We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Thorrington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'm currently staying here on business. It's a lovely boutique hotel, and room 5 is small but perfectly formed. Nice comfy bed, well appointed bathroom with great toiletries. In the room is a flat screen TV, kettle with Teapigs tea bags (this is a massive plus in my book), a cafetiere and filter coffee. The breakfast here is incredible, and the hotel more than lives up to its positive reviews. In fact I decided to inconvenience myself by staying here and driving into Thatcham rather than staying somewhere closer, as The Elephant gets justifiably great reviews.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for leaving such great feedback. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    116
    46
    17
    16
See reviews for
62
154
11
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First time at the hotel (2 days) - picked it up through a hotel deal web-site. Wasn't too sure what to expect, but the reviews were generally good........
As everyone has previously mentioned in other reviews, the service is excellent - particularly Irene (the Spanish lady) who seems to work her socks off and is always so polite and attentive.
The rooms are a little quirky (themed) but have everything you need.
It seems that most people pick up one of the food deals in the bar where you get a mixture of food and drink deals (2 main courses and a bottle of wine - £20.00), but you have to order by 7.00pm - and the bar gets busy!
There are also some decent bars and restaurants a short walk from the hotel, so worth exploring if you're there for a few days.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was at the back of the hotel and overlooked the gardens and the church - very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a lovely review, i will pass your kind comments onto Irene who will be thrilled to hear them.
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just booked up our sixth stay at the Elephant, and although when we go we say we'll look at other hotels in the area we love it so much we always return! Right from the greeting you receive when you arrive to the service throughout the hotel, nothing seems to be too much trouble. We have stayed in a different room each time and really couldn't fault any of them. The food has always been excellent, although I do agree with some of the other comments on here that the restaurant lacks atmosphere in the evening. We prefer to eat in the bar, where although it can be noisy, we don't feel so alone!

The breakfast is always superb with so much choice and cooked fresh, no awful hot breakfasts served from a buffet here!

We're looking forward to going back this week, and usually always take advantage of the offers available through there website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimjamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
What a fantastic review - thank you.
Its lovely to hear that you continually enjoy your stays with us, i have taken your points about the restaurant on board and will try to create more of an atmosphere in there. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having just enjoyed our fourth visit - over Christmas - at The Elephant, I thought it was about time I wrote to say how much we love it there.

Initially, we stayed whilst looking at wedding venues on the area and chose The Elephant for our guest accommodation after our wedding at a local farm. Even though we weren't getting married/having our reception at The Elephant, they made us feel really special and impressed all the guests with all the little touches such as Tea Pigs and nice toiletries as well as the fab breakfast. My husband arranged another visit for my birthday and finally, we spent Christmas Eve and most of Christmas day there before flying out to Thailand.

We have had three evening meals and the food is good; not amazing but certainly good value. The staff, however, are really lovely and helpful, the beds are comfortable and it is just a really, lovely boutique hotel set in beautiful gardens in a nice Thameside town. We shall return!

Room Tip: It is worth spending a few extra pounds to get the space of the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. Its great to hear that you will keep coming back to us and I will pass your lovely comments onto the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Have to confess that I have never stayed here so cannot comment. The bar is a bit of a local pub for us and has become a regular feature of our Friday nights. I've been meaning to write a review on them for ages. They have a bit of a deal between 6 and 7 O'Clock. 2 main course meals (about 4 to 5 choices) and a bottle of wine for £20. The food is fine - what do you expect for twenty quid, It's a pasta dish, Sausage and mash or an Omlette chips and salad - nothing to write home about but I've also had very good more expensive meals through in the restaurant. Service is always friendly, on occasion they have done two glasses of wine and two pints rather than the bottle. There's a nice fire in the colder months and a place to sit outside in summer.. You cannot beat it on a Friday night after work. Thank you The Elephant!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the decor of the hotel.
I'm really pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable- we very carefully source our mattresses and pillows for this purpose.
I hope to see you return to the Elephant soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by the high standard here. A blissfully comfortable bed, gorgeous linens and plenty of towels. Lots of little touches which made our stay very good indeed. Excellent breakfast menu, although we had to wait a while for any service. I would certainly come here again and would recommend. I thought maybe the Indian theme would perhaps be a bit naff, but it wasn't, it was actually very cleverly done.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about the decor of the hotel.
I'm really pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable- we very carefully source our mattresses and pillows for this purpose.
I hope to see you return to the Elephant soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

On the 3rd of December at about 2pm, the receptionist was completely disinterested rude and dismissive. She is not the type of person you wish to meet on check in or out
Food was poor for the prices charged. Not tasty

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Operations Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and I'm sorry the experience wasn't to your satisfaction, however, I would appreciate it if you could get in touch with me at the hotel to give me some more detailed feedback as we pride ourselves on our customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
79 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
507 reviews
5.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
970 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant at Pangbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant at Pangbourne

Property: The Elephant at Pangbourne
Address: 3 Church Road, Pangbourne RG8 7AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant at Pangbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant offers its guests an experience of quirky luxury and a warm welcome, whether staying overnight, dining in the restaurant, or having a relaxed drink in the bar. All 22 bedrooms are individual and furnished with handcrafted furniture, rich ornamental rugs and opulent fabrics. The bar, known as Babar, has a bistro feel, serving simple but excellent British produce, while the restaurant offers beautifully cooked unpretentious food in elegant surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elephant at Pangbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant At Pangbourne Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Hotel Pangbourne
The Elephant Pangbourne
The Elephant At Pangbourne Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing