We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expected more….”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Traveling for business lately has exposed me to several other chains and I had been pleasantly surprised by them and was expecting this to be as good or better. I was disappointed. My key cards repeatedly quit working even though I carried them in 2 separate places (no magnets), the alarm clock couldn't be set and there were feathers on the bed (pillows and possibly comforter), so if you're allergic, stay some where else. The HVAC fan couldn't be turned on to run continuously to block noise and cycled on & off through the night. I reported the problem with the alarm & feathers in the morning, but nothing had been done by that night. The manager had to go to the store to buy a pillow. The fire alarm went off during breakfast & the staff was not helpful. 3 of us exited the building in 30 degree temps, only to find out this happens frequently due to the toasters in the dining room (move them?). There was no refrigerator in the room & only enough pods for 2 cups of coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorsnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
SailorNC,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    278
    176
    80
    34
See reviews for
276
111
29
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here while in Raleigh for training. I was exceedingly happy with the front desk staff, particularly Tina and Marie. Very pleasant and helpful. We had breakfast in the restaurant and it was hot and tasted good. Not sure what experiences other reviewers had, but the wait staff was awesome--just as nice as she could be. Not a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but if that is all I can say negative, I'm OK with that. The rooms were clean and quiet. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Kathy R.

A 5 rating and Great Experience!! Thanks and please come back, we apprecicate your business,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel is located in a great area of Raleigh between NC State campus and the Capital. However, the accommodations were very poorly updated throughout the hotel, including neon bubble lights in the lobby fireplace that looked like a kids toy to the poorly insulated guest rooms. The hotel restaurant closes early, so plan to order in the room as the hotel poor is very little, very cold with horrible wait staff. I would only stay here again if forced by the conference again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Brian T

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our property. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences and we hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel over the past few years has been renovated but the improvements are only cosmetic. My account was incorrectly billed, check in was not entered correctly, restaurant service was non existence, and bartender was very rude. The people at the front desk were very nice and friendly but some seemed inexperienced. The dinner restaurant was very slow and the people working were rude. The tables and bar area were dirty with spoon and forks on the floor and old plates / glasses on the tables. The servers were rude to customers and didn't check on people to refill their drinks. The room didn't have a mini fridge which would have made the room more convenient. The pillows were really big and were hard to sleep on. The breakfast was good and the waitress was very friendly and always available to help.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
ByronB,

Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, it is very valuable to us. We will use your feedback both positive and negative to help improve our on property experience. Thanks

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I had to change hotels for my stay in Raleigh this past week - I was not dissatisfied. The rooms are quiet and clean and they have a nice restaurant in the lobby. I liked the fitness equipment too. My only complaint is that there needs to be a wired connection to the internet in each room. They also need a few other APs to handle large bookings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Angela B,

Thanks for posting a review and the great rating. Glad you enjoyed yourself, the hotel and great location in downtown Raleigh Please come back when in town. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryon, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I really enjoyed our stay. From the moment I walked into the lobby and was offered a warm walnut chocolate chip cookie at checkin until I checked out the next day, I felt very comfortable and well cared for. The staff was amazing. We forgot a comb and when we called for a complimentary one, it was delivered in moments. The room was clean and nice. We slept well. It was so close to NCSU we could have walked there. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Xena126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Xena126,

We always have plenty of warm chocolate chip cookies, but really happy that you were impressed with the staff. We work hard to make sure things are ready for your arrival and try to anticipate your needs prior to arrival. Very happy that you would return if visiting the area. Happy travels.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewell, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The staff and management were very accommodating. The stay was very good. The staff were helpful and provided valuable information when requested. Staff courteous and friendly. Location excellent. I would stay at hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Edward L,

Excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would return if you were in the Raleigh area in the future. I will share your comments with the staff regarding their efforts. As for our location, I could not agree more. Next to NCSU, walking distance to Cameron Village shopping and minutes from downtown. Plus free parking. Thanks

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#46 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing