We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy of Chesterton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worthy of Chesterton”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Elephant is one of a small group of quirky hotels and none the worse for that. Bedrooms are eccentric but comfortable, while the restaurant and bar are from another age. Chesterton would have enjoyed the village bar, with its excellent West Berkshire beers, while his wife might have preferred the lofty dining room. Both could have stayed where they were to eat: the obliging staff will happily serve wherever food is required, even in the huge and charming garden. The menu is dominated by location, with venison and other game and local butcher meat, all dexterously cooked and presented simply. There are no culinary pretensions or pyrotechnics here but this is a serious hotel in the great tradition of innkeeping.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel faces onto a mini-roundabout, and traffic starts early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusthomson260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
I am so pleased that you find our “quirky luxury” approach to our hotels enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to us or another of the properties in our group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    114
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
59
152
11
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Warm welcome at the hotel. My room number 2 very comfortable as well as the bathroom. It was equipped as a Safari style lodge. The bed itself was very comfortable and I enjoyed the morning tea at the room. The overall cleanness was great.
We also used the inhouse restaurant and bar which I can highly recommend.
In the morning the breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stesib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Elephant on 01/03/2013 to 03/03/2013 and had the most amazing time. The room was big, clean, bright and the Bed was to die for. We really didnt want to go back home. Made to feel welcome by all the staff and Lucie the waitress was really good and friendly. I would recomend the hotel to everyone and we will be both coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenners123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put together a review. We appreciate you leaving us such wonderful comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel was amazing, we arrived late, they took care or everything including our parking. as there was no space the receptionist took our keys and dealt with the parking. around 15 mins from reading but lovely location. not much to do but train station is 5 mins away, so you can travel into central. room was amazing and extremely clean. room service was fantastic, church bells went on for about an hour in the evening, slightly annoying but the good side to the hotel just weighed it out! cannot WAIT to go back there!!

Room Tip: Maharaja of jaipur! the rooms are individual none of the pictures of the website do it any justice w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such superb comments. We are thrilled that we made valentines a special night for you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I ate in the bar one Friday evening and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a good choice of local beers, the food was good (I had the burger my wife chose from the 'specials' board), the staff friendly and the atmosphere welcoming. My only criticism would be that there was only one bar staff and therefore servcie was a little slow. Nevertheless we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gashead1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
I am pleased that on the whole your stay was enjoyable. I have taken on board your comment regarding staffing levels and will address this accordingly. We hope to see you back at The Elephant in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay and dinner at The Elephant, superb. Our room was excellent, super comfy bed with beautiful linen and plug sockets by the mirror, hooray!
All the staff we met were friendly, efficient and happy.
We ate dinner in the restaurant, the menu was interesting, a good mix of traditional and contemporary. I had the venison, it was cooked perfectly as was the pork my husband and son chose. Three of us had two bottles of wine, pre-dinner drinks, 3 courses each, tea and liqueur coffees for £130.00, this is outstanding value for the quality and service we received.
We now have a son living in Pangbourne and a good excuse to become regular visitors to this little gem, looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missfoodlove2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
It was good to read your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely time and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Elephant. We wanted somewhere in the country but close to London and close to a station. Pangbourne fits the bill as the countryside is beautiful but only 45 mins from Paddington. The Elephant is 3 minutes walk from the station.

I was a little wary of the hotel as 'boutique hotels' often seem to be just b&bs with some Farrow and Ball French Grey paint daubed over the woodchip wallpaper, but this wasn't the case. The staff were welcoming and friendly, particularly the Spanish waitress who served us our dinner. The decor/theme is Anglo-Indian, lots of teak, rattan, persian rugs etc, and a nice open fire in the lobby. The room (the 'Rangoon' room) was very cosy.

The public bar had a nice village pub feel with good ales on tap, and a heated outdoor smoking area was available. The dinner was very good quality though surprisingly for an Anglo-Indian hotel there didn't seem to be any curry on the menu as far as I could tell. Breakfast was also very good with a wide choice. I would definitely stay again and have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinallegro1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your positive comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Property: The Elephant at Pangbourne
Address: 3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne
The Elephant At Pangbourne Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing