We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Denver Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Great little hotel in the small village of Pangbourne. Wonderful staff, very attentive. Rooms were clean and quiet.

Skip eating in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captaincortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    116
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
62
154
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

A nice hotel with charm and character but it has to be highlighted that sleep quality is patchy. Great in some rooms not so much in others i.e. room 6.

There is a fan which comes on in an adjacent room every 60 seconds.

I managed to sleep from midnight until 4 a.m. but failed to sleep further than that.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riddleroddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Just back from 2 lovely days at The Elephant at Pangbourne. It is well situated for seeing the area with the village not too busy and preserving its character.
The hotel is quaint with all manner or top quality Indian artefacts with elephants figuring highly.Our room ,the Orient ,was gorgeous with the largest most comfortable bed imaginable with views over the garden and the Parish church next door.
We dined in the restaurant on both nights with food universally excellent and the service first rate .Particular mention for the new Spanish waitress.
The staff were all helpful and friendly which adds to the comfort factor overall.
We had one problem which was quickly and professionally dealt with and did not spoil our stay.
We will happily return and can recommend The Elephant to anyone looking for a cosy comfortable base with excellent food and service.

t

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Had a great night at the Elephant On their Sunday night deal. Dinner was excellent, and rooms well equiped and bed comfortable, Complimentary Liquor in room very nice and a lovely touch. Only down rooms rather hot, (we are from the North!!) Staff Very helpful, Waiter in resturant Very good and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This is a great little hotel, easily accesibly from London on the train. I would very much recommend it for those wanting to escape the city for a weekend.

The rooms were really nice (ours had a comfortable, four poster bed, nice toiletries and excellent tea bags!). They are a little smaller and darker than they might be, but they were absolutely fine for a weekend away.

We had an absolutely excellent, first-rate meal in the restaurant. The food is great and the service was really good too, attentive without being over the top. We had drinks beforehand in the bar which was really good, with a good selection of ales. The breakfast was brilliant too.

The only downside was that there was no hot water when we were getting ready for supper, so we couldn't have showers after a day out walking. We phoned reception who said more water would be sorted soon, but we didn't want to wait as we wanted a drink before dinner, so we just had cold showers. This was the only let down on an otherwise great weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
160 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed for one night. Hotel inside is rather shabby in places, has very little atmosphere and needs (in our opinion) something to brighten the dreary nature - maybe large flower arrangements would help?...and definitely some paint in places! Our room (Viceroy) was probably the gloomiest/darkest we've ever stayed in; bathroom radiator had clearly been leaking for some time, toilet roll holder coming off the wall, one bedside lamp not working (this latter fixed as soon as we mentioned it). Restaurant felt like dining in a village hall (shame, as could be lovely). Food very good and staff very helpful, but overall, didn't live up to expectations at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbaron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Me & Partner stayed at this hotel for Valentines weekend - Stayed Sat Night. The bedrooms are full of character. We also had the valentines set menu which was very nice. Beds are exceptionally comfortable!!. Couple of things though - The Shower gels and body lotion smell very dated.. I would suggest taken your own shower gels..etc. Also could not adjust the temp in the shower in our room...so was a little on the hot side!!.

All that aside i would def recommend staying here. On leaving the Elephant after a great stay we stopped off at the Swan pub down the road - it's a lovely character pub with open fires and excellent food - Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexboy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
79 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
970 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Property: The Elephant at Pangbourne
Address: 3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne
The Elephant At Pangbourne Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing