We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elephant at Pangbourne
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The George Hotel(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Weir View House(Pangbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
166
129
56
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
129
56
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquality linenpublic car parkcharming hotelwalking the thames pathpay and displayfriends weddingindian themecomfortable bedbar menuchurch clockbar areastayed for one nightsunday lunchfull englishbreakfast was excellentbusy roadevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'm currently staying here on business. It's a lovely boutique hotel, and room 5 is small but perfectly formed. Nice comfy bed, well appointed bathroom with great toiletries. In the room is a flat screen TV, kettle with Teapigs tea bags (this is a massive plus in my book), a cafetiere and filter coffee. The breakfast here is incredible, and the hotel more than lives up to its positive reviews. In fact I decided to inconvenience myself by staying here and driving into Thatcham rather than staying somewhere closer, as The Elephant gets justifiably great reviews.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for leaving such great feedback. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we will see you again when you are next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First time at the hotel (2 days) - picked it up through a hotel deal web-site. Wasn't too sure what to expect, but the reviews were generally good........
As everyone has previously mentioned in other reviews, the service is excellent - particularly Irene (the Spanish lady) who seems to work her socks off and is always so polite and attentive.
The rooms are a little quirky (themed) but have everything you need.
It seems that most people pick up one of the food deals in the bar where you get a mixture of food and drink deals (2 main courses and a bottle of wine - £20.00), but you have to order by 7.00pm - and the bar gets busy!
There are also some decent bars and restaurants a short walk from the hotel, so worth exploring if you're there for a few days.

Room Tip: We had room 1 which was at the back of the hotel and overlooked the gardens and the church - very quiet!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for writing such a lovely review, i will pass your kind comments onto Irene who will be thrilled to hear them.
I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just booked up our sixth stay at the Elephant, and although when we go we say we'll look at other hotels in the area we love it so much we always return! Right from the greeting you receive when you arrive to the service throughout the hotel, nothing seems to be too much trouble. We have stayed in a different room each time and really couldn't fault any of them. The food has always been excellent, although I do agree with some of the other comments on here that the restaurant lacks atmosphere in the evening. We prefer to eat in the bar, where although it can be noisy, we don't feel so alone!

The breakfast is always superb with so much choice and cooked fresh, no awful hot breakfasts served from a buffet here!

We're looking forward to going back this week, and usually always take advantage of the offers available through there website.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

What a fantastic review - thank you.
Its lovely to hear that you continually enjoy your stays with us, i have taken your points about the restaurant on board and will try to create more of an atmosphere in there. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having just enjoyed our fourth visit - over Christmas - at The Elephant, I thought it was about time I wrote to say how much we love it there.

Initially, we stayed whilst looking at wedding venues on the area and chose The Elephant for our guest accommodation after our wedding at a local farm. Even though we weren't getting married/having our reception at The Elephant, they made us feel really special and impressed all the guests with all the little touches such as Tea Pigs and nice toiletries as well as the fab breakfast. My husband arranged another visit for my birthday and finally, we spent Christmas Eve and most of Christmas day there before flying out to Thailand.

We have had three evening meals and the food is good; not amazing but certainly good value. The staff, however, are really lovely and helpful, the beds are comfortable and it is just a really, lovely boutique hotel set in beautiful gardens in a nice Thameside town. We shall return!

Room Tip: It is worth spending a few extra pounds to get the space of the superior rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. Its great to hear that you will keep coming back to us and I will pass your lovely comments onto the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Have to confess that I have never stayed here so cannot comment. The bar is a bit of a local pub for us and has become a regular feature of our Friday nights. I've been meaning to write a review on them for ages. They have a bit of a deal between 6 and 7 O'Clock. 2 main course meals (about 4 to 5 choices) and a bottle of wine for £20. The food is fine - what do you expect for twenty quid, It's a pasta dish, Sausage and mash or an Omlette chips and salad - nothing to write home about but I've also had very good more expensive meals through in the restaurant. Service is always friendly, on occasion they have done two glasses of wine and two pints rather than the bottle. There's a nice fire in the colder months and a place to sit outside in summer.. You cannot beat it on a Friday night after work. Thank you The Elephant!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Legendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Elephant at Pangbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the decor of the hotel.
I'm really pleased to hear that you found the bed comfortable- we very carefully source our mattresses and pillows for this purpose.
I hope to see you return to the Elephant soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews