We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing horsey haven”
Review of Herons Farm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herons Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Pangbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing horsey haven”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I just returned from a two night stay at heron's farm on their adult intensive riding break. The B&B is run by Maggie, who is welcoming, informal and friendly. It's in an idyllic location surrounded by horse fields, and has the faded chic of a classic English manor house. My room was big, had a sofa, big screen TV and modern power shower with a two window aspect over the fields at the front of the house. Very quiet. I was staying on my own so had my dinner informally in the kitchen dining room with some girls who were working at the stables for the summer - all lovely company and very friendly, with delicious home cooked food. I was made to feel really at home. I rode three times each day, and had the benefit of some incredibly well qualified instructors, as well as two glorious hacks. There are great places to walk around and lots of friendly horses to visit. A really special place to immerse yourself in the English countryside and equestrian pursuits.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    40
    7
    7
    8
See reviews for
75
46
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Having read the recent review by a couple who stayed at herons farm for a Wedding I felt I needed to write this review, I have stayed at Herons Farm on many occasions over the years and have stayed in several rooms and cottages.The Farm house is Rustic but this is part of its charm and those who understand this will appreciate it in its entirety. Single glazed windows? That I have never noticed, all I will say is that its very cosy in the winter. The cottages i have stayed in are compact but in a good way( Cowslip and Crab apple) , there is everything you need and they have been very well thought out, the Spiral is out of this world and a must. The owner is a busy lady so if there are things missing in rooms its an oversight and will be rectified as soon as you bring it to her attention, if you need anything you just ask. I would recommend Herons Farm to anyone, it is a wonderful place that offers so much more than just accomodation, yes I am a fan.

Room Tip: The Spiral is a place you will never forget, amazing !The Farm house is charming as are Crab Apple a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very rustic but very dated Farmhouse, stayed in Large Willow room, no tea or coffee making facilities, no mirror in room! Bathroom down the landing is Very dated with tiles missing from shower base and heavily stained bath. All windows single glazed.
Breakfast had poor selection of cereals (2) was filling but not cooked to order so eggs hard and bacon overcooked. No yoghurts or fruit so not the breakfast you would expect from a Country retreat. The converted stables on the other hand were great although very compact. In essence the rooms in the house require major update.

Room Tip: Stay in converted stables not the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My 11 year old daughter and I recently stayed at Herons Farm for a night on our way to Heathrow. I found Herons Farm, located in the midst of 100 lush acres (but yet very close to the M4), to be a jewel of a house in a beautiful setting. Maggie, the owner, could not have been nicer. When she learned that we had to leave at 6:00 am the next morning, she insisted on getting up and making us a cooked breakfast! I will be back and next time will plan to stay longer
and plan to ride at their exceptional riding facilities. I learned that another guest had booked for a night and ended up staying for 3 and 1/2 weeks--I only wish we could have done the same.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We held our wedding reception at Heron's Farm on Saturday 16th June.

Despite questionable weather the day was a great success. Linda was magnificent both in the lead up and on the day. She is very helpful and goes out of her way to provide workable solutions for you.

The barn looked incredible and we were able to structure the day as we desired. The staff at the farm worked diligently throughout to ensure the day went seamlessly.

Some of our guests stayed in the farm house and Maggie ensured their stay was everything they imagined it would be and more.

This venue really is special and the staff are amazing.

Thank you so much

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickAndCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My partner and I stayed at Herons Farm in one of the converted barns for 2 nights. We had an amazing time. Maggie couldn't have done enough for us. We only lived just over an hour away and had no idea this idyllic place was there. Maggies food was excellent from her breakfast to lunch. We were made to feel like part of the family. We will defintely be back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallagher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife Alison and I decided on a last minute visit to see our new grandchild, problem being no dog sitter available - the dogs had to come with us. A search on google identifed a few likely hotels but none were unavailable for the dates needed. We then found Herons Farm, a quick phone call and a brief discussion over the rules for our dogs and a booking was made. We expect to confirm the rules concerning dogs, this is only fair and what we agree is necessary to avoid misunderstandings and ensure ongoing availabilty. The room was super, very clean and tidy, well equipped and the shower was powerful...not the dribbling type found in many B&B's. The breakfast was delicious, the eggs are from chickens on the farm and other ingredients sourced locally. The farm itself is a wonderful collection of attractive buildings with genuine history, and set in stunning Berkshire countryside. We had a wonderfully enjoyable and relaxing few days stay and we can wholeheartedly recommend Herons Farm to anyone. We will definately visit again! Oh! and the dogs - Maisie and Lola really enjoyed it too!

Room Tip: The rooms we had are those usually given to guests with dogs. There is plenty of exercise ground imm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
2.2 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
10.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
632 reviews
6.0 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herons Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herons Farm B&B

Property: Herons Farm B&B
Address: Herons Farm Buckhold, Pangbourne RG8 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pangbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Herons Farm B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Should have no difficulty finding it online -- URL works well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Herons Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herons Farm Bed And Breakfast
Herons Farm Hotel Pangbourne
Herons Farm B&B Pangbourne, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing