We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More expensive for average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Ranked #47 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Asheville, NC, United States
1 review
“More expensive for average experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great location. Higher rates than many. Average room. Thumping AC compressor. No AARP or AAA discount applied on request (a Tuesday). Nice bath. No highway noise. Near hospital if visiting family there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.com.

We do refer to our hotel as "Raleigh's hidden treasure," b/c we are centrally located to lots of things to see and do in the area.

We usually sell out on Tuesdays and Wednesdays, that is why our rates are higher than normal. Once a certain number of rooms have been sold, AAA and AARP are not bookable.

I am sorry to hear that you had some AC issues while staying at our hotel. The next time an issue arises, please notify the front desk agent, and they will send Maintenance to come and look at it.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Raleigh.


Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
(919) 828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    127
    112
    71
    47
See reviews for
165
101
43
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were in Raleigh for a concert at Walnut Creek. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. We arrived an hour ahead of check out time, so our room was not ready. She called housekeeping to see if there was an ETA. She was told it would be 10 minutes so she told us to just make ourselves at home if we wanted to wait. Sure enough 10 minutes later, she came over to tell us our room was ready. We got to the room and while it was nothing spectacular, it was fine for a one night stay. While there was really nothing wrong with it, it could have used some attention; the AC unit worked fine but was loud. There were scuff marks on the wallpaper and the wood on the bottom of the entrance door was peeling off like maybe there had been some water damage at some point. The bathroom and amenities provided were very nice. Great water pressure and hot water. The pool area is very nice and the choices for the free breakfast were surprisingly nice; eggs, sausage and potatoes along with bagels, muffins, waffle maker, cereal, fruit and various juices and milk. We are staying there again in August, so the minor blemishes in the room appearance didn't not deter us, so don't let it deter you either. The pluses outweigh the minuses.

Room Tip: Ground floor hallway had a lot of foot traffic, so I would think those rooms are probably a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The best experience ever with a Commerical Lodging Facility. I managed a Military Lodging Facility in then West Germany for more than 10 tens in the '80s and '90s. Certainly your operation is one that I would model any other place that is used for the same service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank P5899OIjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great service but poor room conditions. The checkin service was best ever but the room had old carpet, wallpaper and the wifi was weak at times. The breakfast hot items were poor quality. The location was close to good basic shopping and friends

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank twlb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I registered 3 ladies, 1 diabetic and except for the small closet space and the air conditioner got very noisy then blew hot air at night the stay was acceptable. There was a variety of breakfast food items that made the complimentary breakfast fast and good. The staff was friendly and eager to help. After the long drive from Miami Gardens, Florida the front desk staff was very efficient and prompt to greet us which was much appreciated. We were so tired we did not want to tarry any length of time to register. Being a diabetic to be located across the hall from an ice machine to be able to keep insulin supplies cold was a plus. I Hotel landscape was beautiful and clean. To wake up and start the day amid the beautiful landscape and the cleanliness of the rooms and common areas of the hotel was a welcome change in my travels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 29marciad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was travelling on business. Room accommodations and "tech" was fine. There is a mall in walking distance with anything one might need. Even Trader Joes for great fresh foods. I was also able to get an early check-in which was extremely helpful since I was to go on an interview at 2pm. Although this room was close to the staff doors, it was quiet enough and everyone was professional, quiet as they went back and forth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 895kathrynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The rooms at this hotel needs updating. I could see that the lobby was done. My room had a funky odor. I noticed water stains on the ceiling (2 spots) and one of the lights in bathroom was out the entire time of my stay (3 nights). Can't believe that housekeeping did not report it. I did not feel like being a complainer. I'm sure that management was aware of conditions because it looked like they try to cover up the water stains and did it very poorly. I had a bad experience at another Hampton in in January and been using other hotel chains. I thought I would give Hilton another try and was extremely disappointed :(

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton M, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms.

We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Villani
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
919-828-1813
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
#25 of 86 in Raleigh
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Raleigh - North Raleigh - Wake Towne Drive
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton North Raleigh/Midtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
#24 of 86 in Raleigh
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown

Property: Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown
Address: 1001 Wake Towne Dr, Raleigh, NC 27609-7850 (Formerly Hampton Inn Raleigh - North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#32 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Raleigh-Midtown. Where there is always a lot to do!! Stay at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, and you'll be in a town with a diverse lineup of activities. Love history? You'll find museums, historic homes, neighborhoods and historic districts dating back to Sir Walter Raleigh's time. Art fan? Check out the NC Museum of Natural Sciences or any one of our 20 museums. Do you prefer to watch sports? Professional and college teams such as NC State University keep balls of all sorts aloft here in North Carolina. There is always a sporting event or a great performance at the PNC Arena. It's all just a few minutes from our hotel in Raleigh. When you're ready for the perfect North Carolina afternoon; head to one of the state's gorgeous golf courses. We're known for our beautiful fairways and lush greens. Or if wine is more your thing, venture to the Piedmont Region, where you'll find some of the state's best-known vineyards. And, of course, Durham, Chapel Hill and the Research Triangle Park are nearby, too. So come check into the Hampton Inn hotel in Raleigh-Midtown, a city with a royal past and dynamic future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Raleigh Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Raleigh - North Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing