We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and beer selection great, okay service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raleigh Times Bar

The Raleigh Times Bar
Ranked #63 of 1,440 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food and beer selection great, okay service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Raleigh Times was kinda the definitive Raleigh bar for a long time - local, with amazing food, great beer, and fantastic service. Think hipster. As they've expanded, they've stepped away from that a little bit. They have a tendency to serve much slower, and while the food and beer is still great, it does tend to affect the experience a bit.

Packed on virtually every day of the week, it's a great atmosphere, and if you go to the above rooftop seating you can have a wonderful evening relaxing with some drinks or eating a late appetizer. They also have 4 bars, so if one seems too backed up, you can try your luck in one of the other rooms. In addition, it's central to many locations, so you can start or end an evening here quite conveniently.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    134
    41
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stick with the beer...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Bloody mary is premade..could not have it witout horseradish...best part of it was the vegetables...bacon in it was good but greasy...asked for draft got bottled beer. $11.50 burger overcooked..egg was overcooked and rubbery...bacon on burger not cooked..lol go figure...waiter could not answer any questions... including history of place, things on menu, or even what upstairs was like... bathroom smelled... you could see the mold under the rim... this is a dressed up dive bar at best....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mslyrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good burgers - Fish Tacos where pretty good could have used some salsa or hot sauce. Had a good selection of beers and the bartender was cool. Good bar food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, average menu, average service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went while visiting family, and while the rooftop seating was gorgeous and the atmosphere was fun, the service and food were lackluster. They were serving a limited menu, meaning about 4 choices for entrees. Between us we ordered most of the selections and all of them were too salty. Our server was obviously spread thin, but we barely had any service to speak of...it was disappointing considering my family said this is usually not the case with this restaurant. I'd be willing to try it again, but it was not the high spot of my vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m_dye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for drinks and outdoor people-watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you're looking for a great place to sit outside and enjoy the commotion of downtown Raleigh, while drinking a few cold libations, maybe a couple of snacks, this is the place to go.

The atmosphere is what makes this place great. I was looking for a place to have a couple drinks and a snack, and ended up here on a Wednesday night. We got an outside table, and the great part about the location is that you're seated on the sidewalk, right in the middle of all the downtown pedestrian traffic. Dogs, smokers, walkers, joggers, bicyclists, and traffic are on all sides of you.

The food wasn't bad - I got the Cajun Crab Cakes, and they were good. Not what I'd call Cajun, necessarily, but certainly not bad. They have a great beer list, too, with several local craft beer options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarBuilder23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raleigh Times Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Raleigh Times Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing