We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”
Review of Sharky's Oyster Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sharky's Oyster Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The food here was great and the portions were so large that everyone had to take a to go plate home. The food was seasoned perfectly, nothing had to be added at the table, we will be going there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rvpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All Customers Are NOT Treated Equally”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Went in this Saturday afternoon for a late lunch of a dozen oysters and a beer. The place was entirely empty, which I did not mind at all. Chatted a bit with the server/bartender, including asking about the size of the oysters (I had indicated that I prefer larger ones), then put my order in. He disappeared in the back, I assume to prepare my order. Another customer came in, and the server came out to greet her - apparently they were somewhat acquainted. She too ordered a dozen oysters and sat down a few swats down from me. My order came out, and the oysters were anemic looking and did not seem to be consistent with the shells that they were in. I then saw him shuck the other customer's order behind the raw bar (I started wondering why my oysters were prepared in the back), and then he brought out some big, plump, juicy looking oysters for her. What in the world? These were tasteless, small oysters and not worth a dime, let alone $12.99. I will be contacting the owners directly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank robbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“GUY LUNCH- COLD BEER AND REASONABLE PRICES”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Not very busy at lunch but food was good and beer was cold. Two things that will usually please the guys.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRUE027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Looks like a restaurant that is just about to close down.”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

There's a negative energy in this place. The same negative energy has seemed to take over Roanoke Rpaids so it may just be the economic downturn. The food was just mediocre. I had a very watery salad. The chicken wings were sloppy slippery and both of the ladies had trouble holding onto them. They were meaty but not much flavor. The grilled shrimp were not grilled, and they were popcorn size, but my daughter said they were tasty. The potato skin appetizers were also tasty. The decor is somewhat warehouse like. Not a fancy place. The kitchen is visible from the floor and everybody working there just looks exhausted and depressed.

I think this little city needs a serious boost. I won't go back to Sharkey's myself, but I can't call it a total bust. You wont hate it, but you won't love it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeesAcrossAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved Sharky's so much....great food and lots of bang for your buck!”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We unexpectedly ended up in Roanoke Rapids overnight & needed to find a place for dinner. We were so pleased with our experience at Sharky's!! Everything was great. The fish was so fresh & the service was great too...and the portions are huge!!! If ever in this area again we would definitely return to Sharky's! The owner was so nice and warmly greeted us and chatted for a few. Much better than the impersonal staffs at chain restaurants! Our child wanted "crapplebees".....and she loved her shrimp and sweet potato! Check it out!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sharky's Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing