We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“no hot water, sketchy internet, no service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no hot water, sketchy internet, no service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

a hot water system can go on the fritz, but tell everyone and get it fixed fast. Two cold shower mornings in a row is not acceptable. Internet is not available in all rooms, and signal is weak in most. Housekeeping is not up to standard when you come into a room and find a nicely folded, lipstick stained towel and bits of white styrofoam on the carpet. There is an evident lack of concern from management.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Ann N.

Sorry your stay was less than stellar. We definitely had hot water issues and they have been addressed; certainly not as quickly as we had wished. I am disappointed as well regarding your problems with the internet. We score very well on Hilton surveys about the strength of our wireless internet. But you insight is valuable and will be discussed with our management team. Thanks

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    281
    178
    81
    34
See reviews for
279
111
29
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adams, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a group staying at this hotel for a conference in Raleigh. Everyone of our rooms would be out of hot water before 7:00a.m. Depending on how early a shower was taken you could get lucky and get some "warm" water. When we told the front desk, the only reply we got was sorry, the hotel is at capacity and obviously cannot handle all the guest. Also on Saturday and Sunday of our stay breakfast didn't open until 7:00a.m. We had to be out of the hotel and to our convention by then.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank cordyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Cordyjr,

Thanks for writing a review. No doubt the hotel under performed during the time period of your conference in meeting hot water demand. There was high demand in a compressed time period but we have also found there was a equipment failure that has been addressed. Please be assured this is not a re-occurring issue at this hotel. Thanks

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and I have to say it was a very nice stay. The staff was very welcoming and were attentive to all of my needs including giving participants notice that the President was in town and that we should allot extra travel time to the airport. They kept everything running smoothly especially when we all needed cabs. The rooms are nice, recently updated and I have to say I was also impressed with the food-both at the restaurant and room service. Employees are very friendly and always said hello when I saw them in the hallways. I was also pleased that wifi access was easy and free during my stay-even in the conference rooms. I would highly recommend this property to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Special K N.J.

Thanks for the review. Always value the TripAdvisor Senior Contributors responses and opinions. Glad your would recommend and appreciate the high marks on the staff, food, and easy access WiFi. Happy travels.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, VA, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great location, room was very well done, excellent parking and bar area was very nice and welcoming. Unfortunately, we did not have hot water the next morning. I was disappointed and honestly expected more from a Doubletee hotel. However, the hotel front desk manager was very attentive to my concerns and we were able to find a solution to my problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ryland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Ryland,

Sounds like the hotel had a lot to offer; location, nice room, parking, and a great looking lobby and bar. As you can see from some of the more resent reviews we hit a bad patch concerning our hot water situation. Items have been addressed but I was glad our Front Office Manager was able to find a good solution. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have read where people say the walls are thin...well they are not, people are loud and slamming doors. Our first night was super quiet, next night we had a rather loud group next door, but the place is clean, the cookies are delicious, and the staff is very nice. I would recommend and would stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Joshua,

Nice to see that you would return as well as recommend the hotel. Come on back the staff will be ready and cookie will be warm. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

On one of the main thoroughfares into downtown Raleigh, close to the university - less than 5 minutes to the Memorial Bell-tower, and adjacent to Pullen Park. Apart from the chimes from the Bell-tower which seem loud initially but then become 'inaudible', little noise travels in from outside.

Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Linen is changed every 3 days or more frequently on request.

The staff are a huge asset to the hotel: friendly, helpful and gracious. They could not be faulted.

Ground-floor restaurant served continental breakfast buffet for $6.95 or hot made-to-order items. Evening meals served in the lobby/bar area - see Harvest Grille reviews.

Half an hour to walk into downtown to visit State Capitol building, museums, etc or take bus number 4 from right outside hotel for $1. Same line can be taken to go to Crabtree Valley Mall going in opposite direction. Line 100 to airport also available from outside. Taxi fare to airport is between $28-30.

We visited in January in particularly cold spell - -12℃ on one day - and heating did the job for the most part. However, balcony windows are single-glazed and poorly insulated which resulted in fair bit of wind-whistling and rattling on windy day. Additionally, with only one air vent, and even with the curtains closed to try to retain heat, the room did not reach the set temperature on the coldest of days and was noticeably colder in the area closest to the window. I expect the reverse might be true in the hotter months.

If I were to return to Raleigh, I would have no hesitation to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
b56c,

Thanks for posting the review. Really value the opinion of a Tripadvisor Top Contributor. Well, glad you enjoyed your time in Raleigh and excited that your would return to the DoubleTree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

After searching several other hotels, we attended a Bridal open house here, met Natasha, and knew this was our venue! Not only are there new and beautiful renovations, but the staff was incredibly accommodating. Each time we visited, the staff was very welcoming and pleasant....not to mention always offering warm chocolate chip cookies.

Working with Natasha Murray, the Senior Catering Sales Manager was superb. Natasha went above and beyond to ensure that everything was exactly as we wanted. She definitely made the planning process extremely simple and enjoyable.

The food at the reception was great! The guests enjoyed a duet plate of prime rib and chicken; while my husband raved over the shrimp and grits. You definitely can't go wrong holding an event at this hotel and its certain to be fabulous with Natasha helping you through every step.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Rhonda,

Our staff loves to host weddings. It's not unusual for our catering staff to work with our brides from start to finish. You should know, Natasha was on site the day of your reception. Natasha is the best!! Congrats from the Brownstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#27 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing