We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for the Raleigh half IM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
“Stayed here for the Raleigh half IM”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel was great. They provided a breakfast for the athletes starting at 3:30am, and a shuttle to the start. They had backup documentation for participants about the logistics of the race, which was just a very nice touch. The staff were fantastic across the board, very helpful and very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    296
    183
    88
    35
See reviews for
289
120
30
559
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First off, the website says the hotel is in downtown Raleigh. It is NOT downtown. When we went to our room, there was still someone stayiing in it. They were unable to give us a similar room and ended up giving us a downgraded room. They would not allow me to cancel my reservation without charging me even though I was very unsatisfied with the fact that the hotel was not downtown and they could not give us the room we had reserved. The rooms were nice enough, but not for the price. You could get just as nice of room actually downtown for same price. I guess I should have taken a better look at the map, but being from out of town I took the website's word for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleign, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice stay at a well kept hotel. Didn't have a chance to use all amenities but, service was welcoming and helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. Appreciated the environmentally friendly bathroom fixtures.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

excellent stay; was given the wrong room at first but it was fixed very quickly and politely! enjoyed the cookies (enough for everyone!) The location was great; walking distance to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Tara S,

Glad you and the girls enjoyed kicking up your heels in Raleigh. I say it often but I love our LOCATION!!! Also Free parking and internet, Which is not the case for all Downtown Raleigh hotels. We also have plenty of space to host your wedding reception 20 to 500! Cheers

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Excellent customer service! There wasn't a refrigerator in the room so we asked for an extra ice bucket and they said they would bring us a refrigerator instead. Such a nice surprise! Great Asian restaurant just a half a block down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Paige V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Paige V,

Thanks for the review. Just an FYI we do have a limited supply of refrigerators and microwaves on a first come bases free of charge. The restaurant you mentioned is David's Dumplings, half block from the hotel. AWESOME food, my boss has to eat there at least once when visiting the property. Please come back and stay with us when visiting Raleigh

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had a wonderful experience at the DoubleTree! The staff could no have been nicer or more helpful. I was in DC for a doctor's appointment and it was fabulous to go to this hotel following a ling day. My one regret is that I couldn't stay longer and enjoy all of the amenities!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Georgia K,

Not sure if you got some of your DoubleTrees mixed up in your travels. If you did stay with us thanks for the glowing remarks but if you were in DC glad to hear you had the same excellent experience there as you would here.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was ok, a little dated but ok until I got ready to take a shower and the faucet broke. The next day was a very long work day for me. I left the room at 7am and returned to a dirty room @ 7pm. I stopped by the front desk, on my way to dinner after working 12 hours, to request housekeeping and to report the broken faucet. I returned two hours later and my room was still dirty and the faucet was still broken. I was livid!!! The clerk at the front desk had fresh towels delivered and came to pick up as much as possible. I was very disappointed. After a long day at work, I just wanted to go to my room and relax with a night cap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Shonda T,

Looks like our Engineering and Housekeeping teams missed several opportunities to have made a better impression. Thanks for writing the review, it will be shared with our team members

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#28 of 85 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#42 of 85 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing