We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This is one great Renaissance. Ideal location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wow! This is one great Renaissance. Ideal location.”
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Great hotel. It is brand new with huge rooms and located in a trendy shopping area with a couple of restaurants nearby. It is located off I-440 not too far from downtown Raleigh. For a good nearby restaurant, try Vivace right accross Lassiter Mill rd, the food is outstanding. As for the hotel, we would stay there again in a heartbeat as this was one of our favorites this year. One thing: the pool area is kind of hard to get to with two elevators to take to get there but wow, this is an oversize one!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    149
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
131
141
17
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Valley, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I think the Renaissance brand is really a cut above the competition. The properties I’ve stayed at just seem to offer a little more in the way of style, gadgetry, comfort and service than some of the competing up-market hotel chains. The Raleigh Renaissance at North Hills has all of that at a reasonable price and in a very convenient location just north of downtown Raleigh.

WHAT WAS GOOD: The hotel is brand new and it literally glistens. Everything is clean, fresh and very much up to date….Service was outstanding. From our initial arrival at the valet, to the front desk, to the on site restaurant, Flights, to check-out, every member of the staff was friendly, accommodating and professional. Just excellent!....The adjacent Gold’s Gym provides fitness facilities and a huge pool that are way beyond what you’d typically find in a hotel property. Usage is free to guests….The hotel is the centerpiece of a modern mixed-use village consisting of retail, dining and residential facilities. The area is extremely walkable and the retail space is much more pleasant than your standard mall….Rooms offer all the amenities you’d expect in a modern upscale hotel including some surprises like the television embedded within the bathroom mirror. Sure, stuff like that is gimmicky but it’s also really fun….The hotel and surrounding mall are located in a nice part of Raleigh, just off I440, Raleigh’s interstate highway loop. It’s easy to get to and very convenient to the city as well as the surrounding areas.

WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER: You might detect a slight bit of highway noise from the “city view” side, although it was never an issue for us. I440 lies just beyond a parking area to the rear of the property. The “city view” consists of a handful of glass towers on the distant horizon beyond I440 and the surrounding trees, so a room facing the retail village is probably a better choice.

THINGS TO KNOW: The retail village offers a surprising variety of dining options, including some taverns, an Asian fusion restaurant and several familiar national or regional chains. For dinner we settled on the hotel’s Flights, which was excellent and not unreasonably priced….Directions on the hotel’s website confused me a bit. Just exit the highway, make a right onto Six Forks Road and turn into the large mall on the left and you’ll find it….You may have to navigate some confusing hallways into Gold’s Gym to get towels for the pool. There were none on hand when we arrived….In the extremely trivial category: to really see the television in the bathroom with any clarity, you’ll need to turn the lights off. Steam from the shower will make you wonder if you’re watching a sports event or a network reality show.

THE BOTTOM LINE: Another reviewer suggested that this was the best hotel choice in Raleigh. Since I’ve never visited the city before, I can't confirm or deny that. I would bet on it however.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I've been sitting on my thoughts for this review for a while. Usually my wife reviews on our behalf, but this time I was traveling for business, so it's up to me.

The staff was pretty darn good. I liked the that the front desk staff came around their podium to interact and show me in the way. It's becoming more and more commonplace, and sometimes forced at places I've stayed - but it felt right in this hotel. The bartender was fun and I really liked the lounge feel of the bar.

I was on the 4th floor with a magnificent view of the roof on the attached Target. Ask for a room higher up when you arrive here.

The bathroom was spotless and I really enjoyed the tile work and glass shower. (No tub in my room) The TV behind the mirror was hard to see with the lights on. The execution on that may not live up to the concept of it.

The room was outfitted with the 'jack pack' but there were no cords in the room to hook up my laptop or iPod to it... so no DVD on the flat screen for me. Bring your connection cords for your tech and you'll be a happy camper.

Other than that my only real memory of the room is that the pillows were crappy. I would recommend asking for foam pillows. My feather pillows were rather flat.

The location was great for business travel as there are some really great restaurants in the area within a short walk. Firebirds and Vivace were fantastic. Chic-fil-A was also a bonus during a lunch break. Not to mention ample Starbucks in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubyageebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2009

This hotel is amazing. I am a very picky consumer and I must tell you that this hotel is top notch in every category. The location is perfect (esp. if you are on college visits), the shopping, movies and food is all excellent. The lobby is beautiful, clean and welcoming. The staff were all (and I mean every single one that we met) kind, friendly and helpful. The room was again, perfect. Clean, fresh, current, spacious (large enough for mom, dad and two teenagers..one daughter with way too many clothes)! The view is of the highway, but this was so easy to forget when you were able to enjoy the lovely room. I typically don't like to be in a hotel room much, but this one was different...what a pleasant surprise...to pay so much and actually feel like you want to be in the room! The fitness center is actually Golds Gym, which was a great plus, they were accomidating and helpful..made us feel like we were members! The pool and hottub were really just fine..nothing like a spa, but clean and just fine. There is a spot outside for sunning, which was really a plus. The hotel restraunt was very good, sunny, clean, upscale..the sweet tea was "perfect" and service excellent. There are clean and accessible laundry facilities in the hotel and the front desk will give you (free) detergant, etc! very nice. We stayed on the concierge level and they too made us feel amazingly welcome. it was always clean and stocked and while on college visits, coming in and out, etc. i can't tell you how great this was...the staff was extremely acocmidating to the children (who can eat alot)! ...they never made us feel like we shouldnt be in there...it was so nice. I can tell you that this hotel shouldn't change a thing...it is just perfect the way it is.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlythebest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2009

I read the other two reviews before going to this hotel, but am happy to report that the kinks have been worked out. This hotel is one of the best I've been to in the past few years. And I've been to hundred of hotels.

The parking is now clearly marked. The hotel is located in a very pedestrian friendly new retail/entertainment area. Part of what makes the area great is that much of the traffic has been sunk below the pedestrian area. When you first enter the complex from Six Forks Road, you immediately go underground, follow the signs, and wind up at free hotel parking right by the elevator.

Check-in was easy, too. The hotel has figured out how to make check-in fast and friendly.

The room was very, very nice. All the amenities one would expect from a good, new hotel. And then some. The bathrooms have TVs embedded in the mirror. You cannot tell it is there until you turn it on with the remote. The screen takes up a small part of the very large mirror. You've got to see this.

The bathroom door is a slide door, which makes the bathroom seem bigger. The closet, drawers - BTW, more drawers than the usual hotel - and work area are all big, cool, and modern. The beds are very comfortable.

The concierge lounge is now open and very nice. The attendants are among the best of any Marriott I've been to over the past few years. (I've been to hundreds.)

Within the very pedestrial friendly retail area are restaurants of every type - from Chic-Fil-A to better chains to unique local fine dining. The hotel restaurant looked pretty cool, too. There is shopping - again, everything from Target to hip boutique type shopping - a full Gold's Gym a few feet from the hotel, and you are right off the highway but far enough to miss the noise.

Previously, I've stayed at both the Crabtree Marriott and the Embassy Suites nearby. One would be foolish to stay at either of those hotels when this fantastic option is so close by. Unlike the other two hotels, this hotel is modern, easy to get in and out of, friendly (the Embassy Suites has a good staff. Not so for the Marriott) and clean.

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

The Renaissance Raleigh at North Hills is in a brand-new, mixed-use development, with eating and shopping options footsteps from your room.

It just opened in December 2008 so there were a few "new team" missteps to be expected, mostly the interior design team's fault (poor elevator signage and some front-desk check-in fumbles). Give this hotel another month, and I am sure it will run like a swiss watch.

The rooms are beautifully appointed, with a modern color and furniture scheme. This is the first Marriott Corp. property I've EVER stayed in with zero complaint about the furniture! Perfect, finally! Internet was wireless, worked well, and free.

Room has all the expected amenities, coffee/tea in a single-use machine, good lighting, HDTV flatscreen. But what is most impressive is the bathroom....huge shower with room for two, and one of those surround-type showers, excellent lighting too. TV addicts will delight with the "magic" tv behind the mirror, so you can't miss a thing, and the bath-towels were soft and comfy.

The hotel under-markets and doesn't even mention on its website one of the best features: free access via elevator to a full-service (gym, spa, pool) Gold's Gym! And if you forget your gear, there's a Target store right next to that, or REI on the next block. This is definitely the best option around for the traveling fitness person. No cruddy hotel "fitness room" with this place!

Parking was a bit confusing, absent the proper signage, but fortunately free.

Hotel restaurant has an excellent chef de cuisine, but the servers were still in a bit of a training mode for dinner and breakfast, with a few miscues and forgotten items. Breakfast menu was moderate to pricey, so if you're not able to access the Concierge lounge's member benefits, I'd suggest the Starbucks nearby, unless you absolutely must spend $20 each for an omelette and coffee. It has to compete with the excellent restaurants in the North Hills development, such as Firebird's, so I suspect the menu will re-price itself and evolve, if the management is smart.

If you're traveling with family, or maybe have a spouse in-tow, who needs to be occupied, there is no better place in Raleigh than this option. If you're booking a reward stay, definitely pick this one over the dated and bland Raleigh Marriott Crabtree, which is the next exit up.

  • Liked — Gold's Gym
  • Disliked — Silly Signage problems... Marriott design people should know better!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
2.0 mi away
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
1.4 mi away
Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Raleigh North Hills
4.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel

Property: Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Address: 4100 Main At North Hills St, Raleigh, NC 27609-5754
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#6 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#8 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover modern luxury among Raleigh North Hills hotels at the Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, mere steps from endless shopping, dining and exciting entertainment. From delightful service, to locally popular, eclectic cuisine by award winning Chef Dean Thompson, to specialty wedding services, whimsical sophistication abounds. This hotel in Raleigh North Hills is sure to please even the most discerning traveler or event planner, with plush comfort in every guest room and suite, and exclusive benefits for guests in Concierge Level rooms. Impeccable event planners will cater to your every whim in more than 8,000 square feet of function space, whether it be for your Raleigh wedding, meeting, reunion or special event. When dining at our Raleigh North Hills hotel, Flights Restaurant & Lounge is not to be missed, featuring southern fusion and more. Guests also enjoy the services and facilities of the full fitness center just next door, including swimming pool, cardio and weight rooms and fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing