We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited in May for a conference. When we arrived, we could not get near the front of the hotel because it was blocked off due to construction of some kind. It would have been great to have had a heads up on this with alternate directions. We managed to find our way to the back where there was a parking garage. We asked the attendant about parking for the hotel and he replied we were in the right place. We parked close to an entrance to the adjoining building to the garage. From there we had to go up an escalator, through a several corridors, and after making a few turns, we finally arrived at the lobby. The entry from the garage was between the hotel and the convention center. At the lobby desk, we were told that unless we wanted to be parked valet it would be necessary for us the bring the luggage from the parking deck. This took a while to do due to the distance and having to make more than one trip.

The room was great! The food in the restaurant was always good. The Starbucks in the lobby was convenient for a quick breakfast. The staff in every area were courteous. We could access the free Wi-Fi in downtown Raleigh from our room. Be aware that it is blocked in the convention center unless you pay a fee. Everything was great until check out and we had to make the trips to the parking garage again. There was a charge when exiting the garage that was equal to a nightly charge to park in a downtown hotel.

We will return if we need to be in this area again but next time we will have our walking shoes on for unloading the luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. you are correct. Guests are to be notified of street closures when they affect the hotel and our guest's arrival patterns. I have forwarded this to the appropriate leadership for their attention.

The parking deck is owned and operated by the City of Raleigh. The pricing structure and all things related to the garage are not in the control or influence of the hotel. valet parking is the only hotel controlled function in this regard.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Felt welcome as soon as I arrived, tired after a day's travelling. Quickly checked in and had a superb meal in in-house restaurant. Room high up, light and airy with every facility. Huge bed, excellent desk area - couldn't be bettered. Breakfast and in-room internet not included, but charges not extreme.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We appreciate your great review! We are proud of our great restaurant and the team that runs it!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice. However, while the water in the bathroom at the sink was hot, I was not able to get hot water in the shower. Also be aware of the parking.situation. Valet parking is $30. Because there were so many people registering on the day I arrived, I was asked to park my own vehicle which was $12. However, I had an event to attend, so I had to pay the daily rate for the time I was in the hotel before leaving for the event, and pay again when I returned. Additionally, when I returned to the hotel, a parking attendant had me pre-pay $7. The next morning when I was leaving the garage, I had to pay an additional amount. Crazy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, the hotel does not own or have any control over the parking deck directly beneath the building. The City of Raleigh owns and operates the lot under the hotel building.

Thanks again for your review.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel in central Raleigh, as the name implies. It is within an easy walk to the Red Hat Amphitheater. The staff were all very polite and helpful. The bar was very busy when we were there but the bartender got to us very quickly. The room was quiet, comfortable, and clean. Our only disappointment was that the pool was an indoor one. It would have been nice to sit outside on such a warm day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellover021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your great review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. We hope that you enjoyed the concert as much as the hotel!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had an awesome weekend at the Raleigh Half Ironman. Last year we stayed at another hotel, but moved here this year. Not only was the location awesome, but the staff was very friendly AND extremely flexible when we had to extend our checkout! We appreciate your hospitality and making a difference in our weekend experience at the Ironman!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your outstanding review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. The team is delighted that you joined us this year at the hotel and congratulations on your Iron Man participation. Hopefully, we will welcome you again next year!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here 2 nights last week. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Could have used a refrigerator though. Surprised that there wasn't one.

We had several questions for the staff regarding the Iron Man race and how we could avoid some of the crowds and street closures. They were always very friendly and helpful.

This is a great location close to the NC museums, Performing Arts Center and many excellent restaurants.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xbcrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are excited that you found our hotel to your liking. Our team and their southern hospitality make all the difference. A friendly face can make your travels brilliant no matter where you go.
Thank you for your business.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here the second year in a row for the Ironman Raleigh competition and cannot say enough good things about the folks who work at this hotel. They are all so friendly and helpful and always have a smile on their face!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

The entire team thanks you for your excellent review of our hotel. We are very proud to be part of the downtown Raleigh community. Please come back to visit us soon and often.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#35 of 87 in Raleigh
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
4.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville St, Raleigh, NC 27601-2118
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: £155 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing