We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Entrees”
Review of Coquette Brasserie

Coquette Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
Coquette Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Six Forks
Transit: The local bus system has a stop less than 100 yards away from our door.
Description: Welcome to Coquette- a true French brasserie located in Raleigh's North Hills. Coquette, continuously open through the day and well into the night, pleases from the moment you enter. Chef Beth Littlejohn prepares top notch food with French flair and serves it in hip surroundings to a clientele ready to settle in for fun with friends. Coquette features an exclusively French wine list, the best of beers, and classic French cocktails. Traditional brasserie meals are accompanied by crusty, fresh house made breads and memorable desserts. Coquette is North Hills' only French restaurant located on the Circle. This French Raleigh restaurant offers lunch, dinner, brunch, and private event dining daily in a spectacular French setting. Bon appetit!
NC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Really Good Entrees”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Coquette continues to serve some really good food. On a recent visit, the coq au vin was fabulous, and enough for two meals. Spouse said the beef bourguignon was also really good, and again, enough for two meals. So, plan to take some good food home with you.

My only complaints: The bread wasn't so great. Usually the house rye bread is so good, but this time it was undercooked and gummy. I don't know if they've changed the recipe or what. The other French-style bread offered wasn't so great, either. My view is that a French restaurant should have fabulous bread, especially given the availability of good bread in this area from various stores and bakeries (La Farm?). I also had a French Broad beer, which didn't taste so good, but maybe this was just me.

But, again, the two entrees were fabulous. For dessert we shared the beignets, three rather small ones accompanied with a chocolate sauce and a fruit-based sauce. It was all really good, but don't expect a big dessert, especially if sharing.

Service was perfectly fine. Our meal was overall very good, and we'll be back. But, maybe not five stars this time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    106
    51
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“C'est si bon”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We came here for Sunday brunch. I was very glad we had reservations because the place was packed and there was a line of people waiting out the door. Our table had been held for us, though, and we were whisked to it. Extra points for that! The service was brisk and competent. The food was good, not great. My husband ordered the Croque Monsieur on the recommendation of many reviewers, and he and I both found what should be a rather simple yet beautifully prepared sandwich rather over-embellished with too much cheese. You couldn't even pick it up and eat it like a sandwich, you had to use a knife & fork. Which is fine, but NOT a Croque Monsieur. The apple/bacon crepes were tasty but seemed under-filled. The quiche was superb: creamy yet light, perfectly cooked. Side salads were tasty and not swimming in dressing, a big plus for me. Excellent coffee. We skipped dessert but the list looked enticing.

It's very French to have the big fan-folding doors that can open to the street, and Coquette had theirs open during our visit. This probably works better on a small city street than on the corner of a large intersection at a very busy mall. Our experience was marred by diesel fumes from passing trucks, to say nothing of the incessant noise of passing traffic. I completely understand that the restaurant has absolutely no control over the traffic, but diners might want to keep this in mind and request a table away from the periphery of the restaurant, no matter how charming it seems to be sitting by the open air.

All in all, a lovely restaurant with beaucoup of ambiance, reasonable prices, and memorable food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Brunch, Lunch, or Dinner!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We normally come here for brunch on a Sunday, it's got a great feel to it and the food is unlike any French Bistro in Raleigh. It's an all round great place to go. Wether you are on business, entertaining, a date, or just meeting up for lunch. Can't go wrong!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Princess121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
340 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Extremely Reasonble Prices”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was here for lunch today and have only good things to say. Well, except about parking and traffic but that's because it's North Hills (leave time to find a spot and be willing to walk). The atmosphere is great and they have a very impressive liquor selection. The menu is a little limited but the food on it is delicious and cheap. $10 for a steak sandwich and a huge portion of fries is extremely fair. I also enjoyed the creme brule. Finally, the service was impeccable. I can't wait to be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal_Paradise767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Keeps Getting Better and Better!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've become addicted to their Sunday Brunch! Why? Well, that'll take a while to explain! We enjoy above all else the fantastic food and wine menus, of course. But the service, ambiance, and reasonable pricing are close seconds. This time my wife and I both enjoyed the Chicken Paillard, but I've absolutely devoured the Steak Frites in the past! We usually get a bottle of their various White Burgundies. Occasionally, we'll be naughty and get the bottomless Mimosa special! In essence, this is a bistro. And they've nailed that from the French perspective. Some have compared CB to restaurants, which is unfair. CB serves French food favorites in a casual atmosphere with professional service. And they do it extremely well. So what are you waiting for? We lived in the RDU area for 10 years and were afraid to try them because of the stereo-typical French attitude we thought we might find. It's not here - just a wonderful and pleasant way to dine and feel like you're in a little part of France!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coquette Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Coquette Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing