We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This was my 3rd trip to the property and I am looking forward to my 4th!!! The property is clean, upscale, and the location is supberb. The staff is professional, knowledgeable and so accomodating. If you are looking for an exceptional hospitality experience, search no more!

Room Tip: If you enjoy a hot bath, request a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    161
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
171
179
35
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I have stayed at this Hampton several times now. It is downtown Raleigh. You have so many things close by. It is a new hotel. It just opened in December 2012. The stay are very friendly and helpful. The manager went as far as helping me put my luggage in my car yesterday morning. I would defiantely stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is a great new hotel. It is in a great location and the rooms are very nice. There are many bars and restaraunts and bars close by. This hotel is very convenient for everything downtown. All the staff were very courteous and very customer service oriented. The parking deck is conveniently located across the street and is very well lit. The breakfast was very good as it was convenient. I stayed there the first week of January this year and look forward to going back again next year.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room on the right side of the hotel above the pool area. This is away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowfin1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
covington, GA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Fairly new hotel in downtown Raleigh. Rooms comfy. Only 1 elevator for 6 floors. Parking is across the street and $6/day rate. Continental breakfast okay, could be better. My A/C unit was noisy, not sure why................not a dysfunction, just noisy. Bathroom spacious and shower stall was large.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis4vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Awesome new hotel, love the modern decor. I highly recommend staying here. Staff was so nice. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance. It is a great location for going out and was not hard to get around town either.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikau
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel had been open barely a month when we stayed in January 2013. The decor is 'modern eclectic' with some nice touches; the lighting in public spaces and the room was particularly attractive. The room layout was a little different from the usual Hampton Inn; the bed faced a large (non-operating) window with a desk to the right and TV/fridge/mw to the left. Small, but spacious and efficient. The only part of the decor that I considered jarring was the framed sliding glass shower door - kind of low-end Lowes compared with a frameless option. But my friend, who has good taste, didn't mind it at all so take that for what it's worth.

The hotel hit all the spots as expected, good internet, channel selection, friendly, courteous staff. The hot (free) breakfast was OK. A very nice area to dine in but the preponderance of plasticware and inoperable recycling system elevated it just a few levels above a motel offering.

Fantastic location off the party strip (though our room, facing a condo building, was quiet), and convenient self parking ($6) right across the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikauTrampr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel instead of my usual hotel in town to see what this new hotel had to offer. It is in a section of Raleigh that is on the edge of "Downtown" and the area has been nicely renovated over the past few years. Having a new hotel in the area is a pretty good idea. There are several restaurants in walking distance (Sullivans Steak House, Mellow Mushroom, etc) and this area has a decent night life nearby.

The facility themselves are very nice. Clean (it's new), high ceilings, nice furniture. I had a King Deluxe room that had a nice wet bar, chair ottoman, and desk. One weird thing, the bathroom lights wouldn't work UNLESS you flipped a switch by the Room Door first. This is very confusing and I heard someone else was having the same question in another room as they didn't think their bathroom lights worked.

The indoor pool was closed while I was there but seemed nice.

Check in is on a side street and there is not really a "dedicated" loading zone but there is an area where one call pull over and unload. Parking is in a parking garage across the street from the hotel, and you need the hotel key to enter the garage so check in first. Currently you will pay $6 a day for this privilege. Something you won't have at other Hamptons typically, but this is in downtown where parking is limited.

2 issues with my stay:

- I returned late in the PM after attending a local sporting event and as I got to my room on the second floor I smelled smoke. At first I wasn't sure but after entering my room you could smell smoke coming from the vent near the door. Not cigarette smoke but the smell of something that was burning. I called the front desk and they sent maintenance up. Another guest came out of their room with the same issue as we were in the hall talking. I went back to my room and I never got another call or update, which was kind of unsettling when you are trying to go to sleep....in a hotel.....where you just had the smell of smoke flowing into your room. (I later wondered if the smell came from the Restaurant across the street that just burned down. Who knows, I'm not sure the hotel ever came to a conclusion)

- There are train tracks directly behind the hotel. At around 2AM on a Thursday morning it came through horns blazing. I am interested if this is a nightly event. If so, I would take this into consideration before staying here again.

Overall, I did like this hotel. It felt modern and was a nicer Hampton Inn, even in a standard room. If you have to be downtown and can get a room at a "Hampton" price and not a "downtown" price I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the Train tracks (if that is possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sw0rdf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
1.0 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#23 of 86 in Raleigh
150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 86 in Raleigh
67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Address: 600 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC 27603-1589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing