We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fun for entire family”

North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Southeast's largest natural history museum features dinosaurs, whale skeletons, live animals, walk-through dioramas, special exhibits, hands-on science education and accessible scientists. IMLS National Medal Finalist, 2014.
raleigh nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful fun for entire family”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

There is so much to see at this museum and the educational chats about animals are great for the kids. They let them touch lizards, turtles, etc and teach them all about their habitats, etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaleighNcMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,263
    337
    46
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NC Museum of History”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The North Carolina Museum of History is the best assist students, parents and educators to understand the rich history of this great state. The staff is courteous and informative of every aspect of the museum! It is a wonderful place to see artifacts, read and interact with the people and events of North Carolina.
Lady J

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Class exhibits for all ages; viewable labrotories at work as well”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having our son & grandchildren with us for the day, we decided a visit to this museum was long overdue. Originally from NYC, I am quite use to world class museums. Not knowing what to expect, I was quite amazed at the level of sophistication in design, lay out and quality of the exhibits. A couple of rooms where one can actually handle various flora and fauna artifacts such as shell, bones, skins, rocks, etc.. There is an actual functioning beehive as well. Land animals, ocean life, insects and birds are all represented.
The museum is not as big as it's major contemporaries elsewhere, but it is of the first quality in all respects. The granddaughters had a thoroughly enjoyable time and were interested in almost everything.
I plan on returning on my own to better absorb the exhibits at my own pace. Well done.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimInRaleigh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to visit.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I like to take family and friends to the NC museum. It is the best museum i have every visited.
You will not be disappointed. Great place to bring the kids. So many things to see and learn.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults alike”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I have visited the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences many times over the years. We regularly take visitors here. Each time it is a new experience. The many displays are so diverse that there is always something new to observe. Our hats are off to the folks who operate this wonderful attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing