We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pub Grub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cross Keys Inn

Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Pangbourne
Price range: US$26 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Friendly atmosphere with good food, service can sometimes be a little slow.Good for families with children

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    13
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upleadon, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had another very good pub meal; chicken pieces lightly spiced in breadcrumbs on a fresh, crispy salad. Absolutely delicious. The staff were very bright and friendly and the other people in the pub were chatty and fun. We had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dordie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unfriendly welcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Visited here for a lunch with 3 other new mums. Didn't call ahead but didn't think it would be a problem. First issue was trying to get the buggies in to the pub.this was almost impossible and asked the barman if it would be ok to go round the back and he said no and walked away from the bar and through another door. Eventually got them in and found a suitable table near the bar but we were told we couldn't sit here as you couldn't have children at the bar (all 5 children were asleep and under 4 months old...) also told we couldn't sit in the back bar area, only leaving the small middle room to try and eat lunch and get the buggies in. Barman didn't offer to help move tables and kept stepping around us making us feel more uncomfortable. We decided to leave without eating or drinking. One of the mums went out the back as it was easier and when she came round to the front of the pub she said there was a lovely covered seated area at the back which would have been perfect. It's a shame the barman decided our custom wasn't worth making the effort for. Have been here for food before, but never with a baby. Don't think I'll go back. After all this we went to Little Henry's and had an amazing welcome (and cake).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Families beware !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We drove over 30 mins to enjoy lunch at the Cross Keys. The barman was rude and unfriendly stating that people with babies are not encouraged to eat/drink at the Cross Keys as they put proper customers off! We received no service at all and had to leave without eating or having a drink - a real shame!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An honest inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

A comfortable, capably run pub with helpful staff and competently prepared pub food. The handicap of being a Greene King pub is currently offset by serving a delicious bitter from Brentwood Brewery, while being a stone's throw from the excellent Elephant is not all bad: customers who like to relax more tend to use the Keys, and if they occasionally relax a little more than they might, the staff handle it well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angusthomson260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Keys Inn also viewed

Pangbourne, Berkshire
Pangbourne, Berkshire
 
Pangbourne, Berkshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Pangbourne, Berkshire
 

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing