We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Take note”
Review of The Swan

The Swan
Reserve with OpenTable
The Swan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Pangbourne
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The historic Swan on the Thames has a beautiful waterfront location with many outdoor prime location tables. These were full on the sunny evening we chose to try The Swan. The festive patrons appeared happy enjoying the sunny evening. Most indoor tables were vacant.

We were advised they had run out of main dishes. We stayed to enjoy whatever they had left. (Other recent Tripadvisor reviewers also noted the kitchen had run out of some of the dishes).

Nevertheless, the food we chose was well presented, tasted good and was of good value. I observed other patrons experiencing the food shortage....management please take note.

Table service was confusing as three different wait staff tried to accommodate our wishes. They were cheerful and very polite but their responsibilities were confusing I felt.

I hope the management issues are addressed as this great historic venue must flourish again.

The parking lot is rather smallish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DGL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis K, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DGL1,

Thank you for taking your time to review us here at The Swan.

We can only extend our sincerest apologies that we were unable to fulfill our menu for you on this occasion, in some exceptional circumstances due to the location being so attractive in sunshine we do run tight on items, we do aim to please all of our guests that wish to dine with ourselves (reservation or not) on the river however on some occasions this leads to stock issues when we operating at higher than expected volumes.

You can be assured every single person involved with the business has read your review and will be learning from your experiences along with ensuring we are fully stocked for the high season times. It is our sincerest hope that every visitor has a happy experience.

During busy periods our waiting will help each other out where they can, I am sorry if you found this confusing & further training will be done so that this doesn't always have to be the case.

We all here only wish we had the permission & size to accommodate a larger car park, however there is alternative parking within a 2 minute walk of ourselves.

I am truly sorry that you had a disappointing experience but extremely happy that you have taken the time to feedback to us so we can improve as a whole.

Kindest Regards,

Lewis Kirby

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Together with my wife and two friendsI visited The Swan at Pangbourne for lunch on the 22nd June 2018 to celebrate my wifes birthday, I had booked a table two weeks before when I spoke to Susan. Having explained the reason for our visit I requested a table with a view of the river. Upon our arrival the the table we had been allocated did not disappoint as it provided us with a panoramic view of the Rver Thames.
The food we had was well cooked, beautifully presented and reasonably priced. The staff were smart, friendly and engaging, Whilst having our sweet the waiter presented my wife with an additional scoop of ice cream on a slate tile decorated with honeycombe and pistachio nuts with Happy Birthday written in raspberry sauce. I felt that this was a lovely gesture. Having driven past The Swan on numerous occasions I am asking myself why I have never visited the premises before. We really enjoyed our visit and will definately be returning in the near future.
The Swan has limited parking however there is ample parking at Pangbourne Railway Station at a cost of £3.10. The pay machines are situated at the top of the ramp and easily missed

Thank bobstrongrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis K, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear bobstrongrfc,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us in such a positive & in depth manner here at The Swan.

All of our team are extremely happy to read of your experience here with ourselves. It really is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us especially upon a special occasion, we are so happy that we knew & were able to add a little in house touch. We also wish we had a larger car park & thank you for being so understanding with parking at the station.

We do hope there will be many more visits in the future.

Please do make yourself known on your next visit so we are able to say thank you for your lovely review.

Many Thanks

Lewis Kirby

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed the outdoor seating atmosphere and had a great waitress called Olivia. Cheese croquettes are a must!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Giedrius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis K, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Giedrius K,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us in such a positive manner here at The Swan.

All of our team are extremely happy to read of your experience here with ourselves (especially Olivia). It really is lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us especially during a busy lunch service.

We do hope there will be many more visits in the future.

Please do make yourself known on your next visit so we are able to say thank you for your lovely review.

Many Thanks

The Swan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After an amazing pre Xmas dinner here we decided to go here for father's Day.roasts all round but we're so disappointed with soggy veg and tough meat. Thought it would be better for the price we paid.average fair for premium price.

Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis K, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Andy L,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing us here at The Swan.

I am extremely disheartened to read of your experience on this occasion here with us at The Swan, it is unfortunate you were unable to review us here following your amazing pre Xmas dinner.

This matter has been addressed In house and our new Head Chef will be focusing strongly upon this for all of the team, along with delivering a better perception of value for money.

Kindest Regards,

Lewis Kirby

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first night stop on our family boating holiday on the Thames. Mooring up was difficult, so much that went through the local lock twice. After calling the Swan we managed to moor up outside, all be it somewhat precariously. Getting off the boat presented a challenge Bear Grylls would have been proud of, but we all made it without getting wet. Once in, we were glad that we did. The setting was very nice indeed, with a distinctly nautical feel as expected being right on the river. The service was efficient and friendly, the food was a little slow but that was down to the venue being busy. The food itself was well cooked and presented, with a good sized portion. The prices were a little higher than at home, but considering the location not that unexpected. Overall we were very pleased with our experience

2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis K, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mark B,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review us in such a positive manner here at The Swan.

All of our team are extremely happy to read of your experience here with ourselves. It really is lovely to read that you enjoyed your visit with us especially during a busy service. We are also very pleased to read that we weren't required to fish your party from the Thames.

We do hope there will be many more visits in the future.

Please do make yourself known on your next visit so we are able to say thank you for your lovely review.

Many Thanks

The Swan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Swan also viewed

Whitchurch-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Pangbourne, Berkshire
 
Pangbourne, Berkshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Pangbourne, Berkshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing