We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Convenient Hotel with Conscientious Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, United States
1 review
“A Convenient Hotel with Conscientious Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a descent hotel, convenient to NC State and other Raleigh, NC destinations. The staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel building is OK. Beds aren't the greatest but the rooms are quiet. A/C was a bit noisy; the elevators are small but overall, a reasonable choice in Raleigh.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Casey M,

Location and great staff can make for a great combination! Thanks for the review.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    281
    176
    80
    34
See reviews for
278
111
29
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The customer service was excellent from the time we got there until the time we checked out. The room on the other hand was a different story...the ceiling in the bathroom was rotting away and the tub had rust stains all over...it was pretty gross.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Jeff G,,

Thanks for the kind remarks regarding the excellent customer service. If you have the time I wish you would call the hotel directly at 919-828-0811 and ask for me so I could determine which room you stayed in. Please be assured we have an ongoing preventive maintenance program in place and take your concern seriously. Thanks for posting your review and I hope to hear from you.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I do not feel that this Hilton meets the stands of other that I have stayed in. There was too much confusion for a four star hotel. One dose not want to travel 3 thousand miles and have to deal with wrong room reservations. I had two handicap people i had to deal with that made matters worst.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Geraldine R.

You are most certainly right traveling today can be stressful under the best of conditions. I apologize for your inconvenience and will discuss your concerns with of Front Desk staff. Thanks for posting your comments.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent- Front desk staff. Very helpful and polite, especially Emily and Raegan, who always smiled and maintained a very cheerful mood. And the cookies were awesome! Excellent- Maid service. The maids cleaned my room quickly and thoroughly, without conspicuously moving my bags or items. Very good- The room layout and furniture. Good, but could be better- The menu choices in the bar area. Poor- The room did not insulate sound well. It was very easy to hear outside noise and hallway noise. The issue was not very bothersome because I was only in the room late at night when the environment was generally quiet. However, whenever there was outdoor activity or hallway traffic, I could easily hear all conversations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Mark S.

Excellent Front Desk, Awesome cookie, Super Maid Service. Thanks for the shout out for Raegan and Emily. FYI, we are gettting ready to roll out our new menu for the Harvest Bistro. Mark, please come back when visiting Raleigh.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a clean, comfortable hotel with a great location. Near Cameron Village, NC State, Saint Mary's School, and downtown Raleigh. We arrived late so missed out on the free cookies, but we were treated to a wonderful night's sleep on the very comfy mattress. The room was clean, fairly spacious, and the bathrooms were updated and nice. Loved the toiletry products. In summary, we paid a little more than we wanted, but it was worth it for where we needed to be.

Free parking. Breakfast not included but available in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuff_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_winn, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Travelbuff 47,

Always value the opinion of the Senior Contributors. Your review says it ALL. Thanks and keep posting those reviews.

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here for work. Although this was not the location that I needed (everything else in the desired area was sold out), but I was still happy with the stay. The staff were very friendly and had good recommendations on where to go to eat. The neighborhood is very cute, and a nice little shopping area with many restaurants is very close. The rooms could be a bit quieter (it seemed there was a constant winding or mechanical noise outside), and the light coming from the hallway to the room was annoying. One thing truly made up for that though: While eating breakfast, a colleague with me was visibly upset about a personal emergency that had arisen while we were gone. I think the waitress noticed what was going on and comped the meal. Talk about southern hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 374danitav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
374danitav,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to make your time with us that much better! Additionally, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and have made note of your comments regarding your room.

Thank you,
Margot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very close to NC State Campus, but for the most part pretty quiet. Great staff!! Only minus is the mattresses probably needed to be flipped, they slanted down a bit and were not very comfortable. Other than that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margot H, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Rachel,

Glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the convenient proximity to NC State's campus! We appreciate your review and have taken note of your comments regarding your mattress. We apologize if this made your stay anything less than stellar.

Please come back and stay with us again soon. We would love to have you!

Thanks,
Margot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#47 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Address: 1707 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#22 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly remodeled Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh - Brownstone University. Whether you are visiting for business at North Carolina State University (2 blocks), the Research Triangle Park(8 miles), the new Raleigh Convention Center and Downtown Business District(1.5 miles), or you're here for a leisurely stay to attend an event at the RBC Center, Time Warner Pavilion at Walnut Creek, Progress Energy Center for the Performing Arts, State Fairgrounds, or a visit to one of our three museums in downtown Raleigh (Art, Science, History), we can offer you the best balance of location, convenience, and value. With features like a new, modern spacious lobby, brand new guestrooms for 2012, a new restaurant and bar and all new fitness center by Precor along with an expanded business center,we have everything you need to insure a pleasant and productive stay. Best of all, you can walk to more than 20 different restaurants and nearly 100 shops at Cameron Village(a historic, upscale, outdoor walking mall), ride the train, paddleboats or play on the playground at the all new Pullen Park or take advantage of all the businesses and restaurants on Hillsborough Street across from NC State University's campus-each of these is less than .5 miles from the hotel. Come see why Raleigh was again listed as 'One of the best cities to live and work in' by Forbes Magazine in 2012 and why the all new Doubletree by Hilton Raleigh Brownstone University is the best place to stay to be in the center of it all; and please don't forget that parking and internet are always free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Raleigh Brownstone - University Hotel Raleigh
Holiday Inn Brownstone
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Raleigh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing