We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business Hotel, but Deserted at Night and on Weekends” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raleigh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel, but Deserted at Night and on Weekends”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Raleigh Marriott City Center is a good hotel for conferences at the new Convention Centre next door. The public areas inside are clean, elegant and open. The rooms are well appointed, with a nice added touch of a 37" LCD TV with a pc cable connection on the desk to connect your laptop. The bar/hotel is adequate, and served as a good after-convention meeting place with good service since we were the only ones there. Finally, on cool days, there's an indoor connection to the Convention Centre.

On the downside, outside the hotel, there's a lot of construction and not a lot of progress as yet. Getting to the rest of downtown requires walking around an active boarded up construction site which isn't a big deal during the day, but at night can be a little intimidating for tourists.

If you do venture out at night, it's about a 5 minute walk to City Market, which is a worthy destination during the week, but not so much on a Sunday night. I can recommend Woody's - a great sports bar, especially for watching college basketball.

Overall, if you're going for a conference at the Convention Centre, it's a good, convenient hotel. If not, there may be better places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kidultimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    255
    94
    32
    28
See reviews for
121
131
32
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

The hotel itself is very pretty and well done, but the staff is horrible. The front desk staff was not friendly, welcoming or helpful. Even the manager on duty didn't seem to know what was going on. Again the hotel is beautiful and in a great location, but the staff is very difficult to work with, and I will look at other options next time I stay downtown.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uncbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

I'm here at the Marriott City Center in Raleigh as a speaker at a large state-wide tourism conference, and I'm sick. The manager extended my check-out time to 4:00PM so I could rest throughout the day and they brought me food off the breakfast menu even though it was an hour after their breakfast time expires. VERY helpful. I'm a Marriott fan now.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahparamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

We chose to stay at Marriott Raleigh City Center because we typically have a good experience with Marriott. This stay was okay but we felt the comfort standards just weren't what we've come to expect from Marriott. It's a beautiful new hotel and the staff were all terrific. They were very friendly and helpful. With that said, we found the brand new beds hard as a rock; the towels were scratchy (more like motel 8) and not what you'd expect from a premier hotel,. Also, I think it's time Marriott gave up on nickel and diming travelers with expensive internet usage fees. Come on, if the Comfort Inn can offer free WIFI then the Marriott should be all over that! Overall, not a bad stay but not what we know Marriott is capable of providing.

  • Liked — Great restaurants within walking distance.
  • Disliked — The hard bed
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BBBSTEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

I know this hotel is brand new and will have its kinks, but it should be prepared to handle all kinds of situations as it is a Marriott Hotel. Marriott Hotels have an image to uphold and at the Raleigh Marriott City Center, it sadly lacked that Marriott stamp.

I had attended a banquet in Raleigh in Oct 2008 and was not happy with the way the servers served the food. It seemed like everyone at our table got their food first and we had to wait 1 1/2 hours for our food to arrive!!! That was atrocious! Not only that, Marriott, please hire English-speaking staff. I don't speak Spanish.

Other than that, as it is a brand new hotel, the room was quite nice with a nice bathroom. The other weird thing is the hotel kept having blackouts. That was scary!

  • Liked — Bright
  • Disliked — Blackouts
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travellerforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

My new wife and I are planning on moving to Raleigh this year, and this is our second time visiting to scout out things. This hotel was not even open last time, but what a treat it was to stay there. For $99-139, this place was a bargain. Raleigh's main downtown is not exactly vibrant, but there certainly are cool, fun places, and the Glenwood South area is about a mile from the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful, new, clean, and everyone is very friendly. For all the space around, I think valet parking ($18/day) is unnecessary, but pretty much the standard nowadays for city hotels. If I am back down again before I have a permanent home, I will definitely stay here again.

As a side note, this place is so new I couldn't find pictures online anywhere, so I posted some on here. I felt weird taking ones of the lobby, but trust me, it is beautiful, as is the restaurant and bar.

  • Liked — Best hotel in Raleigh under 200 bucks!
  • Disliked — Pay lobby internet / in-room wireless seems a little out of place at a modern business-oriented hotel like this.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GucciLittlePiggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

My husband and I stayed in the hotel during the holidays on our way up from Florida to New York. The hotel is new and clean and very well appointed. We had a terrific dinner in the restaurant (not part of Marriott, but licensed out to an outside vendor) and the pool and gym were really first rate. The only thing that would prevent me from returning was the help (or lack of it) we received from the front desk. We asked repeatedly for a quiet room and one without an adjoining room, but were offered 3 rooms: one by an elevator, the second over a construction site and the third with an adjoining room. It was obvious to me that the hotel was relatively empty and although I asked again for another room, I was told that these were the only rooms available. I did not find this to be believable... and although the room by the elevator did not bother us in the end, I could not understand why the front desk was not more accommodating.

  • Liked — new clean rooms
  • Disliked — front desk service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SueSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#46 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.6 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Property: Raleigh Marriott City Center
Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing