We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heritage district”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Raleigh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2013

How very happy I was to discover the Oakwood during a recent business visit -- a welcome respite from the standardization of less than exciting hotels! The hosts cld not have been more welcoming. We were most appreciative of their prompt action to move us to an upgraded back-facing room room when an unexpected water main break on the street in front left crews working late. The bedrooms with modern baths, are beautifully appointed with antiques and the gas fireplaces in each, a rare treat! The Inn is within easy walking distance to town, and the many surrounding streets of heritage homes make this a terrific destination for those who appreciate architectural treasures from Raleigh's past!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixieCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2013

Came to town for business and really appreciated the wonderful hospitality of Gary and Doris. The house was beautiful and really made you feel like you had walked into another place and time. Especially enjoyed relaxing by the fireplace in my room after a long day of work. A wonderful location with a short walk to the downtown area where we got to enjoy free museums and amazing pubs and restaurants. I would highly recommend a stay at he Oakwood Inn to anyone going to the Raleigh area.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed during the Historic Oakwood Candlelight Tour and had veryenjoyable time!
Gary and Doris are wonderful hosts, the food was excellent and the neighboorhood is beautiful.
Our room was romantic, the porch out front is a great place to watch the world go by and you can't find nicer people than those in Raliegh, NC.

We will definately go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are terrific - though the bathroom in the back first floor is - WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have stayed at the Oakwood Inn 5-6 times in the past years when we have visited Raleigh, the most recent stay was after Christmas 2012, and have always had a very enjoyable time there. The rooms are always immaculate and each one has it's own particular charm. The breakfasts there are always delicious as well as filling.The owners there are always eager to supply information on the sites to see and where the best places to eat are. If you can catch them when they are not attending to the needs of their guests, they are wonderful people to talk to, and we have, on more than one occasion, enjoyed their company on the front porch watching the beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wulffhowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was great. The room was for the most part very period and the whole house was beautiful. The breakfast was simply awesome and much care was taken to avoid allergies and accommodate different palates. There was surprisingly not much noise given its urban location save the birds in the morning that were great to wake up to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great place to stay. Our first stay at a B&B. We were very pleased with the accommodations and the excellent breakfast. Very well located. Close to several fine restaurants. Easy parking. We would stay here again when we return to Raleigh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcohen8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The rooms are beautiful. The breakfast is good traditional "American" fare. The neighborhood is safe and lovely, and you can easily walk to the downtown area.

The last time I was there (2009) I would have given it 5 stars. However, on my most recent stay, I was disappointed with the service. They didn't replace any of the toiletries or washcloths during the 5 nights I was there. The woman working there acted annoyed when I asked for a fresh towel. The bedspread and rug in the room seemed worn and in need of TLC. It seems like the hotel is in need of some revitalization and attention to detail, which could bring it back to 5-stars.

Another reviewer mentioned it smelling like dogs... I didn't notice that at all. The dogs stayed in a private part of the house, shut off from the public areas and guest rooms. I didn't see any dog hair, nor did I smell the dogs except when the innkeeper invited me into her office for 30 seconds to pay my bill.

Room Tip: The Polk room is the prettiest IMO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.9 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#35 of 87 in Raleigh
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 411 N. Bloodworth St., Raleigh, NC 27604-1223
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Raleigh
Price Range: £95 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing