We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, great view - a few niggles”
Review of Weir View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weir View House
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A seemingly purpose built Guest House on the A329 close to the centre of Pangbourne. Our double ensuite room had plenty of space and a view of the river too. A minibar offered soft drinks and snacks with an honesty box, and there was the usual selection of teabags, sachets of Nescafe and of course a kettle. There were plenty of sockets to recharge phones and computers, no reliance upon adaptors or extension leads.

The ensuite bathroom was large, the bath being a welcome feature. Hot water was no problem, we both had baths after arriving and it took no time to fill the standard size bathtub.

The king size bed was very comfortable. The lighting in the room took some working out - bedside lights controlled by a main switch as well as the switch on the lamp - and the main lighting was by means of wall uplighters with economy bulbs which took some time to warm up. The window being offset from the centre of the room, lighting was in fact something of a problem - the lights provided were not sufficient to see the inside of the wardrobe properly. There was also no light over the dressing table, the small mirror being close to the window meant this was less of a problem during the day, but when there is no natural light it would be barely usable.

Weir View Guest House does not offer evening meals: we went to the Swan pub, directly opposite, and enjoyed a lovely meal with wine, coffee and liqueurs for around £85. The town centre is not far away and has other pubs and restaurants, and a Co-op supermarket where sandwiches and such like can be bought.

We only had two pillows on the bed: there was an extra one in the wardrobe but to be honest in a room of this style, at £90 per night and AA 4 star rated, I would have expected two each, and perhaps some extra cushions. There was also only one chair - in a room of this size I would have expected two. There didn't seem to be a full length mirror in the room either.

There was an informative brochure in the room, and a great deal of literature relating to tourist attractions in the area in reception. Also in reception there was a printout of the weather forecast, unfortunately it seemed to be a few days out of date - we stayed on a Tuesday night and the first day of the forecast was a Friday.

Weir View Guest House does not offer a cooked breakfast. The continental selection was good - cheese, ham, cereal, prunes, grapefruit, muffins, crumpets, toast, orange or apple juice, tea or coffee. But it is very much a help-yourself affair, and there were no croissants or other pastries. The breakfast room only accommodates 8 people - four tables for two - and slots have to be booked the night before - it could get busy at peak times.

Weir View is close to both the A329 road and the railway line: we did not find noise from either an issue, nor were we disturbed by noise from other guests. There is in fact a gate from their car park into the railway station approach road, and, in their car park, a boundary marker for the Great Western Railway, probably dating from the date it was first built by Brunel over a century and a half ago.

In short - comfortable and convenient, with a few drawbacks and idiosyncrasies that may or may not be of significance depending on individual circumstances.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here on business April 2013 - a pleasure from reserving to checking out, nice personal service unlike alot of hotels, probably because it's a B&B, but the Weir View's rooms are better than many hotels! Stayed in the Shiplake room which is huge, luxurious, clean and comfortable. Bed was extremely comfortable, lovely soft towels and bathrobe provided. The continental breakfast provided was very good. The owner is very pleasant and friendly. Complimentary toiletries provided. Would definately stay here again and recommend to all, it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We arrived an hour earlier than expected but were warmly welcomed and our room was ready. The room was tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the en suite well equipped. The continental breakfast was very good with lots of choices , the breakfast room again immaculate. We would not hesitate to recommend this guest house and would stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night during a weekend walking on the Thames Path. We had an executive double and our friends had another executive double. The service was very good - they let us check in early and check out a bit late to accommodate our plans. We were disappointed to have the only room in the place without a view of the river - we overlooked the car park. For a £105 suite we felt we should have had a view of the river. The room was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was disappointing - the quality of the food in the continental breakfast was not great. This b&b was comfortable, friendly and with good service but for £105 per night it is an expensive option and we expected more for it.
Top tip is to have dinner at The Swan pub over the road - the food was great and very reasonable. They have a pretty terrace by the river.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadBean1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My boyfriend and I picked the Weir View as our bolt hole from a wedding we were going to nearby.

The ladies who own the place were very accommodating with our request for an early check in (noon - normally 2pm) We had a lovely room facing the river.

The room is a good size with a big super king size bed, tea and coffee facilities and a mini bar (not free but very good value). The bed in my opinion was not the most comfortable, unless you like firmer beds.

The bathroom is a good size with bath and shower combined, although there was black in the tile grout and the shower head probably needs a clean to remove lime scale. I also think the extractor fan is a bit knackered as we ended up steaming out the whole bathroom and bedroom!

The breakfast was to be honest a bit of a letdown. Probably due to it being a Sunday and there not being many staff on, we arrived after a family had been and they had devoured everything on the table! The items were replenished a bit later, but by then we wanted to move on. It would be good to offer a cooked breakfast as well.

This is the first review I feel torn writing it, as I do think it was a very sweet place and the lady who was working that weekend was charming. But at the price we paid, you do expect things to be at a higher standard, especially breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one which looks out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I had an extra day on the road and searched for a comfortable inn on the river to pursue nothing but relaxation. I could not have found a better place than the Weir View House. Its location immediately adjacent to the train station makes the inn extremely convenient, yet guests are somehow not bothered with train noise. Rooms face a post-card view of the Thames River. I stayed in the Shiplake Room (they have names, not numbers) which is an executive suite on the ground floor. The room was perfect: spacious, clean, and well-decorated.

The inn is family run and the hosts are friendly, accommodating, and provide enjoyable conversation. The village of Pangbourne is a short walk away and features several nice pubs, a few of which I was able to visit. I hope to return soon to resume exploration of this charming village and to stay again in this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

A beautiful B&B! Very reasonably priced for large, well-furnished rooms with comfortable beds. We had a lovely view of the weir opposite. The Swan pub, opposite, is also excellent. The staff are very friendly and warm. I would never stay anywhere else in the area, this is a real find.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semele08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangbourne
0.2 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Herons Farm B&B
Herons Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Pangbourne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weir View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weir View House

Address: 9 Shooters Hill, Pangbourne RG8 7DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Pangbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pangbourne
Price Range: £87 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weir View House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weir View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weir View Hotel
Weir View House Pangbourne, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing