We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but most of the staff people are great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel must have really been something special when it was first built - a round hotel within walking distance of the state capitol and downtown! It is still convenient to state capitol buildings,as well as many restaurants and bars but it is showing its age in places, while it sometimes seems to provide a resting place for folks who simply want to hang out a while. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. Beds are comfortable and clean and bathtubs have been refinished; it's just too bad that's so obvious! Room shape is in keeping with the shape of the hotel and take some getting used to, but chatting with and watching the omelet flipping cook in the restaurant in the morning should put everything in perspective! And when you hear the trains' whistles in the night, consider that downtown-hotel-ambiance. :-) .Hotel parking is free and very convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms up higher may mean the train sounds are less perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandygrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

My hubby and I reserved through hotels.com. The people hanging in the lobby were shady at best which should have prepared us for what we were about to see in the rooms. Got to the room. Carpet stained and falling apart all around the room. A tattered ironing board propped up in the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen. The bathtub was stained from years of scummy feet in it. My husband and I couldn't get out fast enough. So, went to the front desk. VERY nice man, David, was apologetic and gave us another room. UGH!!! Go to other room. WORSE! Huge holes in "comforter" stained carpet, used water bottle from previous occupants on ac unit. The mattress and box springs in both rooms were exposed, the fitted sheets barely covered the mattress and the box springs weren't even covered. We called hotels.com who gave us a FULL refund in 5 minutes. PLEASE be warned...do not stay in this filthy rat hole. Not worth the views, location, etc....you may bring home a few friends in the form of bed bugs and fleas!! We were only going to be there for one night and couldn't do it. We have never walked out on a booking before and we have stayed in some dives!! But this took the cake. Heed our warning!

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottsdaleHotmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great location, walking distance to restaurants and bars. Clean hotel, nothing fancy. Free parking in a garage under the hotel. Decent hotel bar with a very nice bartender. Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable. Great hotel for the price, other hotels just a few blocks away are much more expensive, so stay here instead!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeensan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I rate this hotel above average solely because of the price/convenience to downtown. The round tower design means all the rooms are pie-shaped, so they can feel cramped, especially the bathrooms. But it is half the price of the competition, and just as convenient. I've stayed here a dozen times over 20 yrs, and have never had a bad or dirty room. And they offer free parking!

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant. Much better food is available just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeksvillejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We booked a 2 night stay with Orbitz and the hotel was listed as a 3 star hotel; totally inaccurate, 1 star maybe. The carpet was wet when we checked in, there had been a pool which was now totally in disrepair, the beds were so soft and when we looked at the bed springs they were filthy and we just felt the entire room was dirty. We checked in and checked back out and asked for a refund due to conditions, and they would only refund 1 night. Do not book there if you have children or not, the place was filthy, I take back the 1 star.

Room Tip: Ask what star quality it is rated and why?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyjune7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The room reaked of smoke even though we got a nonsmoking room. Otherwise, pretty clean. Breakfast was really, really good even if the service was really slow. Its a dingy hotel, could use some updating but for the price I got it at I really shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel was nice, clean, and convenient to downtown. Close enough to walk to the amphitheater and lots of bars/restaurants within walking distance. We stayed one night and saved a significant amount of money staying here versus the other hotels downtown. Unless you have to have a luxury type room, I don't see paying the difference - our room was just perfect for an overnight stay. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel or use the wifi. But hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Bill was correct when we checked out. No complaints here.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VaPrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#35 of 87 in Raleigh
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
1.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#20 of 87 in Raleigh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range: £83 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing