We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Watsons Farm

Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Watsons Farm Garden with french doors into sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Watsons Farm from paddocks in front of the house
Watsons Farm
Garden with french doors into sittingroom
Garden with french doors into sittingroom
View of kitchen garden from dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
View of paddocks from double bedroom
Rear Garden
Sitting room french doors looking onto garden
Pathway to rear of let
sittingroom
sitting room
Sitting Room
Walks at the back of the farm
Walks at the back of thefarm
Walks at the back of the farm
Walberswick Beach Looking Towards Dunwich
Walberswick
Walberswick Estuary
Southwold Beach
Southwold Beach & Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fressingfield, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barrie b
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location cottage”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Having relatives almost next door plus around the corner made this place an excellent pick.
Having said that I dont want to subtract away from the actual cottage and its owner at all. Both were excellent.
Mary, the owner was such a lovely person and so helpful to my wife. She met us on arrival and everything was explained very clearly.
The cottage itself is a step back in time almost but wonderfully renovated. It is a mixture of old farm cottage with modern conveniences. The fenced in garden was a complete hit with the kids as was all the openess of the area.
The steps up to the bedrooms are a little tight especially for young children, but you over come this.
This was our final stay on our month's holiday and it was a great way to end it.
Thank you so much Mary

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you Barrie for your lovely, appreciative review. It was a great pleasure having you and your family to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roger t
solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

lovely location with plenty of walks, friendly helpful owner. Within easy reach of many coastal resorts and good pubs and restaurants. Ideal for dog walkers

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Dear Roger , Thank you for your very positive review, and for being such appreciative guests. I am glad you're able to enjoy the walks with Tess.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cosy, pet friendly cottage.”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you love peace and quiet, and enjoying the Suffolk countryside and wildlife, this is the perfect place. Lovely cottage and gardens, full of character and history.
All the equipment you need in the kitchen. Bird watching out of the window whilst eating our meals was an added bonus. Lovely comfy sofa and chairs in the living room, great to sit by the roaring fire and relax. The bed was so comfortable after a days walking we drifted off to the sound of the Little owl exploring outside!
Secure garden for the dogs too, which they loved exploring.
Several great walks straight from the door, which the dogs really enjoyed, and gave us even more chance to watch the local wildlife.
The stores in Fressingfield are well stocked, and open long hours, so no need to venture too far if you don't want to.
About 30 mins drive and you are at Southwold/Walberswick, though over Easter, both were incredibly busy. At more normal times, they are great for wandering on the beach, and relaxing.
Mary, you have a lovely cottage, and you made us feel so welcome. Just wish we had time to stay longer. Next time we will!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Dear Helen, Thank you for your lovely review. It is very rewarding to have really appreciative guests. With best wishes Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
UK< Herts, st albans
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing NYE”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What a gorgeous cottage! We spent a few days over New Years here and we had a very relaxing Cosy well needed break. Mary was a fantastic host - very welcoming and friendly. The log fire really set the tone of the cottage, was just a perfect way to spend New Year's Eve. Totally recommend it. Thank you Mary xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Dear Claire,
Thank you for your very positive review. It was lovely having you all.
With very best wishes,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely place - lovely host. Great area and very interesting history.

Very rural. Everything you need. Sublimely relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Thank you for lovely review and once again thanks to you and the boys for help with stacking the logs .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juney154
1 review
“unsafe pond in garden”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Mary was a lovely lady the cottage was comfortable but I do not think the pond is fenced as is said in information I was really worried about my dogs in the garden and would be even more concerned if I had children with me in all fairness there is a wire "fence" but it isn't a fence as such I was so worried I did not unpack till sunday and my husband needed the rest I supervised the dogs all week one of which is partially blind please properly fence the pond maybe with a picket fence so that the beauty of the pond can be seen but the danger is gone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
I can understand Mrs Yates concern and the pond will be refenced so that it doesn't create a risk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulkings...
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful and peaceful stay at Watsons Farm with our two children (11and 9). It was just what we needed. We loved the quirky style of the cottage but if you like modern luxury, this is not for you. Mary was a wonderful hostess and was present if we needed anything. If you are not catering for yourself, then be prepared to drive. If you can't get booked into the Fox and Goose or the Swan(in village 5 mins drive, book early !!) then you will have at least a 20 min drive. The coast is 25-30 mins drive. We absolutely loved it and would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing