We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before without a problem. However, when we stayed here last week, we were given a room on the second floor on a corner by the elevator. I believe the room number was 211. It is a physically challenged room even though we did not request one. There was hardly any counter space in the bathroom. However, the problem is noise. When the elevator is operating, there is a very large noise and vibration in the room. It doesn't come from the outside, it actually is noise from the mechanism that operates the elevator and envelops the whole room. We didn't sleep at all that night. We checked in and unpacked, then left for dinner. We were not aware until we returned and were too tired to ask for a change. We thought the noise would stop with nonuse of the elevator during later hours but that didn't happen. This hotel was quite busy and we felt like generally, the service was not as good as when we stayed there a year ago. If you stay here, ask to be far away from the elevator. As for us, on our way home, we stayed at the Holiday Inn Expess near the airport in Morrisville and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Stay far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustangsuzie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I apologize that your stay was less than accommodating. It is our goal to ensure guests are happy with their accommodations. I am truly sad to see we fell short in this instance. Please contact me directly so I can bring some sense of resolution to this issue. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Platinum member and I will be awaiting your contact.

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
919-854-0001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Spent a night there, the hotel was very clean and the breakfast was pretty good, WIFI was free too. Close to NCSU but you need a car if you want to dine out, I think it's a great value to stay there, would choose again next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We welcome your return visit.

Cheers,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This HI Express is only a few years old, so it is modern, clean, and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. There were multiple events going on and several big groups, but the hotel was extremely quiet. The hotel has an indoor pool and spa. I very much enjoyed getting in the spa at the end of the day. It also has a small fitness area. The location is very convenient to NC State and the downtown area. Additionally, it is right off of I-4O, aka the Raleigh Beltline, so it was very easy to jump on the interstate and get to other parts of Raleigh and Cary. I would highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We share this philosophy with our parent company, IHG; “to create great hotels, guests love!” Thanks for the love, your recent accommodations, and high recommendations. See you soon.

Best regards,
Milton Hamilton

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel was on our list during a recent business trip on hotels we could stay. It was very close to NCSU where our meeting were held. But above and beyond that it was a wonderful hotel. It was beautiful, most importantly CLEAN, and had a wonderful staff. Bill, the front desk attendant was wonderful, he was so sweet and nice. The bathrooms were very clean and the beds slept well. I very much enjoyed my experience and will most likely change my Raleigh hotel to the Holiday Inn Express NCSU! They also have a very nice/clean indoor pool & hot tub you can relax in after a long day of sitting in meetings.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We work hard to be your choice for lodging when you visit the greater Raleigh area. Rests assure it only gets better from here. We welcome your future business and are appreciative of your pass business.

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I nit-pick rooms and I can truly say the king room we stayed in was very good. My only grievance was soap residue on the shower head and the really bright sleep button on the clock radio that was constantly on. Better than nearby Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Factual_Opinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Our goal is to please, even our toughest critics. Glad we passed. We are going to work on those small details, because as the saying goes, “the devil is in the details.” Thank you for your recent stay and your willingness to share your review.

Cheers,

Milton Hamilton

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

First of all I would like to commend the Staff. Manager Milton is absolutely outstanding. I had some concerns about both my and family arrival times, I was flying in and they were driving, also accomodations. Left message Milton immediately called me back, helped me through the process and had rooms for us upon arrival. Milton was so wonderful and his Staff feels the same way. Bill was so wonderful in finding a place for me to eat, and the place he recommended served really good food. And I really enjoyed talking to him. Milton, Bill and Sherrie made us feel right at home. Breakfast was very good, rooms very clean, all staff were the Greatest. And yes if and when I return to Raleigh that is the place I would like to stay and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I was always told that if you found a job you loved you would never work again. I find that so true. The staff and I find it so rewarding we can accommodate our guest’s needs. Your review will be discussed at our next meeting to encourage our staff to continue to do the little extras that makes a guest’s stay pleasant.

Thank you,

Milton Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We came in for the NC State Fair, and I thought that I'd booked for 2 nights, but I booked just one. They were sold-out. Milton Hamilton, the General Manager, found us a room at another Holiday Inn Express, for the same rate, booked it for us and then gave us directions. I was so impressed with him! He was polite, friendly and helpful! I will remember this hotel for the next time that I'm in Raleigh!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vict0ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

David Thomas once said, "Unselfish and noble actions are the most radiant pages in the biography of souls." Thank you for such a kind and noble review. I trust you all enjoyed NC State Fair and we hope to see you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
5.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh Crabtree Valley
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh (Crabtree Valley Mall)
7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Crabtree Valley
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Address: 3741 Thistledown Dr, Raleigh, NC 27606-4676
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: £87 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's property boasts an enjoyable country setting while being convenient to all the big city attractions and businesses. The Holiday Inn Express® Raleigh Southwest - NC State hotel is also proud to offer a 100% smoke-free facility and a location just off I-40 at exit 295. With quick access to such businesses as Siemens Training & Development Center, SAS and Cisco in the Raleigh area, our hotel offers corporate guests a quick commute to clients. We also make catching up with out-of-office work a breeze with complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, available throughout the hotel, and a Business Center that allows you to print, copy and fax. One of the best things about staying with us is that we're just a few miles from NC State. The hotel's accommodations provide a perfect location for Wolfpack fans and for those attending a concert or athletic event at the RBC Center or the Time Warner Cable Pavilion. Other area attractions include Lake Johnson Park and the North Carolina Museum of Art. Additional hotel amenities, like our indoor, heated swimming pool, whirlpool and Fitness Center, make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to fill up on sausage, bacon, eggs and our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary Express Start Breakfast while you watch one of the 52-inch cable TVs in the Great Room. We look forward to making our hotel your new home in Raleigh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At Nc State Sw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing