We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Weekend”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Clarion was a very nice hotel the only thing was that we could not get the room as cool as we would have like to ,and we were on the 18th floor so that might of had something to do with it but we had a great time and the bed that we had was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Jeff B,

I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us! We are fortunate to have a great location in downtown Raleigh with wonderful views. We are in the process of a complete renovation, including new AC units. Sorry you missed having a new one during this stay. Please come back to visit us again and let us know how you like our brand new hotel.

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    159
    97
    43
    45
See reviews for
74
101
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A dump! I used to stay here allot, but no more. And I will say it is affiliated with hotel chain that I have reward points with! For the last 2 years pretty slow degradation of property, but now inexcusable! Checked into room to find carpet worn horribly, circle in center of carpet where part cut out and replaced, AC loud, to a disturbing point, and did not cool!!! Elevators reek of a mildew smell. I did see a sign "under renovation" but not sure where. Last time I was there in March same issue with AC/Heat and I had it worked on by maintenance. Still did not work well. Upstairs lounge restroom stall walls falling off. Do Not Stay Here!!!!

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Wellheart,

Thank you for your feedback! We are a new company that recently purchased the hotel and we really are in the middle of a renovation in which everything will be new- every inch of the guest rooms, lobby, elevators, exterior, and restaurant and lounge. The part we just completed that took months, was installing new bathrooms. Within a month we will have all new furniture, carpet, and a lot new in the rooms. All other areas will be completed in the next 3 months. There was a lot of work in advance on design and construction we have been working on. I hope you will try us again when we complete the renovation and tell us what you think of our new hotel. We are excited to be getting a great new hotel.

I really appreciate you letting us know about your stay and am sure you will have a great experience when you return to Raleigh.

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Pros: location, renovated rooms, friendly staff, free covered parking, views, price
Cons: tiny bathroom, no free breakfast

We had never been to Raleigh before and were unsure about what areas to stay in, so we opted for downtown between three breweries and a bar we were planning on hitting that night. The price was good when purchased through Hipmunk - $83 - which was very reasonable. The reviews were extremely mixed about this hotel, but we were delighted.

The location was perfect. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to - which is key when visiting breweries. The parking was great and we were even able to park right outside the elevator - making loading and unloading very easy.

Our room seemed to be renovated - at least the decor was modern and it was very comfortable. The view from our room was really nice looking out over the city. The A/C worked well, the bed was comfortable enough, and the room was clean.

My only issue was that the bathroom was TINY. You couldn't even turn around in them. I mean, really small. Just be aware.

If we ever come through Raleigh again, we will be staying here. It was the nicest place we stayed on our whole 12-day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up so you can take advantage of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDevColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear MissDevColo,

Thank you for sharing what a wonderful stay you had with us! I appreciate your feedback. We are fortunate to have such spectacular views from all our rooms. Our location could not be more perfect to be able to walk to so much in the area, with great restaurants, bars, museums and so much more. Please come back and stay with us again on your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My family and I had to find a new hotel in Raleigh very last minute and we chose Clarion to go with! We were nothing but happy with the hotel altogether. There are a few blemishes here and there, but nothing that's not expected in a hotel. Room was clean and very spacious. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location is perfect and the views from your room are beautiful if you enjoy seeing downtown Raleigh from above! Only downfall I would say is it is near a railroad so you sometimes hear trains going through. I would definitely recommend this place to somebody!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear krr08,

I am happy you enjoyed your visit with us! You cannot beat the view we have from every room and see for miles all that Raleigh has to offer. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the great staff we have here and they made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to returning to stay with us on your next trip to the area.

Thank you-

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Only stayed for one night, the staff was extremely friendly. The hotel itself had a "musty/old" smell. The bathrooms were clean, but it was more of a $65-70 stay not a $100-120. I would definitely go back if the prices were a bit lower. We were in town for a concert, we were only really there to shower and sleep. The old smell upset my allergies though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meghanleigh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear meghanleigh_8

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit with us! We are in the process of totally renovating the property, and will soon have everything new in our rooms. We just finished installation of new bathroom fixtures, and in a couple of months will complete the entire process of new furniture and furnishings in all our rooms. Our public areas are also being totally remodeled. We hope you will try us again and let us know what you think of our new hotel!

Regards,

Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel is older so it looks a little run down from the outside, but it's nice on the inside and rooms were clean. Staff was very friendly. Lots of parking and restaurants close by. Great value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandra Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Sandra Y,

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the staff, cleanliness and our great location in downtown Raleigh! We are currently going through a renovation of the entire property, both inside and outside. We will be upgrading the exterior to have a contemporary and welcoming look. All rooms and public spaces will also be totally new. I greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you come visit us again in a couple of months to see our new look.

Regards,

Clarion Raleigh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 85 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
1.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#26 of 85 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 85 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing