We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pleasant surprise"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this property for a family wedding which was being held there. We weren't sure about it since everyone was saying it was an older property and " a bit worn" but we were pleasantly surprised. There is free parking right in the building on the lower floors. The front desk staff was extremely nice and helpful as was all the other people who work there. We asked to be away from the elevator and we were. The view from the room was beautiful. We were on the 18th floor and we could see the whole city below. At night it was also very pretty. The room was a nice size but the bathroom was very small. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. The wedding reception was in the Top of the Tower which is on the 20th floor. We had a very good experience at the wedding and eating in the restaurant another night. We were within walking distance to many restaurants, churches and the Capital Building. Over all it was a very nice experience and the personnel were extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MommamurphyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear MommaMurphyFl,

Thank you for staying with us at the Raleigh Clarion Downtown! I am pleased you enjoyed the staff, the rooms, our Top of the Tower Restaurant and all we have to offer. We have the best views of downtown Raleigh and miles beyond. Happy to hear you also loved our location and all you could walk to around the area.

Please come back again to stay with us when you return to Raleigh.

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Located in the heart of downtown Raleigh, the location cannot be beat! The property is a bit worn and the renovations planned and underway will help tremendously. Still, the facility is an old circular design, the bathrooms are small by modern standards, and it needs lots of TLC. My room was clean and comfortable. There was plenty of free parking - something I don't often find in center city hotels. While there is a no smoking policy on the property, this doesn't appear to have always been the case as there was sort of a lingering stale cigarette smell. The pool was closed and there was no complementary breakfast included with the room. The room charge was reasonable and I slept well. I won't rule out staying here on my next trip to Raleigh, but I would return for the location and not necessarily for the quality of the property.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Mary C,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback! We are lucky to have a wonderful location and great views. We are in the middle of a major renovation, with almost every inch of this property getting improved. Everything will be brand new in the rooms in the next couple of months. The lobby, restaurant/lounge and exterior will also be undergoing major renovation. We hope you come back and let us know what you think of our new hotel!

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Clarion was a very nice hotel the only thing was that we could not get the room as cool as we would have like to ,and we were on the 18th floor so that might of had something to do with it but we had a great time and the bed that we had was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Jeff B,

I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us! We are fortunate to have a great location in downtown Raleigh with wonderful views. We are in the process of a complete renovation, including new AC units. Sorry you missed having a new one during this stay. Please come back to visit us again and let us know how you like our brand new hotel.

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A dump! I used to stay here allot, but no more. And I will say it is affiliated with hotel chain that I have reward points with! For the last 2 years pretty slow degradation of property, but now inexcusable! Checked into room to find carpet worn horribly, circle in center of carpet where part cut out and replaced, AC loud, to a disturbing point, and did not cool!!! Elevators reek of a mildew smell. I did see a sign "under renovation" but not sure where. Last time I was there in March same issue with AC/Heat and I had it worked on by maintenance. Still did not work well. Upstairs lounge restroom stall walls falling off. Do Not Stay Here!!!!

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Wellheart,

Thank you for your feedback! We are a new company that recently purchased the hotel and we really are in the middle of a renovation in which everything will be new- every inch of the guest rooms, lobby, elevators, exterior, and restaurant and lounge. The part we just completed that took months, was installing new bathrooms. Within a month we will have all new furniture, carpet, and a lot new in the rooms. All other areas will be completed in the next 3 months. There was a lot of work in advance on design and construction we have been working on. I hope you will try us again when we complete the renovation and tell us what you think of our new hotel. We are excited to be getting a great new hotel.

I really appreciate you letting us know about your stay and am sure you will have a great experience when you return to Raleigh.

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Pros: location, renovated rooms, friendly staff, free covered parking, views, price
Cons: tiny bathroom, no free breakfast

We had never been to Raleigh before and were unsure about what areas to stay in, so we opted for downtown between three breweries and a bar we were planning on hitting that night. The price was good when purchased through Hipmunk - $83 - which was very reasonable. The reviews were extremely mixed about this hotel, but we were delighted.

The location was perfect. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to - which is key when visiting breweries. The parking was great and we were even able to park right outside the elevator - making loading and unloading very easy.

Our room seemed to be renovated - at least the decor was modern and it was very comfortable. The view from our room was really nice looking out over the city. The A/C worked well, the bed was comfortable enough, and the room was clean.

My only issue was that the bathroom was TINY. You couldn't even turn around in them. I mean, really small. Just be aware.

If we ever come through Raleigh again, we will be staying here. It was the nicest place we stayed on our whole 12-day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up so you can take advantage of the view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissDevColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear MissDevColo,

Thank you for sharing what a wonderful stay you had with us! I appreciate your feedback. We are fortunate to have such spectacular views from all our rooms. Our location could not be more perfect to be able to walk to so much in the area, with great restaurants, bars, museums and so much more. Please come back and stay with us again on your next trip to the area.

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My family and I had to find a new hotel in Raleigh very last minute and we chose Clarion to go with! We were nothing but happy with the hotel altogether. There are a few blemishes here and there, but nothing that's not expected in a hotel. Room was clean and very spacious. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Location is perfect and the views from your room are beautiful if you enjoy seeing downtown Raleigh from above! Only downfall I would say is it is near a railroad so you sometimes hear trains going through. I would definitely recommend this place to somebody!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krr08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear krr08,

I am happy you enjoyed your visit with us! You cannot beat the view we have from every room and see for miles all that Raleigh has to offer. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the great staff we have here and they made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to returning to stay with us on your next trip to the area.

Thank you-

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Only stayed for one night, the staff was extremely friendly. The hotel itself had a "musty/old" smell. The bathrooms were clean, but it was more of a $65-70 stay not a $100-120. I would definitely go back if the prices were a bit lower. We were in town for a concert, we were only really there to shower and sleep. The old smell upset my allergies though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meghanleigh_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear meghanleigh_8

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your visit with us! We are in the process of totally renovating the property, and will soon have everything new in our rooms. We just finished installation of new bathroom fixtures, and in a couple of months will complete the entire process of new furniture and furnishings in all our rooms. Our public areas are also being totally remodeled. We hope you will try us again and let us know what you think of our new hotel!

Regards,

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#32 of 86 in Raleigh
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
0.6 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
1.2 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#19 of 86 in Raleigh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown

Address: 320 Hillsborough St, Raleigh, NC 27603-1786 (Formerly Clarion Hotel State Capital)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly rebranded to the Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown, you will find all of the modern conveniences within our historic building located in the heart of Downtown Raleigh. Just blocks from NC's State Capital, Raleigh's Convention Center, the performing arts, fine dining and nightlife. Our hotel has completed its full renovation including guestrooms, restaurant and lounge, business center, fitness center, exterior entrance and all function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Raleigh
Clarion State Capital
Clarion Raleigh
Raleigh Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing