We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Ed's City Market Restaurant

Big Ed's City Market Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Worth the wait to get in on a Sunday . Great buzz about it, lovely waitress and fab food. Good value for money

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    153
    30
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow, real down home southern food...affordable prices. Good coffee, red eye gravy, grits done right and the biscuits were terrific. Everything, fresh, hot, authentic with local ingredients. Went for breakfast and wish I had the time to get back there again for lunch. Molasses on the table, cool farm tools hanging from the ceiling. worth walking a few blocks out of your way for. The service was great, friendly and just attentive enough. Located in the cool City Market area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dekenney59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very casual, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I took my two young boys to eat at Big Ed's one morning before school, and we will definitely be back. The food was excellent - not fancy, but just good - and the environment is casual and very family friendly. The french toast was delicious, the biscuits were good, the scrambled eggs with hoop cheese were very good, too. The staff was super friendly and nice to my kids, too. I'm glad we found it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leighcecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankee in the south
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thought I might run into the govenor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is one of those places you love to find, full of history, good chow, blue plate specials, lively waitresses, all of which explain why Big Ed's is still going strong since 1958. At one table some girlfriends out for lunch, at the next some politicians talking shop. It's a fun place to eat. This is an old warehouse in a historic market district with cobblestone roads, artifacts of days gone by, Civil War memorabilia, and food that is tasty and served up fast. There are, as southerners say, 'beaucoups' of breakfast choices, served whenever. The lunch selections are right from grandma's kitchen. My wife went for a breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon, home fries, an excellent biscuit with a squeeze bottle of treakle near by. I opted for the prime rib sandwhich; it was tasty, perfectly cooked, and generous. A side and dessert choice was included in the modest price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful breakfast in downtown Raleigh! Try the country ham. Good red eye gravy, too. Not the best biscuits I've ever had, but not bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pksWaukesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Ed's City Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Ed's City Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing