We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Abbey House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan at Streatley(Streatley-on-Thames)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
20
23
22
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
23
22
14
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

23.06.14, Have just come back from a family wedding,and spent 2 nights,We had a newly decorated room and bathroom,The owner and staff were extremely helpful, The bed and linen was clean and comfortable,They have only taken over a few weeks ago,and are completely renovating, these things take time,It is not a "Holiday hotel",It is mainly a stopover, We would definately stay there again.And would highly recommend this hotel. We are widely travelled,and have a large scattered family,so the last few years we have stayed in quite a few hotels and Inns,we have had great rooms,and terrible service,and also expensive rooms that were dirty,and noisy,You can always find something wrong if you look hard enough !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonacs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

What fantastic kindness, thanks.
I cant tell from the email address, but I think I remember speaking with you and reminiscing about my days in Birmingham.
We have continued our improvements at the hotel, and the feedback we have been receiving has been really helpful.
Many thanks and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just had a lovely stay at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and lovely and spacious. The bathroom was also very big and clean. The breakfast was also delicious. If we find ourselves in the area again we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Mark, many thanks for taking time out to give us these positive comments. Really appreciated and be assured that we will not be complacent in our drive to continue improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Whilst the facilities were quite basic, the new owners were very friendly and keen to help with anything that we needed. The room was very adequate for our needs and a tasty breakfast was included in the price.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Tamsin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Tamsin, many thanks for taking the time to send us your views. Really appreciated. At the time you stayed, we were just weeks into our new management. It now seems so long ago. The improvements have continued at a pace. Thanks for the comments about the breakfast. The bar food is well settled and getting great feedback, the restaurant has kicked off, and there are new beers in the bar. We have addressed negative feedback given to us with improvements. I hope you will be able to give us even better marks if you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here, when the new owners had taken over just a few weeks previously. Yes there is a lot to do...I.e. Get rid of fold down beds, redo bathrooms, smarten up the breakfast room, and freshen up the whole place, but I think given time the place will change to a much better establishment . A lot to do and a way to go, but the friendly staff and understanding manager will I am sure make a success of The George. Best of luck.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Many thanks for your very full, frank and fair opinions, I value the time you put in.
We have continued our work to make improvements,
There is only one bed which looks like fold-away. There must have been a 'fad' at the time the time that this bedroom suite was installed. Yours is the only negative comment I have received about this, but I fully respect your opinion.
Thanks for giving it time, we are using that time with improvements, and I hope very much that you will be able to see us again soon.
Rajinder
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is very tired and basic but just about adequate, if your expectations are limited. Some redecoration works seems to be going on (I could smell fresh paint in the reception area anyway) but the decor and furnishing in the rooms is very tired and in need of updating. Bed was reasonably comfortable and linen and towels clean and in good condition - the best feature. The hotel is right next to the main railway line though, so there is a lot of train noise if you have your windows open (a necessity unless you're staying there in winter). The service was polite but limited - e.g. staff remained on the phone while dealing with us. We went to check out breakfast in the morning, which is 7am-10am. We got there at 9.50 and it looked as if it had already finished - no tables were laid and there was only a table with some cornflakes and a bowl of tired fruit available. Rather than try and get anything (our expectations being low as to what would emerge) we skipped it and went around the corner to a cafe instead. Overall, adequate as somewhere to lay your head for a night but don't expect much more than that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeh0tel, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Many thanks for the feedback. Having recently taken charge, the team will take constructively the critical comments, and work hard to resolve the issues we inherited. Indeed, we have already attended to concerns. We will not be complacent, and we will continue our campaign of improvements
Rajinder
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews