We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Awesome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaux's Restaurant

Margaux's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Margaux's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 1,440 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$31 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Strickland
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Margaux's continues to hit the mark time and time again. I can't think of a better place to go for excellent food and an excellent overall experience. Whether you sit inside or out on their great patio, it's just a great time to be had. Their drink menu is soooo good, the appetizers are always excellent and change continually, and of course the food is awesome. We have always had great service and great food in our experiences, and last Friday night was certainly no exception. One of my typical entrees is the tuna, and it was cooked to perfection (rare of course), and literally melted in your mouth. We absolutely love going there and will always go there. You couldn't ask for anything more. It's just a fun place to be to have an enjoyable dinner with friends or family or both. Ya gotta go there!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    53
    23
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal at Margaux's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

What an incredible meal! Thank you, Chef!

We had two entrees, the Duck Breast and the Beef Short Ribs. I cannot say enough good things about how perfectly the duck was prepared (rare, just as requested!) and the short ribs were braised so well they just melted in our mouths. I have to especially point out that I am VERY picky about sauteed spinach and this was the best I've ever had - I stole it from my daughter's plate!

Chrissy recommended a perfect bottle of wine to match our meal and that just rounded things off fabulously.

WE WILL DEFINITELY RECOMMEND OTHERS and WILL BE BACK!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Locally owned restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

If you're looking for a great locally owned restaurant in Raleigh, I strongly suggest Margaux's. The menu changes seasonally, but you will always find something for everyone. The decor is inviting and comfortable. The "3 Course Prix Fixe" menu is truly a delightful price performer, and has a great selections from each category. They always have a variety of special events, like the "Annual Lobster Fest". Most Fridays and Saturday they have live entertainment. A great culinary and entertainment destination.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colethianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
442 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Burned my mouth on an appetizer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Truffled Wild Mushroom Rabbit Pierogis with herb lemon seared loin & dijon cream. Absolutely delicious, but burned the roof of my mouth on the first bite.

Had a Dragon Roasted Lobster Tail with sauteed Jumbo Lump Crab N Carolina Shrimp Cake,
spicy mayo, sweet soy & cucumber salad. Too much sauce and too little lobster for a dish listed at $25.

Fruit de Mer is good: A Chilled Shellfish Platter of 4 Oysters, 4 Steamed Old Bay Shrimp in the Rough,
Jumbo Lump Crabmeat with cocktail sauce & lemon. Prices at $17 per person.

Can't beat the $20 three course prix fixe menu available every Monday night and Early Byrd Hours Tues-Fri 5:30p-6:30p: $19.95 Per Personality. After 6:30p: $27.95PP.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I always enjoy going to Margaux's for both the food and the ambiance. Love the new patio area. The prix fixe menu offerings are an outstanding value with high quality.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Margaux's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margaux's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing