We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor mgmt service: Be careful with your wine selection”
Review of ORO

ORO
Reserve with OpenTable
ORO is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,451 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Wilmington
Description: ORO features generously portioned, sharable tapas-style comfort food re-interpreted for a modern palate.
travels4fun_10
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor mgmt service: Be careful with your wine selection”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Let's start with the positive...our bartender and server Cory was excellent. The food was good, except we had to send the steak special back because we ordered medium and received a steak cooked medium well to well. The replacement was very good; with a good black pepper sauce.
We had a very good beet salad with goat cheese. The veal ravioli was very good as well; an excellent cream sauce. Then we received our steak; which we had to send back.
In the meantime, we ordered the Mac & Cheese and it was good; creamy and well balanced cheese blend.
For dessert, we got the brownie with caramel & salt and ice cream. Very good, indeed.

From a beverage standpoint, we started with white wines, then based on the steak and dessert, we opted for the Captain's list: ZD wine.

Now comes the negative:
My husband realized our wine was a 2011; but the menu listed a 2008. He found that the 2011 was $33 less than the 2008 we ordered which was on their menu. We mentioned this to the on-site manager regarding the vintage we received and her flippant reply was....did YOU check the label...inferring it was our responsiblity to ensure the wine we ordered was what we received. Normally, when we dine and order a bottle, the server advises us if the bottle on the meun is not the one in stock with our option to select a different wine; or proceed with the year they currently have on hand. The manager, Marisa, even assisted with locating this wine.

She could have easily apologized for the oversight or even offered a discount on the wine. What was so disturbing was the LACK of customer service. It's a Wednesday night; business is not booming; and this is the way you want to treat your customers that spend over $200 ?????
What type of service reflection will this manager will have our her staff.



It will be a while before we go back. As mentioned earlier; the bartender was great. ...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travels4fun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    44
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just enjoyed our annual 'belated Mother's Day' dinner with the women of our family - had such great food and fun at Oro! Excellent selections (loved the Sesame Tuna, Chilean Sea Bass, and of course mac & cheese most of all :-), each one was excellent. Banana bread pudding is excellent too! Super friendly and attentive waiter too. I little loud if you are trying to hear around a table of 8, but still much fun! Will go again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpezzoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
321 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Everything we tried was delish!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had so much fun trying too many of the tapas. Four of us shared the veggie spring rolls, corn on the cob with a buttery miso sauce, smokey ribs with a great dipping sauce, shrimp dumplings, crispy shrimp, yummy beet salad, lamb chops, mushroom risotto, the flatbread with meatballs,
And then we topped it off with the carrot ginger cake and the to die for banana bread pudding with carmelized bananas and vanilla ice cream. None of us are large people. We were when we left!
It was worth it! Beautiful trendy restaurant with a lot more to choose from. Wish we could have managed more. Lol

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pchee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food at a Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dinner at Oro was an absolute delight, for many reasons. The restaurant itself has a great atmosphere, but it was the magnificent food that stole the show. Because of the tapas style of dining, we were able to try lots of different dishes and each new one was better than the last. (The portion sizes were also much more generous than similar restaurants that I've been to.) I'd particularly recommend the grilled corn with miso butter and the mushroom risotto.

In addition to the delicious food, there was a great collection of wines and cocktails (both alcoholic and non alcoholic) to enjoy. The Safe Sex on the Beach was a great addition to the meal and there was a wonderful array of accompanying wines to choose from.

During our meal, the chef came out to ask us if we were enjoying our evening. It was a lovely gesture that was much appreciated. He was clearly very passionate about his craft, but he was also approachable and friendly.

I hope I have another chance to go back to Oro in the near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique tapas meal”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We walked into this restaurant without reading the menu. The decor is modern, comfortable and clean. There were interesting drinks especially the adult dessert drinks. We ordered six dishes and they were bigger servings than we expected. Pork belly, veal ravioli, spicy shrimp, scallops and a dessert. The staff was very attentive and efficient. Give it a try!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 82Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ORO also viewed

 

Been to ORO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing