We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay...A/C not up to par” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Butner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just okay...A/C not up to par”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed just one night with out two grand children as there was a party at the hotel so we choose to spend the night. When I made reservations I specifically asked about couch making into bed for the boys...when we got there couch was a love seat and only big enough for one small kid!!

We also had to make up the bed...it was not pre-made even though I had told reservations kids would be using couch. Air was intermittant all night and it was quite warm. I let the front desk know in the am.

breakfast was good with lots of variety. All in all it was just an okay stay and would probably not stay again.

Room Tip: Hotel for us was a bit hard to find...had to call to find it..not much signage off of Capital Blvd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgoer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear beachgoer46,

Thank you for your candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    29
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
18
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Even my GPS couldn't get me to this hotel's location, so we tried the old fashion way of looking for road signs, which still didn't work due to the sign for the street being very small.

I called the hotel and spoke with a wonderful and very helpful front desk associate; Jessie. She was able to get us to the hotel within minutes and made us feel welcome upon our arrival. Hotels need more people like Jessie on their team! We always travel with our dog and the pet policy was explained to me and we were very happy that the pet rooms are on the 1st floor. This makes it so much easier on my family. Our 12 year old loved the breakfast as well as the outdoor pool. When our son and dog are happy, my husband and I can relax which is what we were able to do while staying at this hotel.

The only complaint was the lack of signage for the hotel from the main road, but it was explained to us that the city will not allow this due to the property not being directly off of the main road. This is out of the hands of the hotel and we understand. We will be back and now we know how to get there...

Great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

the front desk staff was amazing and we never had a problem with the room not being clean the breakfast was free and very good. There is also free wifi which was useful for our stay and free movie channels to watch a couple of good movies. The location is very good because it is both convenient to Raleigh and Wake Forest

Room Tip: dont worry about choosing a first floor room there are never noises on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hontiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

You've been to an HIE, this matches your expectations. Room was clean and nicely apportioned with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. TV provided a slightly better than average cable selection; Internet is fair, not great for a hotel, testing out at 1.8 Mbps down and 0.45 Mbps up. It's also quiet without the road noise from the nearby freeway. Staff was friendly and as other say, the breakfast lady really is kind to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel one night for a business meting. I had asked for a room near the elevator, as I have recently had spinal surgery and prefer not to walk too far at a time. Also, requested a room on a floor with an ice machine, as not all floors have one. Both of my requests were honored, when I was assigned my room. As a Priority Club member, I was also given a bottle of water, a choice of snacks, and two tickets for wine, beer or a soft drink at, to be used in the hotel bar and dining area, at check-in. My room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. They have available an excellent buffet breakfast, and will come your eggs to order. The only negative to this hotel is that it is located fairly close to a fire station and the trucks sometimes go out at night and you might be awakened. Thank goodness, all was quiet last night. However, it is located right off the beltline and convenient to many places in Raleigh. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay, as it has recently been refurbished.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

The hotel overall was very nice. The staff both am and pm were extremely friendly and informative. Recommended places to eat and visit. The only downside was that the pool was not open to the public--and main reason for the stay here. we would have gone somewhere else if we had known. We were told that there was a pool only to learn after arriving that the pool was closed because the owners had not put in a handicapped lift. Poor communication and unfortunately the staff had to endure the customers disappointment. I felt sorry for the employees because they had to take the heat. The temp was high 80's. very poor planning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Denise N,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind remarks on the staff. On the other hand, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to the unavailability of the pool. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Room had a musty, damp smell and the only way to off-set it was to run the a/c except that every setting in the a/c seemed to work at the same level, low. The room cleanliness was ok but the maid didn't pay attention to the small things, ie: dirty food tray wasn't cleaned, melted ice in ice bucket wasn't emptied, crumbs on table weren't wiped up. When we came back to our room after being out for 4 hours, the room still wasn't cleaned even though we told the maid we week leaving and the room was empty.
The walls and ceilings are paper thin so don't expect to get to sleep anytime befor midnight as guests are stomping overhead, slamming doors and children running the halls at all hours.
On the plus side, the front desk and especially the breakfast room ladies are extremely friendly and helpful.
This was my third stay at this hotel and unfortunately each time it has gotten a little worse. I think next time I will look elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbmz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear rbmz12,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It’s a great joy for all of us to hear the hotel staff's hard work and efforts been acknowledged by our guests. However, I apologize you received housekeeping service that was less than satisfactory during your stay and I am sorry to hear the rest of your stay was not as pleasant due to the smell of the room and noise from our other guests. Kindly be assured that your review will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raleigh
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Wake Forest Raleigh Area Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh/Town Of Wake Forest
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Wake Forest Raleigh North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
#23 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh Triangle Town Center
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
Address: 11400 Common Oaks Dr, Raleigh, NC 27614-7002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh/Wakefield. We are nestled near Wake Forest in the affluent Wakefield Plantation Community. We are just minutes from historic downtown Wake Forest and North Raleigh. We offer 94 tastefully appointed guestrooms that accommodate anyone from the business traveler to the vacationing family. Traveling on business? Our hotel is within minutes of the Sprint/Embarq Headquarters, Novozymes, Nomaco K-Flex, the Body Shop, and Alcan Incorporated.North Raleigh location is only 20 minutes from downtown. Here just to relax? Enjoy one of the area s beautiful golf courses at the TPC Golf Course at Wakefield, Heritage Golf Course, Wake Forest Golf Course, or Paschal Golf Course. Triangle Town Center & the WRAL soccer fields are just a short drive away. Our hotel is the closest hotel to the area s only sports and entertainment mall, The Factory. The Factory is also home for all soccer, hockey, and baseball tournaments. Want a little more excitement? Visit the Neuse River or Falls Lake and enjoy some canoeing, kayaking, fishing or just a relaxing ride along the river. Whether you are here on business or pleasure our enthusiastic friendly staff will assist you in all your traveling needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Raleigh North - Wake Forest
Raleigh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Raleigh
Holiday Inn Express Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing