We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenience is Key” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Suites Arena
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Convenience is Key”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the Comfort Suites while in town to see our first pro hockey game. We could tell that was probably the primary focus of all the guests that evening obviously because of its proximity to the arena. We were so pleased to be within walking distance, and saving $10 on parking fees!
Check in was earlier than most hotels where we have stayed (2pm) and it was quick & easy. We were on the back side of the hotel on the second floor which had a tiny view of NC State stadium and not much else. The room was clean & large with a comfortable bed including lots of pillows with varied firmness & updated linens. The bathroom was large, but we thought the space was wasted with an odd arrangement. Though larger than say a pedestal sink, the vanity was still rather small not giving a lot of space to hold a lot of toiletries. For one evening this was fine, but would perhaps pose a problem with an extended stay.
We were able to keep a few things in the mini fridge provided, but my husband thought it didn't quite cool as well as hoped with our leftovers from walking to the Backyard Bistro and the couple of sodas we bought. On our floor the drink machine only took coins ($.75) for 12 oz cans. We probably could have gone downstairs to the front desk to make change, but we didn't bother. There is also a coin operated laundry room that we didn't use.
Breakfast included the usual cold cereals & oatmeal, pastries, a small fridge containing microwave sausage biscuits & yogurt, and they also prepared what we assumed to be powdered eggs. We didn't care for the eggs, but it was still nice to have that as a breakfast option. We hear they switch to make-your-own waffles for some days.
We paid around $100 through Choice Hotels which we thought was fair considering the nice accommodations and proximity to RBC. Having free wi-fi is also a big plus! Check out took a little longer than we hoped, but that wasn't a big issue. Even though there were a few things here and there that we would change we would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheshrliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    52
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
39
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

My wife and I stayed here one night while attending a concert at the RBC Center. This hotel is a good choice if you are going to an event at the arena, the stadium, or the fairgrounds as it is within easy walking distance to all three. Area restaurants are very limited but there are a couple you can also walk to. Room was clean and even though the hotel was full, it was very quiet. They serve a breakfast which is perfectly adequate. Over all, I was pleased with this property but the rates were somewhat pricey in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabfourfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

This is our third trip to this hotel and once again we are very happy. The rooms are large, clean and we just love having the sitting area. Hard to believe you get 2 queens beds, sitting area and dining table with fridge for $89. This is by far the place to stay if you are in town for a Carolina Hurricanes game, just park the car and walk to the arena. The resturant is open again in front of the hotel to add a nice touch for dinner. They also have a nice breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank druggist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

A hotel conveniently close
Nothing special not the worst and not the best hotel I have ever stayed at, I got it on a good deal so I can’t complain, I travel a lot and I wanted to stay @ the closest hotel to the RBC Center .
And it sure is close definitely within walking distance. And there is a restaurant in the parking lot also I didn’t eat there but the menu looked good. Also a Wendy’s and a gas station just a block away.
The rooms are nice size the only thing I didn’t really like about the room was they have zero water pressure but that’s probably not even the hotels fault it took forever to take a shower lol, breakfast is the usual. And they have it looks like a nice size pool a workout room and a computer room with 2 computers for guests to use plenty of parking spaces.I would recommend it to you if you just need a place to rest you’re head for the night or have a show or game to go to so you don’t have to pay to park @ the RBC Center.
If you want a GREAT place to eat while there than go check out
Clyde Cooper's Barbecue its really good big portions and for cheap prices me and my husband spent 15$ there and got a ton of really great food and the the waiters there are super nice love it and will be back there for sure next time I come up . From the hotel or the RBC Center it’s only about a 10 min drive

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaTurtle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Stayed at this hotel with friends to attend a concert and I was very pleased with the hotel. I thought it looked really dated and kind of gloomy in the pictures on the hotel website so I was a little unsure of what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. First of all this is THE place to stay if attending an event at RBC Center or Carter-Finley stadium. It really is a very short walk to both. Also within easy walking distance is a sports/bar grill (Backyard Bistro), a Wendy's, and a convenience store. The hotel has plenty of free parking for guests. We had a 2 queen room which has 2 comfortable beds, a tiny kitchenette area with microwave, sink, cabinets, and a dining table, a sofabed, and small/older TV. While not huge it was roomy enough. Being so close to the stadium and the crowds leaving it, I was a little worried that there would be a lot of noise as people left, but it was nice and quiet. Best of all was the staff, they were genuinely friendly, quick, and helpful to customers. Free wifi worked great. All in all a very nice stay and I'd go back any day. If I had to criticize anything I'd say the carpet and TVs could use some updating, but no biggie.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbubs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed there for the WWE RAW event with my 2 boys, ages 10 and 11. The hotel room was absolutely beautiful...The continental breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kar0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night during our week in North Carolina. The hotel was ok. Our first room had a broken toilet and we had to move to a different room. The rooms were huge which is always a plus and relatively clean. The staff were pretty clueless about everything we asked about. It got to the point that we just didn't ask questions anymore because they basically didn't know any answers. Breakfast very mediocre at best. Halls in need of an update. I can sum it up by saying if you pay more than $80 a night for this room you're wasting money. Not the worst we stayed at, but needs a little work for sure. Also, not in walking distance to the fairgrounds like we were told.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationsRock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raleigh
1.1 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#17 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
1.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
2.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh
4.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Arena

Property: Comfort Suites Arena
Address: 1200 Hurricane Alley Way, Raleigh, NC 27607-3626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#13 Family Hotel in Raleigh
#21 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Arena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites(R) Arena is conveniently located across from the PNC Arena, home of the Carolina Hurricanes. This elegant all-suite hotel is just minutes from North Carolina State University, Carter-Finley Stadium, North Carolina State Fairgrounds, Governor James B. Hunt Jr. Horse Complex and North Carolina Museum of Arts. The hotel features elegant ambiance and amenities including:Spacious and elegant suites with refrigerator, microwave and sofa beds, 42" LCD Televisions with high-definition programming, Backyard Bistro Sports Bar & Grille at the hotel entrance,Free wireless high-speed Internet access,Evening receptions with beverages and appetizers every Tuesday and Wednesday, "Your Morning Breakfast" is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Suites Arena the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meats, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast.Guests of this Raleigh, NC hotel will also enjoy free local calls and a free weekday newspaper. Workout in the state of the art exercise room with cardiovascular equipment, or take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in all rooms, business center, two-line telephones with voice mail and access to copy and fax services. The two meeting rooms accommodate up to 40 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Suites Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Arena Hotel Raleigh
Comfort Suites Raleigh
Raleigh Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing