on back the staff will be ready and cookie will be warm. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

On one of the main thoroughfares into downtown Raleigh, close to the university - less than 5 minutes to the Memorial Bell-tower, and adjacent to Pullen Park. Apart from the chimes from the Bell-tower which seem loud initially but then become 'inaudible', little noise travels in from outside.

Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Linen is changed every 3 days or more frequently on request.

The staff are a huge asset to the hotel: friendly, helpful and gracious. They could not be faulted.

Ground-floor restaurant served continental breakfast buffet for $6.95 or hot made-to-order items. Evening meals served in the lobby/bar area - see Harvest Grille reviews.

Half an hour to walk into downtown to visit State Capitol building, museums, etc or take bus number 4 from right outside hotel for $1. Same line can be taken to go to Crabtree Valley Mall going in opposite direction. Line 100 to airport also available from outside. Taxi fare to airport is between $28-30.

We visited in January in particularly cold spell - -12℃ on one day - and heating did the job for the most part. However, balcony windows are single-glazed and poorly insulated which resulted in fair bit of wind-whistling and rattling on windy day. Additionally, with only one air vent, and even with the curtains closed to try to retain heat, the room did not reach the set temperature on the coldest of days and was noticeably colder in the area closest to the window. I expect the reverse might be true in the hotter months.

If I were to return to Raleigh, I would have no hesitation to return.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

b56c,

Thanks for posting the review. Really value the opinion of a Tripadvisor Top Contributor. Well, glad you enjoyed your time in Raleigh and excited that your would return to the DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After searching several other hotels, we attended a Bridal open house here, met Natasha, and knew this was our venue! Not only are there new and beautiful renovations, but the staff was incredibly accommodating. Each time we visited, the staff was very welcoming and pleasant....not to mention always offering warm chocolate chip cookies.

Working with Natasha Murray, the Senior Catering Sales Manager was superb. Natasha went above and beyond to ensure that everything was exactly as we wanted. She definitely made the planning process extremely simple and enjoyable.

The food at the reception was great! The guests enjoyed a duet plate of prime rib and chicken; while my husband raved over the shrimp and grits. You definitely can't go wrong holding an event at this hotel and its certain to be fabulous with Natasha helping you through every step.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Rhonda,

Our staff loves to host weddings. It's not unusual for our catering staff to work with our brides from start to finish. You should know, Natasha was on site the day of your reception. Natasha is the best!! Congrats from the Brownstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First time stay at the Double Tree Inn in Raleigh NC. while attending leadership training for Pamlico Sail and Power Squadron. Overall good experience. Staff was very accommodating. Although, dining room for breakfast was cold. Great Location and convenient to NC State facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank gailkenefick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Gail,

I'll share your review with our team. When it come to location we're hard to beat. Nearest hotel in Raleigh to N C State University, walking distance to Cameron Village Shopping Center and minutes from Raleigh night life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The property was sold out the night of check-in, but the check-in process was quick and painless. Free, hot cookies are always a plus. Our rooms was very clean, and the memory foam mattresses are excellent. I'd definitely return to this hotel next time I'm in town. I work in the hospitality industry, and the service and sanitary standards are upheld very well. I can tell there's good management with a hardworking staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Ashin G.

Glad you enjoyed your stay, always nice to take care of someone in the industry. Come on back we've got plenty of cookie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a Doubletree, which means they provide a good level of service. Warm cookies are always good, and the rooms were really clean with awesome, comfortable beds. However, the HVAC wasn't working properly, and since we were in and out in one night (New Year's Eve), we didn't bother to complain to switch rooms even though I woke up several times in the night because of the temperature. I wasn't about to get up and have someone look at it/switch rooms in the middle of the night either. If we had been staying more than one night we would have because the first floor rooms are RIGHT next to the parking lot, so you definitely feel like you are IN the parking lot with all the beeping and talking and road traffic noise. It's pretty irresponsible to place a hotel floor like that in my opinion; they had to know it would make for an unpleasant night of sleep for every single patron on the ground floor. Anything to make a buck I guess. I'm sure management is very sorry I didn't enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#19 of 86 in Raleigh
190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#32 of 86 in Raleigh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing