We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pizza”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Original New York Pizza
Ranked #996 of 1,451 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A very good pizza!! One of the best I have had. They have a great two slice special for about $8.00!!

Customer service was good at the counter... However the angry guys that make the pizza is something different. They will not even give you a smile or a hello for anything in this world.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Good Special!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We used to drive all the way over to Cary to go to NY Pizza... so glad there is one in North Raleigh now! The pizza is great! We always get the Daily Special of two slices (one topping) and a drink for only $5.99. The only slightly annoying thing is that is NOT the special on some days (Tue and Thu). But even when not on special, it is a pretty good deal.
It is a pretty small place, but in the evening they seem to do a lot of take-out, so there is room to sit. Lots of TVs playing ESPN. A (very) small bar, too.
The staff at this location all seem nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raidersFanBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have eaten at their other locations for a long time and so glad there is now one in north Raleigh. Love the pizza, nice crust, not too thick, with good sauce and toppings. Even when they are really busy, it doesn't take too long to get your food and there are lots of TVs to watch sports while you wait. The staff is always friendly. Only time we have ever had a problem, apparently our pizza was wrong so they had to make another one and it took a while. When I asked about the wait, they explained it was almost ready. When we left, the person in charge said he wanted to make it up to us and gave us a free pizza the next time we came in. We didn't expect it but he was adamant that he owed us a pizza so we accepted and enjoyed another delicious pizza on our next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanPinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Overall solid performance. Personally, I am not a bit fan of the pre-made slices that just get re-heated when you order in, so we order full pies or our personal favorite "panettos". Definitely recommend their hawaiian, meatball, and spinach! Also love their garlic knots. You gotta enjoy your garlic though since it is abundant! :)

Their salads are pretty sub-par, pre-packaged/refridgerated containers. Those need some work. Haven't tried their wings and I prefer the panettos over the calzones.

This is a great little neighborhood pizza joint and certainly better than most of the quick-service chains. Show them some love and stop in for a slice or two!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Original New York Pizza also viewed

 

Been to The Original New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing