We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Thames View”
Review of Weir View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weir View House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

What a lovely surprise to find such a gem of a B&B/hotel. The warm of the welcome was genuine and the room stylish, well thought out and a place you want to relax and spend time in. I could not fault the decor, simple but no scrimping. Bedlinen spotless and top quality. Everything was thought of and to be honest it didn't feel like a hotel room, more like a dream of a spare room in your best friend's house. We were in a suite which was HUGE! A superb view of the River Thames wier and opposite the historic Swan Hotel. My only criticism was that the bathroom had some mould on the shower but a bit of bleach would sort that out. The hotel was modern and clean but not sterile. Great location in the Thames Valley. A lovely continental breakfast - a hot option (even simple eggs) would have been nice but there was plenty of choice from fruit and cereal to crumpets and marmite. A definite thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NESSY3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wier View is a lovley place next to the Thames at Pangbourne. Easy access to Reading and motorways. Very nice people with a can do attitude and very high standard of turn out of the rooms testify to how hard the staff works. Nice breakfast and the coffee is just right and lots of it. Would recomend. Nice staff, Nice room, Nice breakfast, Nice stay. Nice

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

tHIS IS A REAL MUST STAY! the owners are just fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are brilliant. We searched every opportunity in Pangbourne and this was a 6 star place to stay. Better than home away from home. The position it is in is just so serene. I recomend this b&b to everybody. There is no faults what so ever, clean, friendly, cheap, quiet fabulous morning brekky. We loved it so much we went back 3 weeks later at the end of our uk journey to spend 2 more days and got lovely view of the river. Dont miss out!

Room Tip: all rooms are fabulous you wont be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennis927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a Groupon promotion. We arrived earlier than planned but this was no problem, we were made to feel very welcome and shown to our room, The Shiplake Suite. It was beautiful, very clean, very large bed, lovely views of the river and weir even though we were on the ground floor.The room was a bit chilly but we turned up the radiator and it soon warmed up. Lovely bathroom and shower and very good quality toiletries, even a spare toothbrush and paste should you need it ! A complimentary small bottle of red wine and some Ferroro Rocher were a nice touch. We had our meal at the Swan, directly across the road and on the riverside.We both had steak which was beautiful, and chocolate brownies for dessert. The breakfast buffet was great with plenty of choice, although no hot food, unless you count toast or crumpets ! All in all a very nice stay, very friendly hosts, great location, big rooms, exceptionally clean - couldn't ask for any more ! Thank you Groupon - without your deal we would never have discovered this little gem right on our doorstep. I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinamejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Close to the station and the river. Our room was the largest we had on our trip and very comfortable. With a lovely view of the actual weir, the room was quite and we slept well. Good buffet breakfast to start the day off well. Service was great and we were especially grateful for their help storing our luggage after check out so we could do our day trip without dragging suitcases around! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connollyc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Eileen and Fiona are just the nicest people. Warm, welcoming, friendly. Nice breakfast, DVD in TV,s, free parking, free Wi-fi. Comfortable, clean modern rooms - comfy beds, nice showers. Quiet, convenient. Nice village, near Bradfield College. Only thing - no safe in rooms. Thanks so much for your hospitality!

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice, but looking at the Weir and the Swan Pub nd the Thames is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerietAl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Lovely B&B / hotel, which is very conveniently situated just over the road from a riverside pub. Decor is very modern and clean. Nice big rooms and very friendly owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.2 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
370 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
494 reviews
5.4 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
5.2 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir View House

Address: 9 Shooters Hill, Pangbourne RG8 7DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range: £87 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weir View House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weir View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir View Hotel
Weir View House Pangbourne, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing