We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lacks hot water; not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is in a good location, but it was the worst Marriott hotel we have ever stayed in. About 30 minutes after my husband showered, I took mine. The water turned cold half way through. I had to wait until the maintenance man came to adjust the water heater. He gave no apology, and tried to tell us we had no business taking two showers the same morning. "These heaters are too small to accommodate more than one shower." I couldn't believe it. On top of that, the room did not seem especially clean. We have family in Raleigh so will be visiting often, but will never stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Tell them you need to have more than one person per day taking a shower, so they can adjust your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason h, Manager at Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Barbara,

I want to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experiance at the Residence Inn Midtown. We are looking into the hot water issue that you reported. We value you as a guest and appreciate you staying with us. Please feel free to contact me with further questions or comments. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I checked into this hotel around 12:30 in the morning, thus we were not the most pleasant guests when we arrived. I have to give kudos the manager on duty, Tessa Prentice, who dealt with both of us with patience of a saint. My husband found a cheaper rate on-line and Tessa patiently waited for us to book the reservation on-line at the discounted rate. When we arrived at our room we were pleasantly surprised. It was a spacious double bed, that's what the discounted rate afforded us, with a kitchenette, two tvs and a very nice bathroom. All in all we were very impressed. We have officially converted from Hilton/Hampton loyalists to Marriot lovers.

Room Tip: Please note this property is set up like an apartment complex with two levels. You may want to opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smileshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was my second visit to this RI, it is an older establishment. Was there for the week and has one issue and was resolved by the GM. The maintenance guy sent to room to fix TV did not have a clue, but talked to GM and he sent Chief Engineer as they call him and he fixed the issue. Food at Buffet is average but the service is very good. They try hard to please from Front Desk to Buffet servers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Let me first state that I am a Marriott Platinum Member and I would never stay at this hotel after checking in on November 19, 2013. I took a shower only to be greeted by the biggest Cockroach I had ever seen in my life on my bed. I grabbed a glass and plate to capture it to show proof of the bug infestation; thereafter, I took a picture to show proof. When I confronted the front desk staff, they tried telling me it was a water bug; but, it was a Florida cockroach. I immediately checked out after arguing with the front desk staff members who explained that they were going to charge my card. I told them that I was going to check into the Marriot downtown (500 Fayetteville St) and to have the manager call me. Two weeks later no call; so, I wrote a letter to Marriott Customer service where they offered 5,000 points to resolve the situation; but, I paid 25,000 points to stay at the Marriott downtown after having to leave from the cockroach infestation from a morning which started 18 hours prior to my arrival (at 3:00AM). 5,000 points is an insult and I did not ever respond to their email. So, I am writing this review to let everyone know to never stay at this hotel. It was the worst experience, as a business traveler, I have ever had. This is coming from someone who stays at least 100 nights per year in hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dj4OSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the older style RI and has the outside stairs. Ugh! Further there was a set of stone stairs and one of them not only is loose but even rocks if you step on it the wrong way. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. Breakfast is just so-so. Neighborhood doesn't seem safe to me at all.

Room Tip: If climbing stairs is difficult, ask to be put on a ground floor. Still lots of small staircases to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Hotel was quite busy, but they had plenty of tables available for the excellent breakfast.
The staff was helpful -- We did not have any ice in the refrigerator, so I went to the front desk. The lady got a large bag and filled it with Ice from the Breakfast Area and said if I needed more, Just come back

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hotel was centrally and convieniently located near major highway making it accessible to get back and forth throughout the Raleigh area. The rooms were spacious and clean upon arrival. Management was quite professional and helpful during my stay. We utilized the kitchen facility which provided everything except the food to cook. I would definitely stay here again whether business or pleasure while visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
Courtyard Raleigh Midtown
#25 of 87 in Raleigh
228 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree Valley
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place North Raleigh-Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Crabtree Valley
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown

Address: 1000 Navaho Dr, Raleigh, NC 27609-7311
Region: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Price Range: £71 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Raleigh Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Raleigh Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing